Mivec Club

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused
boyzone said:
HI, guys...

I need some info about mivec MD urgent..
because my poman told me just now, will have a unit mivec MD for trade-in
and I plan to put in my car if the price is reasonable; so I can join mivec club soon ...

question 1: how is MD ecu ?? is it hard to get spare ?? if cannot get, can we replace with normal mivec ecu ??

question 2: is MD came from sliver top or black top version ??

question 3 : how is the Gear ratio ?? is it came with std close ratio ?? when driving at 100km/h , how was the rpm stand at ??

question 4 : will this engine reliable ?? good for daily run ?? map sensor always created problem ??

pls help to answer ... and I will step to mivec ... Thanks!! :D

Let me answer all this question lar ....

1. is quite hard to get spare .... and yes u can replace with a standard mivec ecu .
2. both version also got
3.yes it came with the standard gear ratio .. and with 100km/h i think was at 3500rpm +/- lar
4.depend how u drive the car lor .... see whether r u a 'brick leg' ... map sensor only making problem when major mod lar ...

so guys,

i jus rechiped my MIVEC the power is hmmm better than standard loh :)
for a next step :-
i wana go for 4-1 extractor that tuned with the flexiable (nenas) !
is it good by changing from standard header !
shall i go for it :) .......... thanks

pdguy said:
so guys,

i jus rechiped my MIVEC the power is hmmm better than standard loh :)
for a next step :-
i wana go for 4-1 extractor that tuned with the flexiable (nenas) !
is it good by changing from standard header !
shall i go for it :) .......... thanks

oh .. just better only ah .... power ??? hei .. i tought that u always asking many question at MIVEC NZ.. and rabbit and bartman said that cant use that wor ... how come u rechipped ler ...... how was the air fuel ratio ... how was the ignition timing.... how much u must set ur distributor...... what rev cut .... got any speed cut ..... when the mivec kick in ?????
mind to share ar ....

did u dyno ur car .????? Go and dyno .. let me see the before and after......

hye henry,

me jus changed it and its a ralliart chip origen my x-mivec frend gav it to me :) now hes using vtec tuned up.
yeah i been asking question at mivec.nz but they dont recommend rechipin coz they all using mivec 2nd GEN (cant rechip) unlike mine GEN 1 :)
u asked me ignition timing, air feul ratio and distributor setup but i dont know all that its look like the same as wat before but the diffrence that i can feel is better response and wen mivec kicks-in more lighter :)
rev cuttin at 8500 rpm and the mivec kicks in at 5200 rpm ! no speed cut but hav rpm cut.
im frm pd n thre is no dyno shops here wana come to kl but no time coz bz working.
will get it dyno-ed :) soon.

jus wana check wit u - i aleady changed my chip and should i retune or check my timing and other thing related things ?
can i check my timing and engine performance at normal eon servis coz i saw they are using mitsubishi tuning kits :) ( the handheld device )

pls share wit me some advice ..............:)

i think that was quite recent right ? some where in between before CNY right ? i was doing bore valve...

u sure is my car ah satria there got so many satria ...

never mind la i ask for d price only stay there frofor d head la bro!Last month also went to hyper @ sunway m 10 pm till 5 am.my girl damn mengamok u know!:P

i need sifu advise here....pls help me.
i had put in the mivec engine in my car bay.

the engine is like that.
i buy 1.6 mivec blacktop mivec auto with 9k rpm meter

1.6 mivec black top head
1.8 block
1.6 mivec wiring
1.8 gearbox

normal gear ratio is 3k rpm at 100kmh in 5th gear

now i cant open mivec

the question is
i need to put any devce like vafc,mivec controller?
blacktop mivec meter is 9k or 10k max?

Thanks Guys ....

now I just wait for the owner come, if the engine condition is good, and the price is reasonable, think I will put into my satria.. :D

just wondering if i put adjustable campulley into my machine is there any different than using the stock one...

Hie, im Kenny from setapak would like to join mivec club.
Im currently driving a mitsubishi mirage cyborg zr 98 model. Nice to meet u guys... :)

mirage901 said:
Hie, im Kenny from setapak would like to join mivec club.
Im currently driving a mitsubishi mirage cyborg zr 98 model. Nice to meet u guys... :)

you are welcome our club................

you are most welcome looks like our club is getting bigger and bigger more than 15 active members...

heefmy said:
i need sifu advise here....pls help me.
i had put in the mivec engine in my car bay.

the engine is like that.
i buy 1.6 mivec blacktop mivec auto with 9k rpm meter

1.6 mivec black top head
1.8 block
1.6 mivec wiring
1.8 gearbox

normal gear ratio is 3k rpm at 100kmh in 5th gear

now i cant open mivec

the question is
i need to put any devce like vafc,mivec controller?
blacktop mivec meter is 9k or 10k max?

some of us do experience after installation done there is a few need to touch up. It happen to 1 of friend also damn excited of watiing the transplant done ask me to join him. After getting the he rev,and end up very disappointed bcos mivec tak buka i remember he told very regret for translplant mivec hahahaha. Then send back the car to hyper check check ohhh the switch got problem after fixing and touch up then only realise is worth it hahaah... So send the car back to ur workshop and check check if they still cant solve it out then we will recommend some workshop for u ....

There is a on / off button for mivec... I remember when i was doing run in 1000km after change piston ring my mivec cant on after 5500rpm. Bcos my foreman disable mivec... i dunno how to explain where is the switch but AH loon come out and explain the switch thing.....

ah loon: i want to increase my maximum power to about 7.5k rpm. Is balancing the block+ head the only way to do it? How much would it cost?

Dat day i change my spark plugs and one of the holes (4 holes rite) got engine oil inside of it. the spark plug was basically covered in some engine oil so i figure there is some kind of leak? how to assess this situation ah loon kor?

MonsterTacho said:
ah loon: i want to increase my maximum power to about 7.5k rpm. Is balancing the block+ head the only way to do it? How much would it cost?

Dat day i change my spark plugs and one of the holes (4 holes rite) got engine oil inside of it. the spark plug was basically covered in some engine oil so i figure there is some kind of leak? how to assess this situation ah loon kor?

ehm roughly can cost u around Rm1200 for the balancing and the cylinder head blueprint......
i need to know that the oil is at the spark rod there or inside the hose when the spark plug have taken out ....????