New tax structure for 2006 announced

Devilprince said:
well after what i heard yesterday, the imported car priced drop abit la maybe around 5%. eventhough it is a small drop but i can be a big impact to our automotive industry. ok here is my opinion.. if the imported car price drop meaning proton and perodua will be in trouble. if proton and perodua dont do the same they will suffer huge lost of marketshare.

for example..we take a middle class people who can afford WAJA, WIRA, GTI or even GEN2 and MYVI.. they have to pay the price but with low quality? did u know malaysian made products for automotive sector is among the worse in the region? they still have to pay for the price of a proton car with low quality.. now since the imported cars has been drop it make a effect that people will start buying other cars for example.. forget about BMW or MERcedes.. think about NAZA.. Chevrolet.. Honda.. Or VIOS.. Hyundai.. cheaper plus a few thousand u can get a better quality for the money that u pay. Its not the reason why Pak Lah reduce the price but to make PROTON realize that they have to increace thier quality of products and be competetive in the market.

As for the second hand car announced in the news that it will drop from range 5% to 20% the price. People will think that "OOhh!! car price went down. should go and book a new car and sell mine" if so many people want to sell thier car and less people want to buy coz some of the second hand car is so expensive the market value of the car will drop to the range. My advice is if u are looking for a second hand car better wait for like 3 - 4 months from now.. i'm sure u will see a significant drop on the value of the car. People know that PROTON car depreciate more rather than Toyota or Honda.. so people will desparate to sell thier car in order to avoid losing much money to thier loan or banks..

this is just my opinion based on the economic terms that i studied during my degree in my university.. feel free to comment or to add anything more..

Well! gotta agree on u!! good work!

so now.. not us who suffer from this significant drop of value.. indirectly yes.. but in this matter the parties that should be dying and cursed the goverment is the second hand used car dealer.. trust me that the car value will go down significantly in few months time..

if now ur negotiating the car price for second hand car.. if the dealer refuse to let it go at the price u ask for (make sure be reasonable) then just wait.. ur are not the one who is in the losing side.. they are.. the longer they keep the car and refuse to sell the more they will suffer the lost.. hehe.. if the car is modified.. its even greater (plus the fuel price is going up, loan hard to approve)

be a smart consumer.. dont be a stupid consumer whereby people can take good advantage of u.. this is the time u showed them that ure the king.. this is the time that u take advantage of this people who suffer losses becoz they are desperately need to clear thier used car stock..

in my opinion for proton and perodua.. i think perodua has no problem coz they have a good car with lesser problem compared to proton.. Proton has to circulate a new formula on how to decrease the price of thier car and how to increse thier quality in order to get the dominant share market they used to have.. this thing is good eventhough PROTON is our national car and we should be proud and help it to become a success.. but this thing has to be stopped right here.. becoz with our sympathy and support they failed to get to the international standard like Toyota or Honda.. its time for proton to change thier mentality n not becoz using cheap products and sell it for higher profit.. its time to compete with other nationals automotive industry... so that malaysian can be proud of our national car..

this is just a thought... and opinion.. i'm not saying PROTON is not good but sometimes we have just to accept the good and ugly side of it..

cheers..

ken yeang said:
from ehab's table, the reduction is very small. the reduction of the rates probably meaningless if ppl taking bank loan with high interest rates.

So, I think its good, but for nothing lor....

its a meaningful comment.. esp for ppl like most of us.. certainly not buying cash terms.. bank loan is likely choice.. but interest rate is high..

cost of buying and maintaining imported cars = slightly lower car price + higher interest rate + high gas price = we still spend more ..

u guys know onot?

dunno how far izzit true/..

the interest has aldy increase.....

they r smart la,

they know how to do adjustment.....

Well instead of arguing..we just have to wait until official prices are released

perodua already announced price reduction for all models except kancil. price dropped raging from 300-1,500.

let me tell you, once a company started to annouce price drop (for 50-150K range), then everybody else will do the same.

example when toyota annouce new lower price, honda wont sell at same price isnt it?

actually new car price can be calculated very fast one. the cost price remains the same isnt it? only difference is in tax structure isnt it? and the guideline had been given.

so why the wait? its because marketing strategy. honda for example wont calculate on their products alone but also on other cars like toyota, proton, kia, hyundai, naza, nissan and other competitors.

some more car dealers are not sure what price to sell to those already book earlier or not. old price? or new lower price?

and by changing the price one too quick, the impact on used car market is big. used car dealers are thinking disaster.

but they should realise, in 1993 they bought Wiras (at that time waiting period 6-8 months) and sell them as used ones for extra 3-5K and no action was taken on them. to me its fair and square.