IS THERE A REPLACEMENT FOR DISPLACEMENT?

CoolFusion

Is changing the whole engine block good or adding more bore and stroke with lighter and forged parts?

Originally posted by CoolFusion@Jan 22 2005, 14:48
Is changing the whole engine block good or adding more bore and stroke with lighter and forged parts?
Pending on engine and application spose. I'd personally go for bore/stroke with better parts if it's a thick/strong block. :)

depend on or block material too.normally bore within 1mm or below.just nice.calculate how much CC u want.
4 cyclinder = .0031414 x stroke (mm) x bore (mm) x bore (mm)

To answer your question. Yes there is a replacement for displacement.
NOS and force induction.
But there aint no replacement for displacement for sheer driving pleasure and usability unless u're the fast and furious crowd.
Who wants nothing and then all the power shove up the arse.
hehe

Well if u want more cc..... bigger engine...
u wanna retain the original block have to do some research if there's a stroker kit available and the max tolerable overbore.

how bout try to higher the compression?
like change gasket/piston
or get a stroker set?

lightened strokers are a choice... forced induction and nitrous...
but nitrous are juz temp boost... remember when ur gonna pick on the NA guys... when the engine blow up oso cant chase em...

i think bigger bore and stroke is the best solution besides lightened stroker kits...

i dont think its legal... rite...? heheheh

yeah..but stroker kits are PRICEY!
i think its illegal la..coz we cant even change our intake..

from what i hear,a modified intake is illegal.so,i presume that stock is the only option.

i'm not sure

sux... change air filtre to bigger 1 oso cannot ka? lol... sei lo...

well,that's what i've been told.i might be wrong though!hehe.but hey,no one gives two fu*ks anyway! :lol:

IS THERE A REPLACEMENT FOR DISPLACEMENT?, adding the cc's

YES!there is always replacement for displacement!

from my survey..stroker kit also got limit..increase 300cc++ is max for most block. ahhh exception for B16a..i've seen stroker kit max out at 2000cc !!

hmm stroker kit add stroke and bore la bro..then what do u mean by " think bigger bore and stroke is the best solution besides lightened stroker kits..."

stroker kit being lighten becos it being rebuilt custom made and not originally manufactured from car maker. once u built it new..u want it lighter.

stroker kit add stroke by adding size on crankshaft and a bit shorter conrod, it also add bore size by using bigger pistons

illegal ? how can u tell it's illegal if they dun even see u use stroker kit ? JPJ can see inside engine kah ? :lol:

Originally posted by flamefox850@Jan 23 2005, 06:43
illegal ? how can u tell it's illegal if they dun even see u use stroker kit ? JPJ can see inside engine kah ? :lol:
hehehhehe....nice nice... :lol: :lol:

but is there any manufacterer that makes lightened stroker kits for 4g93??

Yes, there're many alternatives of increasing power besides increasing displacement (either by installing a bigger block or via re-bore/stroker kit). But those other alternatives have pros & cons (eg turbo lag, power loss at low-RPM etc). For normal driver who knows very little about engine & rarely drives hard, bigger capacity engine is still the best. If they're to choose between a 200bhp 1.8 litre turbo engine or a 200bhp 3 litre normal engine, most would choose the latter.

so... theres gonna be turbo lag if i play wit the internals....

any workshop out there can deal wit this and cure this lag?