Fiat Bravo 1.6 auto

thefryingfox

Jun 27, 2005
KL
My mom is thinking of getting a used unit for her usage
currently she drives a '91 Proton Saga Megavalve and she wants something conti-ish

So i suggested her the bravo. the reason is i too am in love with this machine. the looks from the back is simply astonishing and i've researched around and i've found many selling it around 38k onwards

heres my question as im new to ZTH
1)how is the fuel consumption like?
2)Are spareparts expensive?
3) what to look out for when purchasing a 2nd hand fiat bravo

the particular model that im looking for is the 1.6
i've seen a 1.8gt for 50k which i think is not much of a hoohaa especially if my mom is driving it. she goes around 100-120kmh max and does not need the extra power

so any sifu here got any idea or have owned a unit and willing to share some valueble insight with me?

thanks again

subsonique

1,000 RPM
Nov 17, 2003
Flashpoint
thefrying fox, first off, there is no auto transmission for Bravos, be it the 1.8GT or the 1.6SX. but there is auto trans for Brava, the 5 door version. i am driving the 1.8GT, white color Bravo. i am letting go off mine at RM42k, all in. you can check out more at www.italiaauto.com as that is where all the Italian car fanatics reside. i am the commitee there too. but to answer your question.

1. fuel consumption? well, it depends on your right foot. the heavier it gets, the lower the mileage, thus higher the consumption. this goes to all other cars as well. but at 80km/h, you can save a lot, even 100km/h. town driving, lotsa gas used, highways the best.
2. spare parts, definitely more expnesive than Proton. why? because it is imported from Italy, as standard OEM parts are by Magnetti Marelli, Valeo, Brembo, Bosch, Weber, Bendix and lot others. but it will not kill you, if you found yourself a good well taken care of Bravo. and parts last lot longer too.