MR2 Handling - Need Help

hoveyda

dear guys.....im from usj ..driving mr2 sw20 turbo...i believe its my third
post here and some of you had seen my car last year when i came to dat.prima...i need help on my Mr2 handling...currently im using stock absorber.
last year i did try to use cusco adjustable but later i found it too hard for me....the car run nicely when i drive below 100km/h but more than that it tend to sway left and right...i've sent for alignment but i feel it got something to do with my absorber or something else...appreciate your advise and help. thanks

Are your rims stock, sometimes wrong sizing and offset can make the car 'wonder' especially on uneven roads.

If it was your absorbers, then even at low speed i.e. 80kmh you should get the same problem. Also chk your bushings, for a collapsing bush may give way when more pressure is put on to it, causing erratic behavior.

My2cents

maybe check your antirollbar ... i know someone who bought his car without antirollbar in front for some strange reason and cannot go above 120 or itll go right left right left

Did you just changed tyre? What tyre size and brand you using?

Try to put slight higher air pressure to the front tyre. Some tyre very sensitive to air pressure.

thanks guys for the tips..but im not very good at technical stuff....curently using front yokohama 215/17 and rear 235/17.......currently im driving this car as weekend car only...then im quite sceptical about sending the car to unknown workshop....im thinking that i'll be joining next TT and ask MR2's sifu to test drive my car and find the real rootcause.....i'll be there in our next TT

P/S - but my heart tell me that i need to replace all the bush and upgrade my absorber........

Are your rims stock, sometimes wrong sizing and offset can make the car 'wonder' especially on uneven roads.

If it was your absorbers, then even at low speed i.e. 80kmh you should get the same problem. Also chk your bushings, for a collapsing bush may give way when more pressure is put on to it, causing erratic behavior.

My2cents
my god,
so if i use rear 16inc and front 15inc rim will get the some problem ?

another mr2 in usj.....hahaha.....next day can do small tt in usj, now we hav goober, me, deblue, n few more.......hahaha

the other reason for it to run left right is camber too much.......if u set camber above 1.5 n toe more than 0.6 ur car tend to swerve

pls pm me 012-6937650 - hoveyda.........if you guys TT in Subang...i would glad to join you guys

195/50 15 - 225/235/45/40 16 i guess. I'm sure tires will be a handful to find

if rear 8jj with 205 will be ok ?
coz 225 - 235 need to order from japan,
and 1k more for a piece.

The midship machines requires a staggered offset along with matching wheels for optimum handling setup.

To all that need help on this, state clearly what are the dimensions of your front and rear rims in order to get proper advise

tire width/profile/tire diameter/offset + or -/ rims width. example 234/40/17 offset +32. 9J. Hope this helps

Other reasons could be a loosed lower arm bolt/nut. Happened to me, quite frightening and only happens at high speed.