Improving Coupe Performance

Daniel Lee

What can be done to improve the performance of a 1997 Hyundai Coupe 1.8 without needing an engine transplant???

Daniel, after Kepong TT straight wanna do performance tuning already? Hehe. anything happen in between you, the Skyline and Evo? :p

there are member at JB have a Coupe with 156hps with the stock engine, but i'm not sure how much he spend and what he have done.

An engine transplant will actually bring up a lot, like 4G63T shall have 210hps after the conversion. 4G93T..

BSamurai! Disappointing, disappointing! I was hoping to meet you at the Kepong tt last saturday and you din show your face! I'm so disappointed. Don't know when will be another chance for our stock standard Coupes to park side by side...

Hahaha, Samurai, how can you compare a stock standard coupe with those big guns? My coupe still not qualified la. Just plan to upgrade my Coupe's power only so that the gap between my Coupe and those big guns is not too far.

An engine transplant? I've thought of that too but my regular mechanic told me that a Turbo engine is very hard to maintain and it's not suitable for daily use.

Daniel Lee (Are you the new Malaysian idol winner?),

i did come, i told fred that i have another gathering at Pjay. So i went later. Miss the oppotunity to yam cha with you.

ok, go back to your story, for local NA, you can actually contact cws (who is selling his coupe in zth now) what are the thing that he did to improve it. PM me if you need his contact, or you can PM him directly in ZTH.

Actually, another Rawang Coupe owner with 4G63T using his coupe as daily drive. According to his advice, do not go for bolt-on Turbo, that's bring you all the trouble. Engine transplant will be better. However, you still need to find a reliable mech to do that. The mech that servicing my car currently is the 1 who did the transplant for the 4G63T. But the Coupe lay in the workshop for 6 months time, bcoz they are doing it as part time work. The Rawang Coupe owner Yu have the knowledge of engine transplant as well, hence he and the mech work together for the trasnplant.

Or you can go to www.rdtiburon.com (as per stated in my signature), looking for help. There are lot's of US buddy did all kinds of thing on Coupe. And they are very kind to share their knowledge.

Or you may join MHCC, another old senior also did a lot of thing in his coupe, I think he is willing to share his experience. Forum there is very cool, low response. But the founder is very kind person. :)

BSamurai, I'm not the Malaysian Idol's Daniel Lee. I don't have the same talent as him in singing and I'm 3 years his junior. I love cars more than music. Is just that we shared the same name and I join zth with this I.D even before the Malaysia Idol 2 starts. That's my name in my i.c too.

Looking forward for the next tt organise by you in March.

I did browsed through cws thread abt the coupe selling issue. The parts he use for his coupe were branded and good performance parts. I really interested to look at his coupe and learn more abt the coupe from him before he sells it away. I hope you can help me in this situation.

Will the 4G63T gives problem frequently and is it reliable. I heard that turbo engine needed lots of maintenance and the engine transplant needs lots of troublesome paper work in order to get it approve by jpj.

Thanks for the US tiburon website and where can I join the mhcc forum? ^^

guys guys,
dont' lah hentam coupe's engine until it is worthless lah..give the BETA engine a chance before decide engine swap. A proper NA tuned engine are capable of going against some 1.8turbo car. NA are good for all torque range and also can go long range high speed at high rpm. Wheres turbo engine can't, it overheat easily.

Pardon me samurai, long time didn't came in here already :_:

Ace, really really long time didn't see you. Still busy as usual?

Ace, just like what you said, BETA engine have all sort of potential, in RDTiburon, we see TurboCharged, SuperCharged Coupe, giving out more than 200hps. But the issue over here is that, I don't know anyone who is good in TurboCharged our BETA engine. And the coversion is not cheap + reliable issue.

We can't deny that turbo engine will give much more horsepower, but where to get a reliable mechanic to do the conversion???

Samurai, correct loh. The thing is, our local mechanic usually like to use parts that are belong to other cars for a setup. If you were to use proper parts that has been calculated to withstand certain heat and pressure, i'm sure there is no problem at all. The most important thing for a bolt on is the tubine header itself and also gasket, piping for water and intercooler. get all these parts right and you will have no problem at all. But, most mechanic won't be doing these if you were to supply them all parts. you know lah, they can't profit much from you.

My suggestion is do NA tuned to find out the potential first and later bolt or swap when you find a good mechanics to trust with.

oh...Samurai. Any chance you coming down to Penang? We can meet again if you happen to be here. Sorry for disappearing, very busy lately.

sorry ah! hijack the tread a bit hehe

Write your reply...