Mivec Club

errr.. does that mean, Mivec doesnt have start cold valve or anything alike meh? meaning Mivec must wait for the engine to heat up first lah? hmmm...

Originally posted by delphinium@Mar 21 2005, 12:11
errr.. does that mean, Mivec doesnt have start cold valve or anything alike meh? meaning Mivec must wait for the engine to heat up first lah? hmmm...
[snapback]826809[/snapback]​

Mivec original have cold start, like ur case if not working than manual cold start lah.
Cold engine mivec wont kick in must reach almost 1/2 heat from ur temp reader. Not enof engine oil mivec wont kick in as well, this is some of the small sympton if mivec does not kick in.

i think most EFI cars got cold start valve.. forgot the full name liao, IAC or something.
maybe yours is faulty, go to mechanic and check ler. basically just tune the valve can liao, if u know how to.

but there's other possibilty too, like fuel filter clogged or fuel filter vacuum line loose or bocor.. or TPS need to retune, throttle body dirty, MAF sensor not plugged correctly, other vacuum lines leak, plug dirty or dying, and the list goes on..

best to let mechanic check

Hi bros,
i wanna ask, currently i'm using mivec front knuckle and gti rear knuckle. if i want to change to pcd 114.3, can it be done with minor modification? and how much does it cost? thanks...

Originally posted by mivec4646@Mar 21 2005, 15:58
Hi bros,
i wanna ask, currently i'm using mivec front knuckle and gti rear knuckle. if i want to change to pcd 114.3, can it be done with minor modification? and how much does it cost? thanks...
[snapback]827634[/snapback]​

wah quite alot work to do bro, I think cost around Rm300 - 400 ? just guessing i saw a putra did before this bcos he got a cheap volk racing te37 with cheap price

Originally posted by sewerside@Mar 21 2005, 15:20
i think most EFI cars got cold start valve.. forgot the full name liao, IAC or something.

Is it called FICD?..

my case is different.. cold start no problem.. its starting the cars when the engine is still hot is the problem.. need a long cranking or 3 times starting.. then only the engine starts. last time i tought its the compressionthingy.. now compression ok edi but things still the same.. need 3 starts in hot condition.. but in cold.. no problem..

any ideas? :)

mivec cold being held by a system named Stepper Motor ..... with this stepper motor started to malfunctioning all sympton is listed below ...

1) cold start out
2) suddenly RPM remainning at 2-3000k while the engine hot
3) when air cond on.... drop gear engine died off itself...

Gibod .... for ur car sympton was the compression problem .... while engine is cold ,it easy to start. BUt when the engine is hot u will need to crank few time to ignite the engien ..... u cant do anything to that ... unless somebody remap the chip for u ( retard the ignition timing .....

hope u guys could help me out...
i'm sourcing a mivec gearbox + lsd for my friend...
if u guys got any info n how much it'll cost pls go PM me k?
thx a lot guys! :lol:

Originally posted by Henryfong@Mar 21 2005, 00:36
Kwai ..... mind to come out to have a check for the engine ..... I henry usually was a mechanic .... so maybe i can help some of it.... u can feel free to contact me .... 012-6683627 Loon ... i was in puchong area ...
[snapback]825692[/snapback]​

henry... wats the normal fuel consomption of this engine?
ha... i stay in Tan Yew Lai near OUG... can kira puchong also la...
when u usually free?

i checked my A/F frm amoil today... they said my A/F no prob....

but my spark plug have to change la... coz frm H/C....

now my friend helping me to buy the denso iridium frm PJ... will get it this month....

wallauuuoo.. henryfong sir, you're the man (again). I've got all the 3 symptoms (sometimes) u were talking about. So stepper motor is the culprit...

err.. but then again .. stepper motor? where is this bugger huh? throttle body? if it's there, is it possible to repair/change oni the stepper motor or must change the whole t/b ?

thanks again.

Originally posted by Henryfong@Mar 21 2005, 19:30
mivec cold being held by a system named Stepper Motor ..... with this stepper motor started to malfunctioning all sympton is listed below ...

1) cold start out
2) suddenly RPM remainning at 2-3000k while the engine hot
3) when air cond on.... drop gear engine died off itself...

Gibod .... for ur car sympton was the compression problem .... while engine is cold ,it easy to start. BUt when the engine is hot u will need to crank few time to ignite the engien ..... u cant do anything to that ... unless somebody remap the chip for u ( retard the ignition timing .....
[snapback]828325[/snapback]​

stepper motor is the idle control valve(ICV) or idle air control valve (IACV) or idle control unit(ICU)... etc..etc... different manufacturer use different name la..

basically if this is the problem after u diagnosis all the other things, then u can just clean the stepper motor(i use this term la since it's more general in mechanic term), or u can just replace with a refurbished unti from halfcut shop.

if want to diy clean it:
just unbolt the stepper motor from ur behind of ur throttle body near the fast idle valve.. clean the stepper motor area that goes into the throttle body and also clean the throttle body area where the stepper motor part masuk in it. (hahaha sounds obscene). got ppl say clean with petrol(if u take out stepper motor oredi, how to go buy hahaha), some say clean with engine oil, some say use carburator cleaner, some say wd40, i dun care wan, i just wipe with cloths and water.. and make sure to dry them properly if u use any of the material mentioned.

pastu pasang, start engine, tune the idle screw to 2000rpm when cold... when temperature jadi normal, tune it down to 850-900 rpm..
kaotim..

if upah mechanic to clean, i think RM10-20..

p/s: if u rajin, buka the throttle body also, clean it..

Originally posted by sewerside@Mar 22 2005, 13:30
stepper motor is the idle control valve(ICV) or idle air control valve (IACV) or idle control unit(ICU)... etc..etc... different manufacturer use different name la..

basically if this is the problem after u diagnosis all the other things, then u can just clean the stepper motor(i use this term la since it's more general in mechanic term), or u can just replace with a refurbished unti from halfcut shop.

if want to diy clean it:
just unbolt the stepper motor from ur behind of ur throttle body near the fast idle valve.. clean the stepper motor area that goes into the throttle body and also clean the throttle body area where the stepper motor part masuk in it. (hahaha sounds obscene). got ppl say clean with petrol(if u take out stepper motor oredi, how to go buy hahaha), some say clean with engine oil, some say use carburator cleaner, some say wd40, i dun care wan, i just wipe with cloths and water.. and make sure to dry them properly if u use any of the material mentioned.

pastu pasang, start engine, tune the idle screw to 2000rpm when cold... when temperature jadi normal, tune it down to 850-900 rpm..
kaotim..

if upah mechanic to clean, i think RM10-20..

p/s: if u rajin, buka the throttle body also, clean it..
[snapback]830271[/snapback]​

U sure can clean ah stepper motor ? u have any suggested workshop can help me ? Rm10-20 ? i need to fix my stepper motor ASAP. Thanks bro

delphinium... if u truely got this 3 sympton .. then better u change the stepper motor ..... i myself kena this b4 ..... if just 1 sympton then u can clean .... believe me i did too many of this thing....

i had a look at my throttle body just now but cudnt figure out which one is stepper motor. Does it have any wire connected to it? I saw something brownish plastic , is that it? anyone can gimme a slight idea on how it looks like on the throttle body?

if i have to source out for an unspoilt unit of stepper motor, how much roughly would it cost? availability? can it be swapped with other stepper motor from different models and makes?

thanks again.

Originally posted by Henryfong@Mar 22 2005, 19:37
delphinium... if u truely got this 3 sympton .. then better u change the stepper motor ..... i myself kena this b4 ..... if just 1 sympton then u can clean .... believe me i did too many of this thing....
[snapback]831352[/snapback]​

HI GUYS,,,,,,

i new in mivec engine because i just install the mivec engine in my blue iswara last two weeks ago by our friend AH LOON...... THANK YOU DR MIVEC AH LOON....

So can i join you guys to tt ( teh tarik ) and long kai section just give me a call ok or zth..... my phone number is 016-2339265..... hope to see u all.....bye and good luck guys...... if long kai please wait for me dun go so fast ok hahahahaha.......

see u and drive safely...

welcome to the club. I'm sure they'll invite you for TT. If i were in KL, I'll surely join them too :)

Originally posted by steven7810@Mar 23 2005, 12:35
HI GUYS,,,,,,

i new in mivec engine because i just install the mivec engine in my blue iswara last two weeks ago by our friend AH LOON...... THANK YOU DR MIVEC AH LOON....

So can i join you guys to tt ( teh tarik ) and long kai section just give me a call ok or zth..... my phone number is 016-2339265..... hope to see u all.....bye and good luck guys...... if long kai please wait for me dun go so fast ok hahahahaha.......

[snapback]833519[/snapback]​

[snapback]828325[/snapback]​
[/quote]

bro ah loon..

at first i tot it caused from the compression problem.. but it still happened even after i repaired all my leakings and got back my compression and re-tune.. other than the starting thingy.. now my car running ok..

ah loon.. care to xplain what is it got to do with the iginition and remap chip ?..

Originally posted by delphinium+Mar 23 2005, 15:33 -->
QUOTE(delphinium @ Mar 23 2005, 15:33 )
welcome to the club. I'm sure they'll invite you for TT. If i were in KL, I'll surely join them too :)

--QuoteBegin-steven7810
@Mar 23 2005, 12:35
HI GUYS,,,,,,

[snapback]834050[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

hahha.. bro delphi.. sure you will... come down lar.. give me a ride.. :D

bro steven.. sure u can.. anyone can.. just keep up with this thread.. ;) and you'll find when to TT.. maybe now everyone busy..

Originally posted by gibod_78+Mar 23 2005, 18:13 -->
QUOTE(gibod_78 @ Mar 23 2005, 18:13 )
Originally posted by delphinium@Mar 23 2005, 15:33

--QuoteBegin-steven7810
@Mar 23 2005, 12:35
HI GUYS,,,,,,

[snapback]834050[/snapback]​

hahha.. bro delphi.. sure you will... come down lar.. give me a ride.. :D

bro steven.. sure u can.. anyone can.. just keep up with this thread.. ;) and you'll find when to TT.. maybe now everyone busy..
[snapback]834586[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
yes i will tq bro........ if got tt just call me is easy because i will on leave or u guys can ask ah loon to sms me .......tq

for FICD plz click here....

http://www.4gtuners.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=2118