MR-S conundrum

spux

Dear Sifus

Hi, Ive been driving my 2001 SMT MR-S for 1/2 a year now and its been great joy! :smokin:

Lately though, the MR-S had been acting weird:

1) Upon cold start, the car would lose throttle response consistently. The problem is less prevalent if i warm up the car longer before driving off. The feeling of loosing throttle response is similar to hitting 180 km/h speed cut, just less dramatic and response does not return as instantly as speed cut does. Instead, it slowly recovers. It can happen at whatever speed, in whatever gear and it doesnt have to involve changing of gear.

2) Ive taken the car to GT auto, links, and Toms in bangsar and Sunway. None of them had ever encountered such problems before and Ive search all MR-S forums worldwide and did not find any troubleshoot similar to mine.

3) Eventually Toms in Sunway did a diagnostic test and a dyno:
Diagnostic test return 10 error codes. 3 belong to alphabet P and 7 belong to alphabet C. (sorry dont remember the codes)

Dyno return an on wheel horsepower of 105.44 and torque of 12.74 which is suppose to be slighly low for an all stock car.

Air/Fuel mixture is at 15 constant from 2000 rpm - 7000 rpm. Which basically means its way too lean and too linear all the way to red line.

4) Toms advice for a change of 2 lambda (o2) sensors, air flow sensor, fuel filter and fuel pump. (altogether costing RM2000) to solve fuel delivery issues and ive changed it.

5) After changing, the car feels GREAT!!!! on wheel HP is now 109.95 instead of 105.44 Torque is now 13.82 instead of 12.74

Air/Fuel mixture is now at 15 @ 2000 rpm and at 6000 rpm it drops to 10, instead of 15 all the way through.

6) NKVE im cruising at 175 km/h easy with half throttle :biggrin:

7) before reaching home, problem came back and now NKVE cruising at 160 km/h and pushing. :hmmmm:

Sorry for the long post, hope you had the patience to read.

Thanx for any advice in advance.

Cheers guys

I know the first thing they would recommend is to change the following you listed.

usually the lost of momentum/lack of car response are down to:
(which is what most mechanic will look into)
faulty O2
dirty Maf sensor
dirty injectors
leaky exhaust
poor compression on engine
gutted precats that causes the derbis to get suck into engine
running engine with lack of oil over time to cause bearing failure.
fautly ECU (as in for SMT case)
difficulty in up shift (in SMT) ~ probable wear & tear of the acuator pump

most stock MR-S (even SMT) hovers at 115whp-128whp,

As far as I know only Toms bangsar & Hup seng (sg besi) have services more MR-S then most mechanics. I know saying the rest arent great, the probable of similar problems may have been encountered by them. thats all.

GT sunway, Links (sunway), Trial (sg besi) are the possible other shops one may sent your ride to be attended.

I have started to experience this today. I started losing speed when hit around 140. Just changed the gear oil yesterday. So how have you solve your problem?

easiest way; send to mechanic to diagnose.

off hand, the posibilty that you need to clean maf sensor. go to library at SC (spyderchat) site/ maintenance section.

:smokin:

Write your reply...