JL Audio imitation

nicholaslkh

Anyone come across JL Audio products imitated? I am afraid i kena 'con' because I brought a set of component speakers quite cheap. The sales person said it is an obsolete model but I find it as new model as in the JL website. The model of the speaker is XR650-Csi:confused_smile:

look for pro-ice stickers... if got then its ori one... if not then risk of imitation is higher... how much is the price difference? very big ah?

if the sticker very special that it can be verified as ori if the comp set come with it?

FYI, there's many of those fake comp set come with everything original-looalike accessories....
and 1 thing, good thing dun come cheap...
but most important is the price and the performance...
if a fake compset can produce 60% or ori sound with the half price of the ori, then it's consider good..
that's only my opinion

hehehe...
dun be so angry ma... hehee..
i jus write i read from a local magazine... they say if you consumer come across JL audio stuff without the sticker then it is fake ones...

hehe... but i do agree tht the price plays a big role... hehhee... dun be tempted to buy it when its cheap... make sure it is the ori one before you buy... so the easiest way is still to audit it from the TT... hehehe...

cheers...

you get from lelong.com is it? if yes confirm fake lah, see the tweeter also you know, the workmanship is so poor, you think JL will come out with this kind of quality?

not mistkaken JL logo can identify real or fake..." maybe " im not so sure with JL~

alternative : email to JL n ask~

why not just call proice holdings & ask 'em the whereabouts of their authorised dealers, pay 'em a visit & compare the JL stuffs you have with the ones that they have ...

just a thought .... just a thought. ...

kimcity2000 said:
you get from lelong.com is it? if yes confirm fake lah, see the tweeter also you know, the workmanship is so poor, you think JL will come out with this kind of quality?

Ok, there is no Pro Ice sticker.Actually, I got it from lelong.com at RM4++ Well, at that price, I think ok kua although fake. Even, the ice sifu from Soundquest couldn't differentiate whether it is the original one or fake. Looks so ori and there is no suspicion on the workmanship. I wonder whether nowadays the imitators have achieved that kind of quality standards. If it is only the matter of authorised dealership then I don't really care about it. It's just like you buy an AP Nokia H/P. Things are still the same. Maybe, I am not too fussy about ICE and I think I can accept the quality. Definitely better than my previous component 5.25 in Magnat Xcenric. Just my amp is underpower. Have to get a new one of at least 75w RMS per channel. Mine is only 55w RMS.:sad_smile:

nicholaslkh said:
Ok, there is no Pro Ice sticker.Actually, I got it from lelong.com at RM4++ Well, at that price, I think ok kua although fake. Even, the ice sifu from Soundquest couldn't differentiate whether it is the original one or fake. Looks so ori and there is no suspicion on the workmanship. I wonder whether nowadays the imitators have achieved that kind of quality standards. If it is only the matter of authorised dealership then I don't really care about it. It's just like you buy an AP Nokia H/P. Things are still the same. Maybe, I am not too fussy about ICE and I think I can accept the quality. Definitely better than my previous component 5.25 in Magnat Xcenric. Just my amp is underpower. Have to get a new one of at least 75w RMS per channel. Mine is only 55w RMS.:sad_smile:

well, for RM400++ you can buy a much better one, cause the quality of the fake JL really like normal RM100 speaker sound only, i have bought one set of lelong (RM300 only), thats why i know...:sad_smile:

the installer cannot differenciate the real and fake bacause they are not pro enough or they have not listen to real JL XR650CXI before, but i can tell you, the quality is really not up to standard, especially the tweeter

kimcity2000 said:
well, for RM400++ you can buy a much better one, cause the quality of the fake JL really like normal RM100 speaker sound only, i have bought one set of lelong (RM300 only), thats why i know...:sad_smile:

the installer cannot differenciate the real and fake bacause they are not pro enough or they have not listen to real JL XR650CXI before, but i can tell you, the quality is really not up to standard, especially the tweeter

You may be right. Neither the installer or myself have heard the 'original' JL speakers but at least I think it is better than my previous set up. In fact, I heard there is this Rockford FNX2614 fake component set circulating and selling quite cheap. Any idea about its sound quality?

I got one FNX2614, bought at 299, I think this is the cheapest I got. Then next time want to buy again cannot already, the price atleast 400++. For this set I not sure if is fake or not, from the tweeter till passive crossovers are all the same(include the manual). The sound quality i think is not bad for the price of 299, the midbass is quite solid. But if really is a fake one, then I have to respect whoever that make this comp set.
Anyway I get to know that my comp set is fake from QS audio in Seremban, where the boss say when scratch the speaker top, the wop layer won't have scratch mark if fake one, real one will have the scratch mark. But the thing that make me more confuse is my speakers when do like this it does has the scratch mark...

kykheng,
but if u scratch speakers, sure will have scracth mark la.
Why dont u mail RF on how to check authencity of the speaker. Sctrach test is not logik la.

Yah ah, why never think of it. But I don't care much, the acc shop man said, so I follow only. For the price of 300, what you can expect?

nicholaslkh said:
You may be right. Neither the installer or myself have heard the 'original' JL speakers but at least I think it is better than my previous set up. In fact, I heard there is this Rockford FNX2614 fake component set circulating and selling quite cheap. Any idea about its sound quality?

either fake JL or fake FNX2614 is made in a same location, so their quality is the same, just the outlook is different, beside this two, there are also other brand which is affected in this imitation, like MBquart PCE, DSD series, DLS UR6s etc.

Just bear in mind, thing cheap for a reason, what you paid is what you get

Well there are many fake JL Audio products now
I was using a MTX component system but my right tweeter is faulty
Since the MTX served me well, i decided to just get a new pair of tweeters
I bought the JL Audio tweeters for RM120
The seller said it is original and there is such model
But when i received the tweeters, the quality of it is so bad
Especially at the back of the tweeter where the magnet is situated
There are scratches and decoloration
The sound quality was way below expectation
I checked and the original ones came with Gold colour JL Audio logo on the tweeter
The ones i bought was silver
I complained and the seller instantly refunded
Then i bought a Focal TN47 tweeter for RM45 (should be fake ler)
But the quality is good (not as good as the MTX ler)

Oh and another way to check, look around the box and check for speeling mistakes, they can immitate the packaging so well but sometimes a simple splling mistake will pop the bubble as high quality original brands will seldom make mistakes like that