General talk for bank loan (Car, housing or personal loan) - True stories

izzwan.com

I'm just to share something to you guys (and ladies).
I'm 22, turning 23 soon (I don't realized I'm that old).
I'm a college dropout, and been working at Singapore since then.

During the times I worked at Singapore for 1 year and 9 months, my average income per month was like SGD 2300 (MYR 5000 ++). My total income worked for that short period was around MYR 120K. Just imagine, I'm just a youngster without any senses of managing my own money, hence I spent all the money, of course. (clubbing, eat, drink, entertainment, transportation (Singapore cab is not cheap), room rental at Singapore)

I got shocked when I make some simple calculation. I didn't know how much is my income until Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) send me my yearly income statement (reported by my company). I'm kind of regret of spending it all. But of course, I got to pay house's internet, fixed line, electricity, water, mum's insurance and giving mum's monthly expenses. The total amount I need to pay on time is around MYR 1.5K to MYR 2K.

After I've resigned from the previous job at Singapore, I'm still staying at Singapore for a while more (looking for job and relax at the same time). But eventually I came back to Malaysia and worked for some bank. I suppose to work for that bank for a year because I've signed the contract with the bank, but I break the contract and pay them MYR 2550 due to I've worked for only 6 to 8 weeks. :biggrin:

Since resigned from the bank, I'm not working for few months too until last year September, I went back to Singapore for work.

But just a few days ago when I got home from the saloon, my mum started a conversation with me. She said: "For the past 1 year and 9 months working at Singapore, I didn't not buy any car nor house. Spending all the money without any saving blah blah blah blah... No matter how smart you are, no matter how great is your thinking, you're still nothing when you didn't work out with your plan blah blah blah blah"

Then I sit straight and looked back at my mum and said: "Mum, can you please put down the newspaper and listen to me first?"

She was quite nervous yet calm, after putting her newspaper aside, she asked: "What is it?"

I started my talk. "Do you have any ideas of what am I thinking exactly, seriously? Do you know the reason why I didn't want to buy any car at the moment? (As my mum keep nagging on me, asked me to buy my own car to work. As currently my car (loaned by my brother) was spoilt - for sale at ZTH too. :biggrin: So my mum had to fetch me everyday)

My talks continued with: "Do you have any ideas of what's going now? Do you have any idea how much money I have to pay every month? Do you really know how to calculate? Did you ever think?

For example: If I am going to buy a car, that's what we call liabilities. It's not going to generate any money for me, but it depreciate every year, every month, everyday, every single minute. It cost more than what the banker calculate for you.

If I am going to buy a used 2nd generation Toyota Vios, it would cost me around MYR 55-60K (KL, Selangor) or MYR 60-70K (Johore).

So let's do some basic calculation:
Price of the used 2nd generation Toyota Vios: MYR 65K.

Down-payment: MYR 5K.
Bank loan: MYR 60K.

Make the interest rate at 4% per year.
So MYR 60K x 4% year, that's MYR 2400 per year.

If I wanted to pay my car loan with the maximum years I could get, that's 9 years.
So please use that MYR 2400 x 9 years (as interest for car loan is fixed).
And you will get MYR 21600, now that's the interest of your MYR 60K for 9 years.

Total up together, MYR 81600 divides 108 months (9 years).
Every month I need to pay MYR 755.55.

Seems to be a great deal? No, it's not.
Paying the car loan of MYR 755.55 from average salary of MYR 5-7K seems acceptable.
But please do not forget that you also need to pay for road tax, car insurance, petrol, toll fee, servicing fee and so on.

According to my friends who worked as Salesman for automotive, the value of car depreciate at least MYR 5K per year. But of course, depending on the car brand, model, CC, years, mileage etc.

So I told my mum, since our house already have 4 cars, I think it's more than enough. If taking me to the checkpoint everyday is a pain for you, I would rather wake up earlier and took the bus. I do not want to follow the footstep of all my brothers, paying a car loan every month end up there's no money in the wallet. I prefer assets more than liabilities.

My eldest brother recently purchased a house which cost him MYR 330K. Let's do another simple calculation. The Basic Lending Rate (BLR) for housing loan currently is at 4%. If my brother take up the loan of MYR 300K with BLR 4% per year, and loan up to 30 years. Hmm..

MYR 300K x 4% year: That's MYR 12K per year.
Now MYR 12K per year x 30 years: That's MYR 360K of interest for 30 years!

Please note that MYR 360K is only for the interest, please add up the principal MYR 300K of your housing loan. Which end up the total you need to pay back is MYR 660K.

So MYR 660K divides by 360 months (30 years): MYR 1833.33 per month.
But sorry, for 30 years? I didn't dare to think of paying any loan when I'm 60 years old.

After explained so much to my mum, I asked her: "So do you know the reason why I didn't make any purchase right now? If tomorrow someone from our family need cash MYR 10K to MYR 30K, are you able to fork out for me? Or any of our family member (I only have 2 elder brothers by the way) could fork it out?

My mum tears started to rolling down her cheek, she replied: "Do you think it's easy for a women like me to raise up 3 kids alone? Do you think I wanted to have such a poor life?"

I smiled and said: "Mum, I'm not saying raising us alone is easy, that's why we wanted you to enjoy your life now. So do not worry about anything. All you need to do is enjoy life. Comparing to your income which is at 13 years ago, MYR 1.5-2K per month for a family of 4 (3 kids studying), is struggling. Now all your kids have grown up, what is it you need to worry? I seriously feels that our household income are better now. (of course, 2 sons currently working at oversea, soon will be 3 sons together working oversea).

The life is not going to be easy for us, I hope everyone read more, learn more, explore more in our daily life.

Let's say, if you're a youngster (doesn't matter whether you're a college dropout or SPM holder), do spend your money wisely. Do not spend your MYR 50K for your new Honda Civic FD2 as down-payment, use it to get assets instead (house, shop, businesses).

My dear brother (from ZTH), if you're reading this, you could actually pay up your 30 years housing loan in just 5 years. But of course, you have to behave yourself. Do not go for drink every month! :thefinger:

Okay, time to go bath and work.
Rushing for 9.30AM buses to Singapore (I'm not longer staying there because need to save up!) :listen:

Well, wat u said is true abt car's value depreciation, but it may be quite a hassle if u dun have 1..Yes, public transports are there for us to use but still driving is more convenient..I think most of us are not paying 1/3 of our salaries for car installments so it's still affordable in the end..For those who can afford cars worth more than 100k, they prolly would have already bought a hse, nobody is so crazy to spend on a car till he can't afford a shelter for himself, or is there any out there?..hehe..Ppl like me who strive to work hard so dat i might be able to own my dream car someday which also serves as a motivation for me..IMO, as long as we plan our spending wisely, it shud be alright to buy/mod the car, after all, all work and no play makes dull life..haha

Agree with you ehdrian...we buy car as per ourabilities, if notthere will be a lot of feraris on the street....

Nicewriting izzwan, but i think it is just a nce writing but not practical, not owning a car and house because dont want to pay loan? Haha wake up we are not i mean i am not a prince we everythng is prepared, car, food, house....that is a normal for normal income people to get loans to buy houses or cars...

Izzwan forgive me, i think u are just good at writing and to justify your lifestyle but the point is empty, meaningless, dont buy car, ask mom to send and pick up from work...ohh mom dont want to send, wake up early and take bus...well you should really take public transport at the first place rather than disturbing your mom with your own theory of lif

I am totally agree with you, car is liabilities, BUT it is for our own use to move around....but when you arguing about houses....hmmmmm

Whatever it is good luck with your theory, believe, financial management and your lifestyle

Agree with you ehdrian...we buy car as per ourabilities, if notthere will be a lot of feraris on the street....

Nicewriting izzwan, but i think it is just a nce writing but not practical, not owning a car and house because dont want to pay loan? Haha wake up we are not i mean i am not a prince we everythng is prepared, car, food, house....that is a normal for normal income people to get loans to buy houses or cars...

Izzwan forgive me, i think u are just good at writing and to justify your lifestyle but the point is empty, meaningless, dont buy car, ask mom to send and pick up from work...ohh mom dont want to send, wake up early and take bus...well you should really take public transport at the first place rather than disturbing your mom with your own theory of lif

I am totally agree with you, car is liabilities, BUT it is for our own use to move around....but when you arguing about houses....hmmmmm

Whatever it is good luck with your theory, believe, financial management and your lifestyle

Don't get me wrong boss. My point is, do you know who is the big players behind us making a lot of money? There is car for me to use, but I need to get it repaired first before I could drive it again.

I've seen so much big player (multi-millionaire etc), controlling the market.
Now it's clear that:

The bank will give you a loan ONLY when you're able to prove them you don't need it. :biggrin:
The longer term you choose to pay back your loan, the more interest you need to pay. :thefinger:

We are not prince or what la... But gotta think twice before spending. Spending wisely, plan the spending etc.

Just to ask, how much could a fresh graduate could earn at Johore? MYR 1.5K? MYR1.8K? How much times do you need to get your first car and house?

What I mean is (especially for youngster) please make the right choice, your first MYR 10K - MYR 30K is the down-payment for your new car or your new house? :wavey:

Nobody seriously give a damn on you when you're driving a big car yet struggling to pay the car loan.
A normal and good car will do, as long can take you from destination A to B. As I agree with everyone, the public transport system is terrible.

...we buy car as per our abilities...
Yeah, this message is for everyone, especially those peoples with over-spending habit. :biggrin:

Here is a video to share with you guys:
How to get rich - Basic theory

Do you guys know that all of us are entitled to buy ONE low-cost budget house (in malay, known as "rumah rakyat"). It cost merely MYR 20K to MYR 40K. Once you got one of these house, you can actually rent out the house and collect rental (provided the area is good etc). When they are actually paying you monthly rental, they are actually helping you paying your house loan. And from there, you could generate more money with it since someone else is paying your housing loan. Repeating doing these steps, you could drive your dream car one day.

I don't know why I love to calculate value, cost, interest etc.
Maybe because I've been working in the retail line for a few years, with a few months working at the bank. :biggrin:

For example: A brand new Nokia E72 (of course, nobody getting this crap anymore) is selling at SGD 469 right now. When it's firstly launch it's Recommended Retail Price (RRP) is SGD 769. After 2 years this mobile being launched, I could get it (used set, 90% new) at as low as SGD 50? Yeah, sounds unbelievable.

New stuff is always expensive, tricks being used to get people to buy.
It's all about marketing and the packaging of the products.

A same taste of coffee could get from Mamak shop cost you MYR 1.50, yet Starbucks can sell it to you at MYR 11.50? Of course, their ambient is nice and classic, and that's the reason they are able to get you to pay that price.

But after all, that was my personal point of view, I hope no one is offended here.
Enjoy life while you still able to do so. :rofl:

i pay cash for all of my cars, and when i buy things, i dont plan to resell any of them, so depreciation isnt an issue

very well said but honestly speaking it does not apply in our country especially in klang valley.
few concerns we need to look into,
- what if our parents not having own house and cars, we still not buying it?
- loan from bank is logic to evaluate based on our income and capability on repayment, they are doing business too
- we borrow money from ppl or bank, we have to pay interest, that is common
- we work, we save money and don simply spend on unnecessary, and not buying cars, not buying house, end of the day....where do we stay? public transport all the way until we get old?

in our country, we work and live ...to enable we to live, we have to spend, spend on food, transportation, accomodations & clothings, these are basic necessity....i appreciate and totally agreed with yr last phrase on not spending on entertainment bla bla bla and can repay our loan faster with the money we saved.

why dont we look at buying house as an investment....buying car as mean of transportation, to carry us from point A to point B, making us able to travel and make a living, not reaching late to work, sending children to school, bring wife/gf for outing etc...also to motivates us to earn more to make ends meet.

just my 2cents...if it doesnt make sense...ignore me...:)

srsly, with our kinda salaries.... we are not able to save anything actually.

maybe just enuf for 2 black dogs per month.

rumah rakyat only 4 2k house income only....need 2 register with suk....hav to interviewed....if u know any lubang 2 buy easyly plez let me know....

buy kapchai.. save up.. and buy car with cash.. no interest.. that my plan rite now..

what for yr million saving when ur OLD..so spend more save less...hehe:biggrin:

i pay cash for all of my cars, and when i buy things, i dont plan to resell any of them, so depreciation isnt an issue

Nice! But only a few people able to do this. And you're might in that 1% of the wealthiest man ranking (as shown at the video).

very well said but honestly speaking it does not apply in our country especially in klang valley.
few concerns we need to look into,
- what if our parents not having own house and cars, we still not buying it?
- loan from bank is logic to evaluate based on our income and capability on repayment, they are doing business too
- we borrow money from ppl or bank, we have to pay interest, that is common
- we work, we save money and don simply spend on unnecessary, and not buying cars, not buying house, end of the day....where do we stay? public transport all the way until we get old?

in our country, we work and live ...to enable we to live, we have to spend, spend on food, transportation, accomodations & clothings, these are basic necessity....i appreciate and totally agreed with yr last phrase on not spending on entertainment bla bla bla and can repay our loan faster with the money we saved.

why dont we look at buying house as an investment....buying car as mean of transportation, to carry us from point A to point B, making us able to travel and make a living, not reaching late to work, sending children to school, bring wife/gf for outing etc...also to motivates us to earn more to make ends meet.

just my 2cents...if it doesnt make sense...ignore me...:)

Maybe I'm lucky enough because I got two elder brother and both of them already brought the cars, eldest brother also brought a new house recently. That's why maybe this post is for those youngest in the family. :biggrin: Just kidding.

Of course, if our parent doesn't have any house or car, we should buy it, then no choice, we got to take up the bank loan. Need to pay the interest as they are also doing businesses as well. I'm just thinking, why there isn't any better way to give Malaysian to settle all this loan within the shortest timeframe with the lowest interest rate? Sometimes I don't feel really good. The rich get richer, while the poor get poorer. :banghead:

I totally agree with you, house as investment, car as transportation, food as necessity.
Maybe I stay too much at Singapore. At Singapore, while you step out from your house, you're able to take public transport. What is the common transport at Singapore, MRT (Train) and buses. You can also get cab, but it's not going to be cheap.

At Singapore, you may survive without a car.
At Malaysia, you may die without a car. :banghead:

But of course, let's don't forget that Singapore got ERP, parking fee etc. Before able to purchase a car at Singapore, you need to spend around SGD 50 - 70K just to buy a cert named "COE". :banghead::banghead:

srsly, with our kinda salaries.... we are not able to save anything actually.

maybe just enuf for 2 black dogs per month.
I hope you able to meet some peoples and get a better pay job soon. Good luck in that bro! :listen:

rumah rakyat only 4 2k house income only....need 2 register with suk....hav to interviewed....if u know any lubang 2 buy easyly plez let me know....
There is a few I saw which is being auctioned by the bank. Do check with your bank nearby. :biggrin:

what for yr million saving when ur OLD..so spend more save less...hehe:biggrin:
I would rather give the money to my son, my grandson. :biggrin: I don't want they have a poor life as me. Even thought there is a saying "Wealth does not pass 3rd generation". Meaning that, when you're the founder of some company, while your son take over your company, your son take good care of it. But when it passed to your grandson, they spend it all away like a spoilt brat. :banghead:

A nice quote by Warren Buffett.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/432346_10150636784442146_241166897145_11350491_385286501_n.jpg

bank for rich ppl,ah long for poor or medium class ppl...it is true...during apply cc,banker ask lot of paper..no paper no cc...berlagak also that banker who work in high class bank hsbc/citi bla..many more other bank..

normal for medium or poor ppl working just for living,pay installment of house,room rent and car...after pay all,just leave few hundred in wallet for 30day...how can?doin extra job is way to get out from problem...no poor ppl just lazy ppl outside who always complaint lot but refuse doin something improve their life living..blame anyone includin parent,govt...think again..u should earn self,no ppl give u bro..no jealous about ur other rich friend,they r enough lucky born in rich family but u r not...
so....how?working lah..

Dear izzwan.com,

I think you miss out something here.

Yes, buying a car is a liability and it depreciates a lot down the road. You are lucky to have work in SG where their public transportation is efficient compare to Malaysia.

But...

Have you ever consider this...

Don't you want to have some pride in yourself by showing to your family that you can earn and pay for your own car and house? don't you want to make your mom proud one day, you say to her, "Mom, let's go for a holiday, ill drive us with my car" or "hey mom, it's the weekend, why don't you stay over at my house?".

and have you ever thought of yourself 5 - 10 years from now when you are going to get married & probably have a kid of your own, only then you will want to buy a house & a car?

I am not scaring you or what but it is the reality some of us are going through in life at the moment. I had the same principle as you do when i was younger but luckily I got a smack in the head by my gf-turn-wife a couple of years ago.

You might think monthly commitment is a burden to pay for car and house but trust me, nothing beats the feeling of taking your loved ones on a ride of your own, paid by your own hard earn money.

:rolleyes:

imho, i agree on your view regarding value and liability of owning cars, but not on house. so if the rest of your siblings have the same thought as yours, then all of you would crammed up living in your parents house along with their wife and kids, how is that? you are only stating things according to what your seeing and having, cos you are still single and not much commitment. i applaud your motion in having backups for rainy season, but you have to understand all parents would also want to see their kid having their own properties for their own future needs.

on your mum nagging you to have a car - perhaps is for you to get used paying your own debts, and when you are already comfortable/stable in paying your monthly car loan, you can proceed with saving money for next bigger agenda, say buying a house or even marriage.

or should i say in harsh way - your mum is hinting so that you to go move out and buy your own house and be independent? lol, just joking bro.:biggrin::rofl:

You're still below 28, no pressure to get married yet, so now it's time to save as much as you can... is riding a motorbike (EX5) a possibility?.... it will have saved you ALOT when you do your budgeting at the end of the year.

Try a raincoat/jacket + EX5 for a year and see....and try to limit your 'social' outings to once a month or less if possible.

izwan, curious bro, the bank u mentioned u resigned from @ johore is it Citi?

and where in SG are u working ?

The rich get richer, while the poor get poorer

Not agreeable...Wealth is abundance and bountiful. GOD give us BRAIN to think and explore all HIS treasures. Please remember that all in this world we just borrow from him.. Its not ours...My family came from poor ppl and yet Alhamdulillah we are ok..so far I can own luxurious goods and all in CASH...Its how you manage you financial and how you handle yourself!..

If you dare to change, all will change..For thing to change, YOU must change first..

Take my word bro..I BELIEVE I ACHIEVED!

Just my 2cents...:wavey: