LSD got sound. Is it normal? Please help.

Hi

my stock BT(with LSD) also having problem where steering run one side when accelerate.. the higher rpm the more serious it run.. actually i just finish my BT conversion last week and already do the tyre alignment

my mechanic also no idea, he suspect the lower arm ball joint and Absorber cover cause the problem.. but he said better go another round of alignment 1st

anyone can advice how to solve this ?

Where you do the transplant (in PG) >?

Not sure if it is right to recommend other mech but you may try the mech i went to.

Go to jetty Shell petrol station, opposite. The shop with transplanted cars and the most dirty one. Don't wear any white shoes there (Warning)

Thanks.

btw anyone have idea whether we can use aftermarket front pillow ball mount for normal kayaba absorber ? eg: GAB or Tein..

• GAB toyota.jpg
    GAB toyota.jpg
    26.8 KB · Views: 109
Thanks.

btw anyone have idea whether we can use aftermarket front pillow ball mount for normal kayaba absorber ? eg: GAB or Tein..

Hey jackylsp,

The GAB pillow mount photo you taken is from hock ming from Seremban?

Is it brand new & locally make one? Suitable to any car & whats the price like for front 1 pair?

after changing absorber mouting, lower arm ball and alignment..
my steering still running one side one accelerate the car..

anyone sifu facing this problem before ? can advice how to solve this ?

Have tried our some LSD gear oil.

1. Motul - LSD still got sound when turn left or right. "kok kok kok"

2. Penzoil - LSD still got sound when turn left or right. "kok kok kok"

3. Castrol LSX - LSD totally no sound at all. Very smooth.

Mine is a full lock LSD. My mechanic told me that it is normal that a full lock LSD got sound when turn left or right.

He told me that Castrol LSX is meant for heavy duty car like 4WD. The gearbox oil is much more thicker than Motul or Penzoil. That's why it can cover up the sound when make turning but he said this might make the full lock LSD not working. Is it true? So he ask me to go Motul or Penzoil.

Anyone use Torco & Kaaz LSD gearbox oil before? Which one is better compare to Motul???

bro, see attached pic. Is this the gearbox oil u using?

• IMG00095-20091024-1548.jpg
    IMG00095-20091024-1548.jpg
    44.2 KB · Views: 140
Sorry for revive old topic

I recently changed to c56 with 1.5way LSD (as claim by seller)

1) I notice if i drive slow/fast, and the road is uneven (not pothole, just uneven surface), i will hear the "krok krok"sound.
2) When I start my engine, theres a sound "ke duk" like some metal parts lock together.

Is this normal for LSD or should I be worried about drive shaft etc or try using another LSD oil? Currently am using Redline 75w-90 (yellow)

Thx

got pour Redline 75-90 in my T50 gearbox and T131 axle (with 2way TRD LSD) before, and it sound like someone is fried-ing beans in it. Scared the shit out of me. Flush the whole thing out on the spot~ And now i'm using Kaaz 80-90 for Clutch type LSD for my axle and toyota genuine 80-90 gear oil in my T50. can said Kaaz did a good work with keeping the max lock on the LSD but slight low on the humming noise when driving. Will try HKS later next oil change ^^

the knocking sound is normal for 2way LSD, it will be less audio-able if you cornering with full throttler. And the acc pull left/right; de-acc pull right/left thingy, for my experience it's most likely due to your caster setting/lower arm bush worn problem.

It's normal for 2 way LSD that there is sound when you drive slow on cornering & vise versa where there is totally no sound at all when you full throttle in cornering....

Not so sure about 1.5 way LSD.

anyway, for LSD, please use the right vicosity which is 80-90...:biggrin:

last last, after checking, found out that the sound was coming from a loose bolt holding the lower arm. previously was due to spoilt ball joint.

Just listing here in case next time people have the same prob, can check these as well ;)

Bro 0501024,

1) I notice if i drive slow/fast, and the road is uneven (not pothole, just uneven surface), i will hear the "krok krok"sound.

Based on the above symptom, it can only happen due to bushings and glad to hear that you've fixed the loose bushing issue.

Write your reply...