MR-2 or prelude

lil_piggy2 said:
MrBear, I am actually looking for power steering rack lar... suspension set( but if not expensive than getting a adjustable then nevermind) and urm... bodikits if can find.. heheheh.... My model is the SIR... so no need type S lar... hehehehe

* power steering rack.. im not sure of it..

* suspension a lot. even prelude bb1-bb4 that use TEIN also,its actually TEIN for BB6 (fren selling TEIN FLEX 24adjustment,high low soft hard,bought brand new,selling RM2.5K)

* my custom made sports absorber (not adjustable but sports version) 50% comfort + 50% performance also can fit BB6. BB1-BB6 range

* bodykits shop a lot .. Bumifiber in USJ,D1 sunway,etc etc no worries

Elo brother.....

1 year ago i also having difficulty to choose Prelude or Mr2, but at last i choose prelude, below is my reasons:

1) I peronally think that Honda cars is more futuristic, not so fast outdated.
2) Honda second hand value is higher.
3) It is 2 + 2 seater, better than MR2 cos MR2 only 2 seater. I think the 2 seats behind is very very limited space, but i still can fetch gals. hehehe....
4) My mechanic is more familiar with Honda engine.
5) Spare parts are easy to get cos it has alot of supply but less demand, cos my friend's chopshop has alot of prelude spare parts which some already keep there for more than 1/2 year.
6) Then i personally think that Vtec is the most powerful technology among NA engine.
7) I also have confidence to gather more Prelude members than Mr2 members...hehehe....cheers for Team HP4G !!!:shades_smile:
8) ......etc.

But buying a prelude also give me headache:

1) Roadtax = RM551 per year, MR2 (2.0cc) is around RM39x per year
2) Second hand car giving preblem, this apply to both cars.

MrBear,

Do you think I can contact you can show me where u have these custom made sports absorbers.... would be great to meet up with you too. can call me at 012-2029486. thanx My name is Jack

skyhawkheng said:
Elo brother.....

1 year ago i also having difficulty to choose Prelude or Mr2, but at last i choose prelude, below is my reasons:

1) I peronally think that Honda cars is more futuristic, not so fast outdated.
2) Honda second hand value is higher.
3) It is 2 + 2 seater, better than MR2 cos MR2 only 2 seater. I think the 2 seats behind is very very limited space, but i still can fetch gals. hehehe....
4) My mechanic is more familiar with Honda engine.
5) Spare parts are easy to get cos it has alot of supply but less demand, cos my friend's chopshop has alot of prelude spare parts which some already keep there for more than 1/2 year.
6) Then i personally think that Vtec is the most powerful technology among NA engine.
7) I also have confidence to gather more Prelude members than Mr2 members...hehehe....cheers for Team HP4G !!!:shades_smile:
8) ......etc.

But buying a prelude also give me headache:

1) Roadtax = RM551 per year, MR2 (2.0cc) is around RM39x per year
2) Second hand car giving preblem, this apply to both cars.

Totally agree.I can tell that a prelude is also a safe car.Involved in an accident and the car was a total loss.Knock lamp post,went over the divider and crash thru a brick guard hse.Not one scratch on me.I was lucky i guess.So for my second car got the same model prelude as well.No regrets.Furthermore mr2 turbo will definitely be trashed by the previous owner.No one buys a turbo and drive slowly.Preludes also would have been trashed but don't forget that the h22a is a high revving engine and it is meant to rev haha.Just my 2 cents ppl.Cheers for HP4G!

lil_piggy2 said:
MrBear,

Do you think I can contact you can show me where u have these custom made sports absorbers.... would be great to meet up with you too. can call me at 012-2029486. thanx My name is Jack

Hello brother,

I am thomas, Team HP4G leader, if u free, just come and join our TT, we normally will have TT at least 1 a month.

so if got any TT, i contact u ok ?? my number 012-282 9199 (Thomas Heng):regular_smile:

Not sure if I should say anything here, seems to be a lot of preluders.

I am not going to lambast anyone for fear of being wallop but to own a sports car at the end of the day depend on yourself what you want otherwise you will be confused with the wide selection of very good sports cars available e.g. GTR, Evo, scoobies, 350Z, infini, etc etc.

When I was looking for one, my criteria is mid-engine, rear wheel (a true sports car just have to be rwd or AWD no other way), 2 door 2 seater. I believe getting a sports car is just for that purpose, sports! hence no sense trying to cramp more people in and using it as a transporter. Each car is made for a purpose if you try to multi-task you will get a compromise.

There are not many cars that are mid-engine apart from F1 cars, Lambo, Ferrari or Porsche (you can see the pedigree) other "cheap" alternatives are Elise (don't like the Rover engine), MG (don't like Rover) and of course the MRS & MR2.

Hence my mind is set, where else can you get a 5.9s car in stock standard form (no mod at all). However thats me, for you you need to ask yourself what you want and the purpose of the car.

We cannot compare Evos vs MR2, or Supra vs MR2 or Prelude vs Scooby, or GTR vs Evo, they are different classes, different horses for different courses, my landcruiser can beat Supra in the rain forest hence no sense comparing.

Just my two cents. Hope you find something you like they are both fabulous cars.

hmm try ask ur self do u wanna go side ways or u want to have huge power

soff said:
Not sure if I should say anything here, seems to be a lot of preluders.

I am not going to lambast anyone for fear of being wallop but to own a sports car at the end of the day depend on yourself what you want otherwise you will be confused with the wide selection of very good sports cars available e.g. GTR, Evo, scoobies, 350Z, infini, etc etc.

When I was looking for one, my criteria is mid-engine, rear wheel (a true sports car just have to be rwd or AWD no other way), 2 door 2 seater. I believe getting a sports car that purpose, sports! hence no sense trying to cramp more people in and using it as a transporter. Each car is made for a purpose if you try to multi-task you will get a compromise.

There are not many cars that are mid-engine apart from F1 cars,Ferrari or Porsche (you can see the pedigree) other "cheap" alternatives are Elise (don't like the Rover engine), MG (don't like Rover) and of course the MRS & MR2.

Hence my mind is set, where else can you get a 5.9s car in stock standard form (no mod at all). However thats me, for you you need to ask yourself what you want and the purpose of the car.

We cannot compare Evos vs MR2, or Supra vs MR2 or Prelude vs Scooby, or GTR vs Evo, they are different classes, different horses for different courses, my landcruiser can beat Supra in the rain forest hence no sense comparing.

Just my two cents. Hope you find something you like they are both fabulous cars.

i'm agree with this dai ko ..those car got its own advantage n disadvantage...need to consider urselve ...we just can giving some comment :shades_smile:

apple & oranges

oversteer fun mid engine RWD vs understeer FF

cars are design for each market segment /enthusiast

well it almost like those who seek on the edge trills of oversteering RWD & the safe understeering FF.

it not about which car is faster or better but th mindset of the individual that seek the thrills to his soul. It a little bewildering to claim all turbocars are thrashed. as i know owners who babe their rides. (like that how evo / scooby owners were to sell their cars??)

know what thrills you & your driving enjoyment.

apple & oranges

i think a prelude would be a better choice..throw in some bodykits,lowered to the ground and wala!!..hehe..

Hello...dunno if this helps..
3SGE is iron block tough but heavy
H22A is aluminium block softer but light.

The 3SGE caps the rpm at 7000 rpm whilst the H22A caps at higher revs (dunno 8k?.)
If a same person trashes both engines, I would think the 3SGE will last longer.
ie...higher revs = more use = higher wear and tear. And the 3SGTE block was over-engineered to hold till 1000 hp .

Its an amazingly strong engine and for a sportcars that are about 15 years running, the MR2s power plant is still running strong. I think toyota did a good job with the MR2 design as it is still worth looking at after such a long time. It was also a GT300 car in the late 90s.

If you're looking for fun, acceleration, chick-magnet (hehe) and handles pretty well (until you misuse it) my choice will be the MR2.
MR2 turbos from the 1st generation (1989-1991) are notorious for the snap oversteer due to the shorter rear arm design but are superbe autocross cars. The N/A auto shouldnt see much snap oversteer so rest assured. :)
If you need more info, feel free to PM me .

Peace to Hondas, I am daily driving a honda CRV.

http://kitcarmag.com/featuredvehicles/0609_kc_01_z+DDR_SP4+driver_front_side_view.jpg

guess the chassis

[a little homage to a evergreen]

clue ----> it midship

Dennis You the Man!!!

koolspyda said:
http://kitcarmag.com/featuredvehicles/0609_kc_01_z+DDR_SP4+driver_front_side_view.jpg

guess the chassis

[a little homage to a evergreen]

clue ----> it midship

It's neither actually. Chassis is tube-frame, using SW20 drivetrains and components.

i think guy who started this topic has already gone for an RX7... :) as there has been no replies from him on his views after 7 pages of opinions from H22A gurus and 3S sifus

it' doesnt really matter, it was good he made a decision.

it typical us to be as active in post(s) as we know its an evergreen tis MR.

Koolspyda,

I enjoyed your forum in the "other" site on similar subject "Buying MR2" or something and abuga's note and your tit for tat with the evo guy. Alas, all for good fun.