Oil Pump shimming

tonytony

bros/sifus,

anybody here have experience shimming their oil pumps' pressure relief valve in their tx3 ?
just wanna get some feedback if this will help in the hydraulic lash adjusters tapping noise
thx

It will only put more strain on ur oil pump. In my experience, it helps a LOT to use a good quality fully synthetic oil. Personally i've had the best results on mobil1 5w50. Been using it for the past 3 years with no issues and no tapping.

battousai,

thx for advise. i'm already using pretty good semi Motul Turbolight 10-40, which fr experience is far superior to many other oils AND the tapping is still there.
On another note, there are also forums saying that a certain friction gear could cause a loud tapping noise ????? any experience in this ?

i used motul before and it tapped too, after the oil had gone thru 2000km or so. tried castrol 10w60 fully syn and it still tapped. mobil 1 5w50 fully syn solved it.

never heard of this friction gear stuff. maybe your HLAs are worn out and need replacing. that happens too.

they're so dam expensive to replace la, that's why i'm trying to find a suitable alternative.
my foreman told me that it isn't suitable to put full syn into an old engine. have you had any adverse effects from that so far ?
i'[ve tried Q8, Total, addictives, change oil pump....now on Motul and i must say that this oil is really good. lotsa diff when in hard excellaration. howz the Mobil ? expensive ?

there's no adverse effects from fully syn oil, unless ur engine is already unhealthy in that case you'll find it might start to leak oil. this is because the fully syn cleans out all the sludge that has been clogging up your engine and plugging the leaks.

the mobil1 costs between 160-200 depending where u get it from.

wow....really expensive man, no tapping at all ???? :) its a price to pay for a quiet engine huh