Maintenance/Mod: Brake

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
RD/RD2 Brake System

The front brake component
http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/6803/v5br023apl8.gif

REPLACEMENT OF BRAKE PADS

The brake pads have wear indicators that contact the brake disc when the brake pad thickness becomes 2 mm (0.08 in.) or less. The wear indicators will generate a squealing sound to warn the driver.

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/4834/x58019byx9.gif

Just curious, does other car have this kind of warning system?

Better to have naked eye inspections from time to time rather than waiting for the sound to come. Should be able to see the brake pad thickness. If you are lucky, you can also see the "groove" in the between the entire brake pad (still a good set!!)

Taiko, most of the car has this warning pin lah.

Yu, which means I always change the pad before it really wear out..

Actually what I suffer now is in-balance brake wear, I realise my passenger front rim have more brake dirt left over on the rim than the driver site. Don't know how to correct it, that's why modding is 1 of my option now.

BS,
check your front brake kit. The right brake kit mostly is not functioning. I had the same problem with my Satria. It shouldn't be expensive.

BS, try to jet up ur front & see is the left break is jam, just turn ur rim.
Some ppl even grind of the break pad warning pin & use it till kau kau.
yes, most ppl change break pad before the warning, b'coz some don have this warning pin mah, also workshop will ask u to change if the pad is going to be finish, even before the warning pin touch the disk

Daniel,
You can really see the pad and the metal just like those day when you check your bicycle brake.

Ace said:
BS,
check your front brake kit. The right brake kit mostly is not functioning. I had the same problem with my Satria. It shouldn't be expensive.
Ace, luckily you change from "should be expensive" to "shouldn't be expensive". I stare at my monitor when at read "should be expensive" and remain silent for a while.... hahahhaha

Yu911 said:
BS, try to jet up ur front & see is the left break is jam, just turn ur rim.
Some ppl even grind of the break pad warning pin & use it till kau kau.
yes, most ppl change break pad before the warning, b'coz some don have this warning pin mah, also workshop will ask u to change if the pad is going to be finish, even before the warning pin touch the disk
actually my brake jam twice, but it's the passenger side, not driver side. Chui fix it for me.

Ace said:
Daniel,
You can really see the pad and the metal just like those day when you check your bicycle brake.
i never check my bicycle brake, maybe that's why i have bicycle accident and fly in the air once. *superman* WWWeeeeeeee.

incident: travel at high speed (20-30KMH gua), suddenly front brake jam, the next thing is, i was airborn ..... and crash on the floor. Muahaha, bring back old memory

Ace, thanks for the brake checking method. :)

BS, did you hurt yourself badly that time?
It sounds serious.
I also experienced a bicycle incident something like yours but it's not brake fault, my front wheel when into a pothole and my bike launched me up into the air and the next second I'm lying on those sandy ground with lots of blood oozing from my face and knee.
It was like I been wack by a big group of ppl.
My mom got a fright when I went home.
Damn scary and painful.

BS,
Sorry for scarying you for the moment. also double ouch for you and Daniel on the crash.

worst still, the incident happen on normal road (bitumen) surface, no soft landed.
but you know as kid, never scared to die, next day repair the brake and go cycling again. Muahaha.

another bicycle incident happen later after that, and i get a few stitch in clinic. a scar at my left elbow :biggrin:

Wah, BS, you really had a wonderful adventurous childhood.
Show me your scar the next time we meet. hahaha...

I also had a big purplish scar on my left knee.
It came to me when I was racing with my cousin on bicycle after watching Initial D.
Got inspired by the cartoon.
We were racing the endurance format where one of us start the race first while the other at the back as catcher. Like Initial D stage 2 final race between the two AE86s.
As we were racing each other, my cousin managed to catch up with me side by side.
Suddenly, an old malay aunty crossed the road and blocked my cousin's path.
He swerved into my lane and both of our handles crisscrossed.
We can't controlled our bicycles as the handles were entangled with each other.
We fell and got drag on the floor for 100m.
I was badly hurted on my left knee with some minor injuries while my cousin had light injuries only.
I helped my cousin and I up and both of us cycled back to our homes.
On the way, we still manage to joke around saying that my cousin should bang the old lady and drag her in front of his bicycle basket instead of crashing each other.
What an experience.
Girls doesn't like my scars.
Dunno why!
hahahaha...

I think most of us have this superman before, I'm not flying to the sky but some thing like "tiu sui" direct to road, shorter time, BS has longer time to rich road, hahaha..... That time was I let go my 2 hand with very fast down to hill, my friend saw me & say "ngo tou tek" (I also can), once let go his hand & band to me, so I like "tiu sui" jum dicect to the road, luckly din kena my eye, just the side from my eye, every day "lot kei tan" on my eye.:Not_Impressed:
http://img460.imageshack.us/img460/7730/10ns3.jpg​

Hahahaha....
Yu,
so detail ah?! Got pic to clarify your situation.
*respect *respect
Got scars bo?
Got eat the eggs after using it ah?
hahaha...jk...jk...

I think it's normal for guys to do some crazy stuffs during childhood due to charging testosterone in males' bodies.
Excluding "ah gua".
hahaha...

no scars liau, every day hot teloh & after rice cook, balut rice with garam, every day u know, but this realy works, haha...
don know lah, after knowing how to post pic, I just want to post some pic, hehehe...