Help - steering jerking problems!!

oonbc

hi guys,

got a problem with my rx8... shit...

during morning or after 4-5hrs of cool down, when i start the car and just turning the steering wheel abit to left n right (car is not moving), the steering start jerking and kinda knocking...

but after let it kinda "warm up" for few mins. its getting better n after on the road this problem didnt occour anymore. but it repeated every morning... spoil my whole day mood ah... damn..

btw, just change the engine mounting, so dont think is the mounting problem. my mechanic suspect is the steering rack or so call the steering gear n linkage failure.

1. anybody have similar problems?
2. anyone know how much is the steering rack cost?
3. any help any suggestion would be highly appreciated...

thanks...

You're the 10th person i know that has steering problem for the past 3 months.... New steering rack about 4k........ Pls send your car to Ah Choi to diagnose......

so confirm this kind of symptom is the steering rack failure?

ah choi got the rack? damn 4k... shit..

I think he's out of stock..... That's the most sought after parts at the momment...

wow.... steering failure... something new other than most people talk about Rx8's ignition coil failure and apex seal failure...

You're the 10th person i know that has steering problem for the past 3 months.... New steering rack about 4k........ Pls send your car to Ah Choi to diagnose......

hi lennon,

do you know what the 1-9th persons do about this? how they solve this?

oonbc, boony suggested the following (extracted from rx8club.com):

normally u don't straight go for a change for the steering wheel rack...

if just vibration during cold start ......

check the wiring harness and connectors 1st

you just pull the airbox out and the two connectors are staring you right in the face

One of the connectors is power for the rack itself and has two wires running through it.

The other is a 3-pin connector that carries the torque sensor data.

clean them.... check if the wires are in good condition.... if they are not.... change them lor.... still cheaper than changing the steering rack.

if all fails then only change the steeering rack....

I have yet to try this, since the first symptom was only this morning. Would probably get it checked out this weekend or something.

i will check on that too... lets see... thanks for the info...

hi lennon,

do you know what the 1-9th persons do about this? how they solve this?
Some change to brand new or 2nd hand steering rack, some change ignition coil and they feel better, some just get used to it.....

thanks lennon...

inition coil will help this? i dont think this is really related to the steering problem, maybe he already got the coil failure before... which is 2 different cases... correct me if i m wrong

what will happen if didnt do anything about this? will it get worsen or safety problems?

anyone else who face the similar problems, mind to share your experience and solutions... that would be great!

thanks lennon...

inition coil will help this? i dont think this is really related to the steering problem, maybe he already got the coil failure before... which is 2 different cases... correct me if i m wrong

what will happen if didnt do anything about this? will it get worsen or safety problems?

anyone else who face the similar problems, mind to share your experience and solutions... that would be great!
I say that is becos BMW SMG version is rather sensitive to unstable electrical current...... When the ignition weakens, it affect the fuel comsumption, lousy synchronisation with gearbox and etc.....

I'm not saying i'm right, but what does a electrical driveshaft need most for stable operation?? N why some of them found their coils are condemned while they're diagnosing for steering problem???