Need advise to buy a Civic. Pls help!

territorial^pisser

Hi all Honda Si Fu's. I'm a newbie. I'm planning to purchase a Honda Civic (EK Model) soon. Before buying, i tot of asking some advise from all da Honda Si Fu's who has been posting thread in this website. How much will it cost me to do an engine transplant? I love B16B. Because it's damn powerfull. How much does the engine cost? Does it comes with the gearbox? Can i get it in any hafkat? Pls si Fu's... Pls help me out.... Thanks....

Hi Bro,

The cost of da whole hafcut is around RM12K ~ 15K depends on da condition of the hafcut. (This price was quoted a couple of months bck). Installation cost is RM1k ~ RM1.5K. Runner to register ur new engine should couple of hundreds. The total estimated cost should around RM18K.

Usually, the hafcut u get should comes wif the gearbox and da rest of the parts but that depends how u deal wif the hafcut fella. So make sure u ask them clearly what's included in the package.

IF u hav any regular workshop that u r familiar wif, u can ask ur mechanic to source it 4 u. Its safer that way coz if there's anything wrong wif ur engine u can go back 2 them ask them 2 fix it.

hey bro. thanks a lot man. that info really helped me alot. i dun think i'll spend dat much to modify a car. do you know anyone who want's to sell a civic (ek model)? with conversion to DOHC VTEC la.... if you come across anyone, pls lemme know. thanks again see fu.....

Everyone wants B16B, but sure will back out a hell lots of steps when find out the cost.... hehe

Hikaru said:
Everyone wants B16B, but sure will back out a hell lots of steps when find out the cost.... hehe

To be honest...

For the perfomance/money factor, B16B is overrated..

the first time I rode in a B16B (that time, the halfcut is around 25K) I went like...

"WTF? so lousy pickup (before VTEC) for so much money?"

I think the top end is great though.. can't beat the top end of a B16B if you compare similar capacity engines.

Seriously, convert to B18C is much better choice IMO. It's just a few extra K's but the bottom-end power is much better than the B16B.

Still.. I understand not everyone has bottomless pockets.. so good luck no matter what the guy chooses.

hmmm.... thx again si fu's. But, if i buy a stock / original ej6, what would be da right engine to transplant under the hood? pls advise..... is there any problem if we do an engine transplant?

depends on who's doing the work. A good reliable mechanic would have good workmanship.. a cheap one.. cincai work.

Getting it certified is easy.. my B16A conversion.. I hand to runner.. RM200.

so u bought already ?? ur honda....izzit great? i wish to buy also.....

Nop. Not Yet. Going to see da car on Saturday. But, da price for an original (converted to manual) EJ6 is around RM 40,000.00. It's an EFI engine summore. I think i'm gonna put a B16A under da hood. But, how much would it cost arr? Izzit worth to get it? Howz da power? Can makan Satria GTI arr? Very curious to know.....

Stock GTI no problem.. but if you kantoi shifting.. even a kancil can MAKAN your B16A.. ROFL!

Total conversion including workmanship, is always about 10K++

go for B16a then bro...halfcut merely 4-5K...deoeding on EG or EK engine...and cost to install around 1-2K...

I'm using a B16B. A stock B16B is not so as powerful as u thought, a minor mod with rechipped ECU on B16A can easily take u out. But if u have the budget to mod the B16B, u can par with B18CR any time. If compare between all stock B series engine, B18CR is the still the best (don talk about the B20B here). Torque is still more important here. Just my 1 cents. :)