Help!!CF5 or Gallant GDI??

zarafrost

Well i've been beating myself over this and i still can't decide. The CF5 is a 4WD TS but not a SiR 2001/2005. The owner wants it at 80k. The other is a Mistubishi Gallant 1.8 GDI 2001/2003 and the guy wants 72k. So please advice me on the specs of each car and let me know what u guys think would be a wiser choice. I really need some help. Going to see both cars tomorrow

Based on my opinion la....

Both also not worth buying lor....

CF5 is 4wd....yet still want RM80k ??? Can get SIR already la....that one not even dohc....if not mistaken....must have very high fuel consumption on 4wd...

Galant....1.8 only woo....under power perhaps ??? But if u use it as city driving.....then....maybe it's ok gua.....

juz my 2 cents......

Thanks for your 2 cents worth. ITs worth alot believe me. But can where can i get an SiR? its hard to find one here.
Anyways will it cost much to change the GDI engine to a VR4?
Apparently the GDI packs about 160 bhp i think. Any way to make it better and faster?
The GDI i just saw. Its pretty nice but the thing is the interior was pretty plain and does not have a sound system. That will already cost me a bomb.

in line with sato... CF5 is only SOHC VTEC. but 2001 model... quite new. most of the SiR for sale are 97 98 and even 96 i think.

This CF5... from iranian embassy ke?

Hei yeah its the Iranian dude. But not going to get it anymore la. Thanks for the advice. Think i'll go with the 2.0 Galant. Can i add a Turbo on the Galant?

Yes, u can but will need to fork out a lot of cash for BOT.

the iranian has another accord... CF4 SiR... full spec with modulo bodykit. sold already ke? I wanted to buy that SiR last year but he was not selling so i got the VTS

Yeah he already sold the SiR so i can't do much anymore. Looks like i'll be getting a Galant but i really don't know which one to get la

I think u the Galant GDi u just saw is white/blue color. 1.8GDI, right?.

Anyway, both also a good car & fuel drunker.

For instance, it's much better if u can outsource a Galant with EA7A chasis (FW) or EC7A (4WD). It comes with 2.0cc DOHC. The only problem here is most of the galant is from 1.8GDI. So, nothing much can be done. with 1.4Ton car + 1.8cc which carry less torque and also 160hp at engine..susah la. To tranplant a 6A13TT 2.4cc would cost u around RM8000k at least. Halfcuts are available everywhere. Maintanance will kill u in long run as well. Other than that, superb car design.

CF5 also not bad and not that good too. Not too bad in term of design, the setback was the 4WD system & F20B SOHC. Fule drunker is the must la..due to the 4WD system it's carry. Powertain is another issue to loook after.

My suggestion, if u really keen to look for Mitsubishi Galant GDI, try to optioned for other Mitsubishi model like lancer CK ka etc. Or if u really keen to have Honda CF*, try to look for CF4..not CF5.

I seconded aja.

Mitsubishi cars are still old engine technology hence... not very economical in the long run. But, if u are an enthusiast or hardcore supporter, why not? Believe me because I've driving a E33A Super Saloon converted to VR4. Mileage is around RM 0.35 to 0.40 sen per km and spare parts are ridiciously expensive (especially rare ones).

But, I've a Mitsubishi enthusiast so, FC is not an issue. So, b4 u put down the payment, ask yourself... what are u looking for?

1. Good handling
2. Good fuel economy
3. Easy availability of spare parts
4. Status
5. Just need a car to run around

U guys seem very experienced with cars and i have gathered alot of intersting information from you guys. Well firstly, what i really want is power, But Fuel economical as well. I love the Galant because of its shape and size. Its truly unique but if i were to convert to VR4 engine, i wouldn't mind at all for 8k.

But the thing is whether i can get the VR4 that fits the new Galant? Because i heard from my cousin that they usually give the old VR4 engines and knowing the people who are trying to con us these days, i'm afraid that someone might bluff me or something.

Spare parts on the other hand i heard is cheap over at Singapore. They've told me i could get parts there for about 40% cheaper. Is that true? The guy selling the 2.0 Galant told me that it can go about 400km for RM90. Well i wouldn't mind that kind of mileage.

Oh by the way, would the 2.0 Galant be underpowered too? And aja when you said maintanence, u meant the Galant VR4 engine?

I just started to like cars so please offer me any ideas. So far all of you guys have been of great help. Thanks.

zarafrost said:
U guys seem very experienced with cars and i have gathered alot of intersting information from you guys. Well firstly, what i really want is power, But Fuel economical as well. I love the Galant because of its shape and size. Its truly unique but if i were to convert to VR4 engine, i wouldn't mind at all for 8k.

But the thing is whether i can get the VR4 that fits the new Galant? Because i heard from my cousin that they usually give the old VR4 engines and knowing the people who are trying to con us these days, i'm afraid that someone might bluff me or something.

Spare parts on the other hand i heard is cheap over at Singapore. They've told me i could get parts there for about 40% cheaper. Is that true? The guy selling the 2.0 Galant told me that it can go about 400km for RM90. Well i wouldn't mind that kind of mileage.

Oh by the way, would the 2.0 Galant be underpowered too? And aja when you said maintanence, u meant the Galant VR4 engine?

I just started to like cars so please offer me any ideas. So far all of you guys have been of great help. Thanks.

Yeah, I'm refering to it. The old2 Vr4 is based on 16 Valve which is easily maintained. Current EC7A Galant Super-VR4 6A13 Twin Turbo comes with 5 speed auto, V6 engine. the engine bay looks so cramp and just imagine it took 2 days to change the timing belt etc. FYI, i've tested drive the car previouls, really damn torquey engine. FC no need to tell la. 2.4 turbo. IN general, other than superb design & power, Galant super-VR4 is really bad on FC. In reality, we can't really compromise FC against power, right?.

bro, one CF4 SiR for sale. red color full bodykit. Diplomat car. i think i saw this car once in KL... superb

see the star

On the other hand, try to look for a good CF4..as what Faisal said. Good in the sense of non-engine & tranny failure (cause F20B tiptornic is the favourite of these failure) and physically superb condition.

As for the Galant, if u managed to get the 4G94 2.0cc Galant Viento which came with recaro enjoy, 5 MT, rear wiper as well as rear spoiler & rims, the outstanding look definitely will kill other same category GX cars including Cf4 & even Mazda6. hehehe

for CF4... models from 98 onwards seems to have less issues with EPS and tiptronic GB. try calling that guy in 'the star'... if the red CF4 is the one i saw in jalan ampang then the body is in really good shape.

for SiR if u get the semi-leather semi bucket seats, sunroof, facelifted version then it is a very good buy. the SiR that iranian had was the facelifted version with euro r lookalike headlites and taillites. ori modulo bodykit some more... arrgghhhh syiok la to go show off when u go buy fish and vege in the market heheh

Few links to Galant picss..

http://www.autodea.com/viento
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/660224

kekekeke. Anyway, semlm noticed 1 Galant 2.0 2001 also for sale. Donno which spec.

As for the diplomat CF4 for sale in theStar, wonder why the guy didn't put the price. A least can make some comparison

Cool guys. If u guys check the latest motortrader, There will be a CF4 with modulo bodykit on it. Do u think thats more worth it than the Galant 2.0?

bro, one CF4 SiR for sale. red color full bodykit. Diplomat car. i think i saw this car once in KL... superb

see the star

AMD Faisal, Well i went to see the car already. ITs a silver pink car. Very nice color but he sold it to one dude in Johor already who paid for 75k. I also heart ache when i heard at that price. Well maintained but had an accident in the rear which made the boot come up a little. Also alot of small little dents here and there. It even hit a bird and had a dent on the top hahaha!

On the other hand, try to look for a good CF4..as what Faisal said. Good in the sense of non-engine & tranny failure (cause F20B tiptornic is the favourite of these failure) and physically superb condition.

As for the Galant, if u managed to get the 4G94 2.0cc Galant Viento which came with recaro enjoy, 5 MT, rear wiper as well as rear spoiler & rims, the outstanding look definitely will kill other same category GX cars including Cf4 & even Mazda6. hehehe

Are there any of those in Malaysia? Is it the 2.0 Turbo version? hehe and what do you mean by tranny?