how to build a small cc, high revving engine?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all,
i have one spare engine
its my old engine

i thinking of rebuilding it.. (myself.. hopefully)
restore to good condition
then make it able to rev high high
( i think of past 10k rpm... must be very cool)...

the engine is old datsun 1200cc engine
8v, OHV
( i saw some japanese modify it to rev that high
but not much information obtained)

so.. what tools i need..?
(for now i only have a set of spana, and some screw drivers,
torque wrench needed?)

and what to be modified?

compression ration need to be higher or lower?
cam?
the biggest disadvantage is pushrod.
how to ensure those rod dun brake at high rpm?
what else need to be change
so it can be rev high high

hope sifu can help me
so i can start planing.. :D

V8_nutter

sam1741 said:
hi all,
i have one spare engine
its my old engine

i thinking of rebuilding it.. (myself.. hopefully)
restore to good condition
then make it able to rev high high
( i think of past 10k rpm... must be very cool)...

the engine is old datsun 1200cc engine
8v, OHV
( i saw some japanese modify it to rev that high
but not much information obtained)

so.. what tools i need..?
(for now i only have a set of spana, and some screw drivers,
torque wrench needed?)

and what to be modified?

compression ration need to be higher or lower?
cam?
the biggest disadvantage is pushrod.
how to ensure those rod dun brake at high rpm?
what else need to be change
so it can be rev high high

hope sifu can help me
so i can start planing.. :D
Bro it's impossible for your engine to rev 10,000 unless ure using forged internals (which u cannot get one). Just be realistic lar fren,,,,

boggysv

Sep 7, 2004
sorry to say..that with the questions you asked, it seems that you are not ready to build any engine yet.

SpeedWanker

IMO as u've said the limiting factor of u're engine is the push-rods..as far as i can remember check out some VW beetle tuners coz i think they might be able to custom titanium pushrods.. u'll also need higher rate valvesprings to keep the valves close at high speed, bigger valves to allow more charge in at high speed, longer duration cams, stronger and lighter con-rods, crank and pistons, higher pressure oil pump and preferbly running on a dry-sump set-up, higer rate fuel pump, more precise ingnition timing and fuel controller ie junking the carbs and distributor and the list goes on....
It would be great fun to build such an engine and kick asses but it would cost too much as malaysia has only limited resources and expertise when it comes to building high performance engines thats why most of us swap engines, its easier more reliable, cheaper and saves time..
sorry to let u down bro..

cay6379

Apr 13, 2005
i agree with u speedwanker... tats why malaysia have lots of chop chop shop lor...

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
oic.. like that....
i do agree very seldom see ppl rebuild engine here..
(but read on website seem very common in other countries)

but then swap engine so common here..

salam 1 kangkung.

i'm lemongrass farmer.my kebun are little far away from road but dont need 4x4.

every day i just harvest 2 bakul of lemongrass for several restaurants' demand

i'm planning to replace my van.there are two choice:

terrano RM 9k + sr20det h/c auto 4k +trans cost 3k=16 k

pajero l049 11k + 4d56t h/c auto 8k + trans cost 4k=23 k

my budget 20k+7k of van sale = 27 k

i hope otai's can give opinions to help me make choice.
pardon my english:proud: