LSD got sound. Is it normal? Please help.

Sil80-13

Hi all sifus,

My BT 20V 5 speed LSD got sound when make left hard cornering. d sound is like "kok kok kok" like counter sound. Is it normal for LSD? but when make right cornering, no sound & it's smooth.

My steering is heavy & when accelerate d car goes to 1 side. what is the problem like?

Few foreman told me that the sound is LSD sound. It is quite loud.

facing the same problem here too.

dear all sifus, please help...:adore::adore::adore:

Thanks.

Ooo. Thats mean change to a better LSD gear oil will solve d sound problem. Thanks.

But how about d steering heavy & d car move 1 side when press pedal???

Now. To be more specify out my problem is when I press d fuel pedal d whole car will pull to d right side but when I let go my fuel pedal, d car will pull back abit to the left side. Weird. Is it because of tyres? As I done alightment already. Or any other thing wrong???

normally if full lock/ 2way lsd.....the sound will appear when u turn both side.......if only 1 side it might be ur drive shaft CV joint.......if ur car pull 1 side when acc n pull the other side when decelerate check ur lower arm ball joint or etc.....best get a mechanic advice......

waoh.. sifu back in town? found any goodies at sarawak? hahhahah

Have tried our some LSD gear oil.

1. Motul - LSD still got sound when turn left or right. "kok kok kok"

2. Penzoil - LSD still got sound when turn left or right. "kok kok kok"

3. Castrol LSX - LSD totally no sound at all. Very smooth.

Mine is a full lock LSD. My mechanic told me that it is normal that a full lock LSD got sound when turn left or right.

He told me that Castrol LSX is meant for heavy duty car like 4WD. The gearbox oil is much more thicker than Motul or Penzoil. That's why it can cover up the sound when make turning but he said this might make the full lock LSD not working. Is it true? So he ask me to go Motul or Penzoil.

Anyone use Torco & Kaaz LSD gearbox oil before? Which one is better compare to Motul???

Mine is a full lock LSD. My mechanic told me that it is normal that a full lock LSD got sound when turn left or right.

He told me that Castrol LSX is meant for heavy duty car like 4WD. The gearbox oil is much more thicker than Motul or Penzoil. That's why it can cover up the sound when make turning but he said this might make the full lock LSD not working. Is it true? So he ask me to go Motul or Penzoil.

Anyone use Torco & Kaaz LSD gearbox oil before? Which one is better compare to Motul???

Does your car pull one side when you accelerate or decelerate?

Previously yes. But after send to a shop in Seremban for alighment, now the car will not pull one side already. Don't know what they do....

Have you tried Redline...? I been using Redline from day 1 and never fail. If 1 side >>> like Tom said maybe CV join. Should have some noise when cornering left and right in low speed. High speed never know because no time to pay attention to that.....

Mine both side also got noise when slow cornering. But when in Sepang at high speed, no sound at all. Lolz..... I think the sound is because of the full lock LSD.

Anyway, Redline how much per litre? LSD Syntetic?

I not sure it will disable the ability of the full lock... But i used more than 6 year, I never encounter any problem on my LSD at all le...

Anyway, Kaaz are better for their brand LSD. Same to the TRD and the Cusco too...

last time i plan to use Redline LSD oil, but the perfromance shop "Advanced Racing, Seremban" told that if use Redline oil, it is advised to use together with the additive (from Redline too), since the amount of cost will be higher to use 2, thus i go for other brand..
no doublt Redline is very very good LSD oil in the market...

I use the Toyota LSD oil, the 'krok krok' sound disappear, but the feeling of anti-force from steering also disappear...

I not sure it will disable the ability of the full lock... But i used more than 6 year, I never encounter any problem on my LSD at all le...

Anyway, Kaaz are better for their brand LSD. Same to the TRD and the Cusco too...

Means that after using Castrol LSX for 6 years, your full lock LSD is still in working condition?

Yupp... still working fine...
I normally 1 month can hit 3000 km... 6 year = 72 month, so mean mileage about 216,000 km already.

Hi

my stock BT(with LSD) also having problem where steering run one side when accelerate.. the higher rpm the more serious it run.. actually i just finish my BT conversion last week and already do the tyre alignment

my mechanic also no idea, he suspect the lower arm ball joint and Absorber cover cause the problem.. but he said better go another round of alignment 1st

anyone can advice how to solve this ?