New Toy - DeWalt DWP849X

The items I got from the box are those that you can see in the 3rd pic of my #1 post. The group buy didn't go through but, yes, I got mine for RM650 straight from the main dealer/distributor. I did get a couple of 'extras', one was the bag the the other was....

6839187929_b80c5cc6b5_z.jpg

RM 7++ for the Hitachi is not bad. But RM940 for this DeWalt:vollkommenauf::vollkommenauf: How about the Makita? If it's around that price you might as well get the Makita instead.
That friend of mine (the detailer that I mentioned above) got a quote for RM670 from a hardware shop in Klang. I'd think, if you can wait, better find somebody who's travelling here and 'kirim' to him la.

---------- Post added at 10:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:08 PM ----------

Sorry off topic a bit..found this while doin my "research"...does it ave the same "qualities" as the RM1k bucket..??

Yeah, I saw this one at a dealer in KB that I visit regularly if I balik kampung. It's a cheaper 'made in China' imitation of the System 2000 pad washer...very much cheaper. The price they're selling in KB is RM400. I did had a good look inside and out, though the built quality isn't as good as the original, the design is *almost* identical. Didn't have the chance to try it though but I would think that it'll work fine. Wanted to get it but, with the number of pads that I have and working on my own cars only, I don't see any advantage of having it. Might as well get a few more buffing pads......:proud:

That's the ludicrous pricing we East Msians Always get when we wanna buy the same stuffs eventho' we're 1Maresia..:banghead:
The Makita is about the same price, RM820-870 here..I'll try to wait a bit and see whether I can "find" the Dewalt at much a reasonable price and if not, I'll get the Makita lah..funny thing was, there's one shop here even quoted me RM1k plus to almost RM2k for the Makita cos he said he "imported" the machine from Spore..what a load of BS! He thought I was so "naive" bout em polishers...:stupid:
The pad washer is also RM400 located in Penang..looks interesting tho..
The Hitachi is still too over mark-up here lah..RM700-750 here compared to RM580 in KUL:biggrin:..can buy a few more pads or backing plate with the extra RM..

Any updates on the 849X reviews, reliability..?? Been looking to add on a rotary to my 3D DA polisher and Bosch ROB..been surveying Hitachi SP18VA, Makita 9227C and Dewalt 849X..Anybody used AEG MC-PE150 polisher before..??

Bro, the 3D DA polisher you mentioned, is it also known as Vossner and did you bought locally or from 3D Products? I'm also using it and would be happy if we can share our experiences (can please pm me?) using it. So far am very satisfied with it but am looking for spare carbon brushes for it. Sorry for off topic a lil as its the dewalt thread.

I was also looking at the AEG rotary as its very lightweight compared to those heavy weights but the price is a killer so as the metabo unit. Another one you might look into is the AGP RP160 rotary which is from taiwan but available locally which is about 2kg only or the Bosch GPO12CE which bro Eohl is using. Cheerio

---------- Post added at 09:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:53 AM ----------

The pad washer is also RM400 located in Penang..

Bro, mind to share where you saw it in Penang. Would very much like to check it out as I'm from Penang.

As for the price of the 849x from Penang, was quoted about 750 to 850.

---------- Post added at 10:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------

Sorry off topic a bit..found this while doin my "research"...does it ave the same "qualities" as the RM1k bucket..??

Ah..just googled for it and what do you know, its from a paint shop supplier right here in my locality. Will check it out soonest possible. They also have headlight protection and windshield coatings and also the clay sponge. Interesting....BTW, anyone with experiences using those clay sponge/towel in place of claybar?

arch5069..
I bought online during their "promo" US$149 with the carrying case+HD foams+HD Speed+MF cloths..got a few problems with mine..the "head" attachment 04 screws keep loosening when using it and now lately, it seems the speed control is going "haywire" a bit after prolonged usage..the 1st problem solved already by using a bit longer screws but the speed control prob ,still trying to figure it out..:hmmmm: but so far, been satisfied with it performance, now using it with CG MF pads:top:..I thought they shipped it together with a pair of spare carbon brushes..last time complained to 3D, they gave me a store credit since they don't know when the next polisher shipment avail..:dontknow:
The AEG polisher looks/feels like the Flex but its min speed is 900rpm to 2400rpm if I'm not mistaken..quite light and nice to hold tho' 2.4kg compared to the usual 2.8-3kgs plus..best price I've found online was RM750..

• AEG MC-PE150.png
    AEG MC-PE150.png
    135.4 KB · Views: 143
arch5069..
I bought online during their "promo" US$149 with the carrying case+HD foams+HD Speed+MF cloths..got a few problems with mine..the "head" attachment 04 screws keep loosening when using it and now lately, it seems the speed control is going "haywire" a bit after prolonged usage..the 1st problem solved already by using a bit longer screws but the speed control prob ,still trying to figure it out..:hmmmm: but so far, been satisfied with it performance, now using it with CG MF pads:top:..I thought they shipped it together with a pair of spare carbon brushes..last time complained to 3D, they gave me a store credit since they don't know when the next polisher shipment avail..:dontknow:
The AEG polisher looks/feels like the Flex but its min speed is 900rpm to 2400rpm if I'm not mistaken..quite light and nice to hold tho' 2.4kg compared to the usual 2.8-3kgs plus..best price I've found online was RM750..

Bro, most out the rotary polishers uses a circular permanent magnet mounted to one end of the motor shaft for speed control. Like the Makita rotary, the magnet housing made out of plastic wears out and may get displaced. Also heat from the motor degrades the magnet field strength over time and thus affecting the sensor signal. You can get spares for Makita and Dewalt. Others dunno...