My LE Silvertop underpower : Pls Help

trd_1420

Helloe sifoos, pls care to share your opinion on the problem that i am facing. Recently changed my car engine to Silvertop 20V. At the beginning it was fine, but lately i feel that the car is underpowered. Everytime i drive the car I feel like the car is "heavy". I dont know how to describe. I m still using back the old piping, which is very small. Is it really necessary to change to a bigger piping? If yes, how it can improve my engine performance? I also feels that the engine is not "smooth", u all know wat i m saying? The engine sound is kind of "rough". Sometimes, while driving up a hill or press oil after shifting gear , i can hear "rattling" sound from the engine. Is it a very serious problem? Added to all this problem, my car "tak lepas" puspakom. Reason, brake failed, although i added 2 disc brake at the back!!!

Pls help me all the sifoo, i really want to know what is wrong with my engine. Because I spend a lot of $$$ on changing engine and i have a lot plan for this car.

Thanks!!

reason probably is you didn't notice the car got problem cuz you just got the engine and you are shouting "powar~~~" all the way lolx.

same as me first get my svt also feel damn power, now got use to it liau feel the car no power again. human is greedy. about the brakes, did you upgrade the whole braking system or just add 2 disc at the rear? if just the disc then sure harder to pass cuz not enough braking power. need a stronger pump.

uik...
u thinking of ur car...
mine sure super MCSB...
summore bouncing summore...teteeeekkkzzz goyang...wahhahah

Trd_1420 bro, i think ur case bit same like mine.... my 20v svt also underpower, when climbing hill or changing gear can also hear rattling sound. so there is few things u might need to check.

1. check the vacumm hose at the back of the throttle body, very damn hard to see on above , jack up the car will be easy for u too look which hose is leak. but it is also hard by putting a hands in to check.

2. check ur ECU, don't be the case like mine cos i had found my ecu some chip component is burning and leaking OIL.....so u need to check it up by open the ECU case, if got those mark, find LEVIN818 wong sifoo, gurantee he can solve for u!!!!

3. ur rear disc brake caliper piston got service or not???....if not service it might cause break jam and danger for ur drive......i also failed puspakom test when i convert my first engine 4agze 16V, damn the mechanic dind't service the caliper piston and it stuck with dirts.

4. Overall, check the diagnosis by connect TE1 and E1 together that will bring out the problems. GOOD LUCK!!!!

Sifoos, thanks for the opinion. i m very frust now la :angry_smile: !!! Belanja banyak - banyak still have problem. Never mind tough time never last, but tough people and car do last:X-: . Anyhow, do u all know any good and reliable place to do diagnostic for my car problem. Or shall i do my piping and see whether the proble m is due to piping or not? How much does it cost to do diagnostic for my car?

To chinozie, bro i dont know what is the current size of my piping, but i know it is very small one, standard la consider.

standar piping cannot bring out the high revving power of the 20v leerr .. u need MINIMUM 2 inch inner diameter !!! best with 2.3 inch piping and straight flow muffler laa .. if cannot tahan the sound then use S flow type muffler ..

or u can go see my mech .. let him test your car and see what he says laa .. he is located in kajang-semenyih area .. 019 2174320 ..

Last time I also failed my rear brake even though use disc. it's because they tested it on a platform and bring the tyres to roll to a certain speed, and then pull the handbrake expecting it to stop at once, just like proton car with disc brake. toyota rear disc cannot do it wan..unless u mod it like QIW la... but that another story altogether.

i asked the fella apasal fail.. replied given belakang brake tak makan. cursing silently, i went outside and tighten the handbrake nut, u can see it beside ur handbrake lever, hidden by the rubber console using a long T-spanar no. 10 (hope u know what i mean). then the handbrake will respond faster, though not necessarily more grip.

rejoin the long queue, during my turn the bugger not happy too..but i argued saying toyota rear disc itu macam punye.. worse because it's cold. then onli let me tru. hopefully this will help u to pass it. or u put back drum brake.. sure makan wan..hahahaha

err .. my handbrake oso not as makan one laa .. stock standard laa my rear disc .. stock standard NISSAN laa .. hahahahahaaa

hmmm.. stock standard SKYLINE pun tak makan ar?? i also dunno wat else u can use already.......

normally if u skin the rear disc there is some gap for the caliper and the disc after u put the brake pad with the brake pad protector steel plate. IT WONT LAST LONGER GRAB......My car also service the rear disc brake piston and everything, but still not grab enough even i park my car on the slope hill....the car will slowly move down. tighten the handbrake using the " T " bar screw tight the hand brake cable. also same, just grab for while but later also slip......shit

Finally found out the solution by just adding another piece of brake pad protector steel plate, then grab tiao tiao liao......

NOTICE: IF U FIND THE CALIPER PISTON GOT THE " U " SHAPE SHRINKING DOWN, REMEMBER HAVE TO BOUGHT THE BRAKE PAD WITH NIPPLE ON THE BACK OF THE PAD.

errr.....is this out of the topic already??....eheheh...

memang laa out of topic .. hahaahahaha ... but good discussion nonetheless maa .. as most of the rear disc brake sure tak makan one when u using handbrakes .. hehehe ...
i think i will try and make the drum surface abit more rough laa .. see whether the linings can bite better or not ... :p

siffoos, thanks for the opinion and advise!!! Where can I do diagno for my car around PJ. What shall I tell them before they do diagno? Appreciate it if you all can recommend good and reliable place?!!

Check TE1 and E1 first,check fuel pump,fuel line diameter 10mm supply,change spark plug,check knock sensor,set timing correctly and last change your exhaust pipe at least 2 inch,with center bullet and rear muffler.

bro ,cuscostrutbrace. thank you for the advise. But I still do not know how to check those things u have recommended!! especially TE1 and E1 and knock sensor!! Is it when u check TE1 and E1, they will plug in a red wire. One of the shop i went, they did this way. When they connect the red wire in to diagno box, the light on my dashboard blinks, which i guess the "check engine" light. The shop guy said, my engine is fine. I need to change my piping and muffler. He took out my ECU and check. The ECU seems to be fine, no burn mark.

Sorry if I ask a lot of silly question, because I seriously don't know. Thanks for taking your time and replying to my post. Anyway, where do u stay. I m staying in Taman Megah, PJ. If u happens stay or be nearby this area maybe we can meet up. My number is 012 6620 446(Rajan).

p/s : Actually my nick is trd_1420, waikiki is my friend's nick. I dont know every time i log in to zth, the nick automatically becomes waikiki. Sorry about that.

If everything is fine then try to change your exhaust,i have a friend with LE silvertop also,his piping is 2.5inch from the front to the middle,and 2 inch to 1.5 inch before the rear muffler,and rear muffler entry 2 inch,the power is quite ok..