How to tune 4AGE blacktop to run on RON95/97

feliccw

Dear 4AGE "blacktop" member,

As all enthusiast recall, the silvertop and blacktop was tune with RON100 back in japan. Sad to say, ron100 is not available in malaysia. With the fuel price hiking and the introduction of more economical ron95 in the distance future. I thought it would be interested to seek all the members comments on this topic.

1. Is it possible to tune silvertop or blacktop 20v to run on ron95/97???
2. What are the tools that is available???piggy-back i.e e-manage???
3. With lesser ron, other loss of hp...anymore disadvantage????
4. Would this damage the engine in long-run????

Please feel free to giv comment and info....TQ

Based on what I've tried, you don't need any tuning to run on ron 97 as the engine will compensate to run this lower octane. I'm using ron 97 ever since I got the engine and have splurged on ron 99 (v-power) once or twice. Power is slightly different on ron 97 and ron 99 (ron 99 giving more power) but I feel its quite killer on your pocket to run on v-power all the time in Malaysia even though its closest to ron 100. So far I don't have any problems running on ron 97 and I don't think current 20 valvers to run on ron 95 as our engines are high compression and more subceptible to knocking which is why it would be better to run with higher octane fuels in the first place. To answer your questions:

1) Irregardless of the ron you're using, you can still tune your engine but you might not get as much power boost/difference as you are expecting
2) Can't comment on piggybacks as I'm not using any
3) You might have some loss of hp but not for the reasons you might expect. Go google up more info as there are tons online
4) Problem with running lower ron normally increases the knocking that occurs in your engine that starts a chain reaction where it will most definitely cause problems in the long run. You can also refer to google on this

Hope I managed to help you a bit.

in my country 95 ron is the highest octane we have. never did anything special and works fine, a few guys use 92ron no issues.
no dyno test yet

I think you could adjust the distributor angle to drop the timing a bit if you're experiencing knocking with ron97/95 fuel. FYI, Toyota's spec setting for 20V BT timing is 10º BTDC (±2º) at idle. So for us running ron97/95, its best set to 12 or 10... of coz power will drop if timing is lower.

Also, I don't think v-power is RON99... IIRC its RON97, same as other RON97 unleaded fuel in Malaysia.

pcmoddingmy is right. v-power only guarantee you of at least ron97.
when current ron97 goes up to rm2.00, i hope they'll retain current v-power price....

can i know ron 97 n ron 95 is wat fuel ya???i using petronas primax so not sure is wat ron..can tell me..tq??

ron97-primax3, v-power,mobil f1(i think, forgot)..easy to say 'minyak hijau' la. ron95 only petronas had launched it as primax95 i guess.

& ron95 only available in putrajaya petronas for now.
all others are offering ron97 & ron92.

Thanks for the confirmation sifu banzai. Errr... RON97 petronas already causing knocking for my 20V BT. I cant imagine what will happen with RON95 petronas... 8º BTDC here I come! lol!
But no doubt, petronas can get a bit extra mileage... at the expense of your engine's lifespan!

or you can retarding the sparking 8º after tdc
if you do that, you can use even ron92..hehehe

Tq for the feeedback, if i do make adjustment to the timing as per mentioned....how will this affect the FC????fuel consumption???

Bump: Tq for the feeedback, if i do make adjustment to the timing as per mentioned....how will this affect the FC????fuel consumption???

hahaha...UMW can't or don't want to answer it ? hmmm...

My car is a Toyota Corolla 1990 model with a 1998 4AGE blacktop 20-valve engine from Japan. Is RON95 suitable? - 012-2880312

Reply - The Toyota Corolla 1990 with original engine would be compatible. However, UMWT cannot comment on the compatibility of the 1998 4AGE blacktop engine.
source : http://cbt.com.my/090805/ron95-qampa-caltex

& ron95 only available in putrajaya petronas for now.
all others are offering ron97 & ron92.

my place oso got RON95 oledi......
jus started to have it this week....
RM1.75/litre........

Should be no problem for Blacktop to use RON95,i have used it in Altezza with no problems,no knocking,economy is quite good but feel a bit sluggish...thats all...

so guys, any conclusion on dis?

which brand give extra power wif ron95..?
by september, dun think everyone can afford to fill in ron97 for daily use..it's price hike up 20cent..

last resort hv to fill in ron95 la...so,which 1 give more power n durability...

Caltex?
Esso?
Shell?
Petronas?
BHP?

make up a conclusion, then we can driving in smile... hehehe.. :)

cheers..