Mr-2 Sw20

Hi cynicks,

I am in hk, looking for weekend car to use in hk. I have saw a few mr2 but the one i going to view this sat is asking for about HK$10k higher than the market.

I asked him what so special on his car other than his TRD 2000gt bodykit so he told me his car is imported from hokkaido japan where having snowing frequently so the car's engine have special design to get more traction on the snowing ground so it makes the car more special than others.

this car is asking for hkd$48k and its a 1993 mr2 with turbo engine. There are a few more mr2 turbo in the town are in similar condition and asking for hkd$30k-$38k only so i will just take a look at the car first only decide.

I was also consider another unit which i saw in the car dealer which is a 1998 made with beams NA engine, but the price is hkd90k which is quite high.

cynicks said:
Cant make it this coming Friday. You guys have fun.

Meet up at Shell, TTDI along LDP starting from 930pm: 1st September (confusing) :retarded:

1. midship
2. cheowweng
3. mathi
4. Goober (SW20 can come arr?)
5. Soff
6. shmues?
7. Marcus (YEAH! car should be out tomorrow!!!)
8. Ak1R4 (next friday, meaning 8th sept?)
9. Ash
10. Derek
11.de blue's(faster jump start my sw now....cant start dued to 1 month never star the engine...)

today spotted one sw20 no. 2227 in cheras...wondering who is that?

links said:
Hi Guys,

Was looking at a MR2 which said to have a special engine which available for Hokkaido market which have some kind of power cut when lost traction on snow....What does it means and how does it works???Does it really useful?

FYI, the MR2 i am looking is in HK....because it price is abit higher than market rate so just want to verify the owner didnt tipu me...

The SW20 model that you mention probably comes with the optional Traction Control (TCS). You will be able to see a label near the throttle body which says 'TCS'. When the car senses loss of traction - wheel spinning at high diffference in rotational speed, it will reduce the power of the engine (even WOT) by controlling the throttle input.You can ask Goober more about this system.He has it in his car. If you're planning to drift or wheel spin...not so fun..hehe. but should be a good safety for wet,sandy or snowy areas.:regular_smile:

some additional stuff gathered for sale:

1)245 lip + front bumper
2)TOMS stut bar rear + front - 1 set
3)Cusco front strut bar
4)Racing Gear Adjustable hardness + height
5)Bomex rear skirt(3 pcs)
6)Raybrig Diamond headlamps
7)Front spotlights ori (1 pair)
8)air cond condensor
9)radiator
10)ori headlights +_ motor + cover
11)245 map sensor
12)boot cover 2 pcs
13)Greddy bov
14)SARD bov
15)sheepdog bov
more to come...hehe

Any opinions?
hi sifu's
quick question
1. MR-2 '94 N/a Auto Rm47 K worth it?
2. How much for converting to Manual?

atermizi said:
Any opinions?
hi sifu's
quick question

As much as I'd love to say that the price of the MR2 is way higher than that.... he he. I'd have to be honest with ya. I think it's a bit high for an N/A. Unless the conditions's really good. And you'd have to make sure it's really a 1994 manufactured and not 1994 brought into Msia.

Secondly, converting to manual means you'd either have to buy a half cut manual N/A or Turbo. Depending what you want, a Turbo swap would be about RM 6k++.

Hope this helps. :regular_smile:

atermizi,

Too expensive, N/A market rate is about 25k -35k depending on condition. Someone here just got a N/A convert (turbo) for RM35k... but i do agree with Goober that the market rate is way too low, hopefully its only because the car market is bad now and prices will go up again soon.

Mrmic2

LOL i see new products there lah... hey, PM me the price of the radiator... :-) i want a spare.

atermizi said:
Any opinions?
hi sifu's
quick question

hello atermizi,

I think the 94 u mention is probably the year that the car is registered in Malaysia.A N/A version built in year 94 would have a 180ps newer engine compared to 89-92 N/As (165ps).

Your second question is not really clear - manual n/a or manual turbo?
If it's manual N/A - quite hard to find. Manual-Turbos are available in :
1)89-91 First generation halfcut (below 4k)
2)91-92 2nd generation halfcut (above 4k)
3)93 and above 3rd gen halfcut (6-8k)
4)98-99 BEAMS engine halfcut (very rare)
Installation should be around RM 2k.
Please allocate extra cash to change water pump, timing belt, fan belts,
tensioner bearings, engine oil, trans oil, any visible wear and tear parts.Would cost time and money to remove the engine again after installation. Should provide you enough time to get aquainted to your car rather than frequent workshop visits.
I have the pedals for converting N/a auto to Manual. So if you need 'em do give me a call.

LOL i see new products there lah... hey, PM me the price of the radiator... :-) i want a spare.[/quote]

hahaha..we seem to be trading radiators frequently.. :)
Will be collecting it in a few days.

i have a suggestion to boost up mr2 prices... every week one member will advertise his/her MR2 for sale at 60k.

And when ppl call up to ask the member will always say "Sold Oredi, Sold Oredi...sold on the first day" Haha.

After 6mths i think if we place for 55k ppl will wallop liow. What do u think guys?

Hey i think the 35k MR2 was turbofied already cos the pink slip is written SW20 3SGTE.

Oh yea, check out the Prelude or MR2 topic in the General Car Talk thread...hilarious. :)