gear box problem?help

picks

just got my car for few weeks, and i notice that the car's temperature is real high, it's hot on its surrounding outside the car, and i understood that a turbo car is used to like that. the only thing is even inside the car, the area around gearbox getting heated up quite seriously, well, maybe i'm just over reacting, but the compartments close to it and side of seats (both) near to that area gets heated up too, is this normal??? any clues? suggestions? :confused_smile:

Picks, yeah, what car r u driving?
If it’s a GTR, then its normally kinda hot around the gear & pedals area, almost all the time, but not too hot. It only gets very hot either:
i) when driving real hard at high rpms for long periods, or
ii) when idle for long periods when there isn’t enough cooling air thru the radiator, intercooler, etc
Which is why ive resorted to ceramic coating all my exhaust side of the pipes pre and post turbo, dunno if it will help much, but giving it a try! And also vented bonnet.. :P

But how hot, is too hot, is another question. Maybe meet up with another owner to compare would be the best.

Is it hot even after the coating?

Do you get the same issue in an SR20?

thanks so much for the explaination, russ,
mine is a vspec, fully original, even exhaust,
guess the first explaination there answer my question, been shaking and asking around frens who driving turbos but none of them is driving gtr, so, not a clue, couldn't compare and figure might get some help here, it does :) unfortunately, rarely get the chance to meet another owner to compare it,

the hotness is not to the extend of unable to hold the gear knob, even driving short distance (less than 15 minutes, without revving it) , becomes warm as well, only surrounding, not the knob,

and there's another strange sound i encounter when stopping engine, there's this 'klak' klak' sound come out, not sure where is it from, anyone got a clue wat it might be? almost like something rotating or vibrating comes to a stop and making that sound.

so much to learn bout it,

i got experience it for my car too, but only when hard drive n hot day driving.Nt so hot but can feel warmy. Aftr changing the front pipe,the hot more obvious coz last time the original is cover wth external fiber.
Btr do coating n fiber wrapping ur front pipe.It does help n reduce ur gearbox oil temp also.

i think u still using the original turbo wth exhaust housing cover...the sound comes from there becoz hot.Probably,try check n hear.

cool, attended great lesson today! though this must be the most basic 1, :)
continue learning,

will check it out quick, thanks guys, chill me down a lot,

Picks, congrats on your new ride!
Just a few months ago you were here asking opinions about the R34GTR, and we now have yet another GTR owner in the family.. an R34 GTR is something to be proud of, try not to worry so much and trust the car.. hehehe. Sounds like me when I first got my car.. worried about many things… the signs of someone who cares about his car! :) The clicking after the engine has stopped is normal, you will find a few clicking sounds, relay sounds, valve & fan sounds, every now and again when engine is on/off...but to be safe; its best get to know a good performance car mechanic, for general servicing (prevention is better than cure), and he can run you thru the basics and answer all your little (but important) questions. :)
Also, where is your location? You should meet up with other skyline owners from our club, a few GTT owners also know more about GTRs than GTR owners!
The only thing I would recommend, (if there isn’t one already) is that if your skyline is stock standard, get a turbo timer to make sure the engine idles for a good few minutes, so the turbo’s have time to cool down with the air flow, so you don’t get over-heating oil in your turbine after a ‘spirited’ drive at high RPMs!

Did you get the Midnight Purple on in the end?
Once again, enjoy your ride!

thanks russ!
and yes, midnight purple it is, kindda attracted, which suit my requirement, a super standard gtr without any mod,
still shaking with all the question mark days ago, now is a bit relief, thanks ya.
getting timer fixed on this weekend, any good suggestions? as i know, timers are all the same, as long they serve the purpose, as mentioned by russ, (correct me please, rookie here:) )
i'm in teluk intan, rarely go to kl, so, if possible, why not, it would be great meeting up the others, :) and 1 more thing, kindda terrified by the news my fren told me, his car just got broke in. in his house,heard a lot bout this. so, think kl would be a 1 day trip for me in my ride for the mean time, :0
know any good mechanic in ipoh? coz, kl is kindda far from my place for servicing, anyhow, without choice, will have to go too, but i'm sure there will be, coz i heard there is quite a number of gtr in ipoh too.

cheers all gtr mates! it's a great ride!

thanks so much for the explaination, russ,
mine is a vspec, fully original, even exhaust,
guess the first explaination there answer my question, been shaking and asking around frens who driving turbos but none of them is driving gtr, so, not a clue, couldn't compare and figure might get some help here, it does :) unfortunately, rarely get the chance to meet another owner to compare it,

the hotness is not to the extend of unable to hold the gear knob, even driving short distance (less than 15 minutes, without revving it) , becomes warm as well, only surrounding, not the knob,

and there's another strange sound i encounter when stopping engine, there's this 'klak' klak' sound come out, not sure where is it from, anyone got a clue wat it might be? almost like something rotating or vibrating comes to a stop and making that sound.

so much to learn bout it,

The rattling sound that you hear the moment you shut your engine down is probably from the flywheel/clutch, it has something to do with the stock dual-mass flywheel....it gets worse when you use aftermarket clutch.

I suppose noise/heat is something you have to live with when driving a GTR:confused_smile: , mine goes buzzing, squeaking, popping, bangging, hissing, rattling all day long...:baring_teeth: Anyway, enjoy your R34......its a great car!!!!

thanks again for your great opinion, nomexx,
been discussing about it and thought it might be clutch too, when gear shifting don't feel smooth as it does on my wira, (maybe that's the diff between great car and car :), no hard feeling ok, wira is a good car too, less worries and goes easy on my wallet :) )
noticing some other noises as well, hah.. but i'm chilled now, at least it's not so abnormal, though still must pay attention to it, prevention is better than cure and it is indeed.

thanks again for your great opinion, nomexx,
been discussing about it and thought it might be clutch too, when gear shifting don't feel smooth as it does on my wira, (maybe that's the diff between great car and car :), no hard feeling ok, wira is a good car too, less worries and goes easy on my wallet :) )
noticing some other noises as well, hah.. but i'm chilled now, at least it's not so abnormal, though still must pay attention to it, prevention is better than cure and it is indeed.

The Getrag 6-Speed on the 34 should be quite good....check you oil or oil grade, worn gearbox usually means poor shift quality from 2nd to 3rd and from 4th to 5th....If you got your car used, check if its got a quick shifter fitted or worn shift collar...

got my car checkeked yesterday and result is that gear box is fine, but the heat is kindda excessive, due to the disappearance of heat insulator in the gear box, ??????????how could this be possible????????????or does it really have heat insulator??? if yes, is there something i can do about it?? coz the mechanic says not possible to find 1 for replacement.anyone got an idea? :(

do...w..w.....nnnnn

and here's a link to share, no sure if u guys have seen this before, the perfect 'recarnation'!
http://www.yokoban.net/yokobanstyle200511bnr34.htm

know any good mechanic in ipoh? coz, kl is kindda far from my place for servicing, anyhow, without choice, will have to go too, but i'm sure there will be, coz i heard there is quite a number of gtr in ipoh too.

cheers all gtr mates! it's a great ride!

Yup, there are a few 33 and 34's GTR in Ipoh ... They were once known as the 1,3 and 8 based on the last digit on their plate. There may be 2 more 34's on the way up here.

I know of at least 2 mechs in Ipoh that have worked on Skyline's, Supra's, Evo's etc ... If you are interested, I could point you to one which I know of personally.

got my car checkeked yesterday and result is that gear box is fine, but the heat is kindda excessive, due to the disappearance of heat insulator in the gear box, ??????????how could this be possible????????????or does it really have heat insulator??? if yes, is there something i can do about it?? coz the mechanic says not possible to find 1 for replacement.anyone got an idea? :(

do...w..w.....nnnnn

and here's a link to share, no sure if u guys have seen this before, the perfect 'recarnation'!
™Ž©“®ŽÔC— on Web™@Ž©“®ŽÔC—‚Ìî•ñƒTƒCƒg@yokoban style 2005.12 BNR34 Skyline GT-R@

I dun think there are any heat insulation on/around the gearbox....but you can always get some of those Thermo-Tec adhesive heat barrier installed above your gearbox and bulkhead (http://www.thermotec.com/full.php) , you might also want to do a heat wrap on your manifold/frontpipe to cool things down a bit.

Personally, I think the heat problem comes from the engine bay rather than the gearbox. And also, if you take a look at the aircon condenser/compressor, you'll notice how small they are:mad: GTRs are well known for having the worst aircons....I can never survive more than 15mins in my car in the afternoon heat if the A/C fan is turned on to the lowest fan speed, even at crusing speed.

Hey guys,

if it is heat you want to keep out of the cabin, then i would recommend a good thermal insulator. If it is indeed engine heat then you can quite easily install some form of thermal insulator on the firewall to stop that heat from coming into the cabin. I actually have a very good solution, but it's rather expensive. It's called aerogel and works like no other material, and is bloody lightweight too.... interested? Let me know...

hi zephuros, surely have the interest to block all the heat from coming in, anyhow it's not such a big deal, but, got other stuff to the car in mind, so, no budget for that yet, :)
and it's true about the aircond, i was actually starting to suspect my gas was almost finished, now that u mention it, kindda explain it all, heh..
thanks for the suggestions guys!

cheers!

Hi picks...I would strongly not recommend using brush-on or aerosol (spray type) insulation products as they some how have the tendency to absorb and retain moisture which causes rust..

I would recommend dealing with it via using heat deflector plates or adhesive heat insulation tape..

correct... i agree... .no spray on stuf especially polyurethane foam. Here's a heads up.... Polyurethane foam is also known as polyisocyanurate... and as the name suggests, cyanide is a by product of the material when burned. Also, polyurethane or polyisocyanurate (PIR) cannot handle temperatures over 180 deg C, else it WILL burn. Using it to stiffen up a chassis is ok, but again, due to it's open-cell nature it will absorb moisture over time and that will lead to corrosion... this is the same stuff that makes insulated pipes rust. There have been instances where trapped water vapour in polyurethane yields pH levels of around 4, which is highly acidic and causes leaching and corrosion on the metal it is adhered to. So, forget sprayed on PU/PIR. :)

Also be careful with sound deadening insulation such as elastomeric foams. Altough these materials do well in keeping noise and heat out, they do absorb moisture. There are only 2 products out there that will not absorb moisture over extended periods of time and they're called K Flex and Armaflex. Stay away from the other cheap elastomeric foams. EVA foams are also bad... these are what most audio installers will try and sell you...

Sorry to hijack thread,
Russ : Are you still in overseas now ? wondering if you would be coming for the next TT session.