feel regret or proud...??

CrankShaft said:
people say if your timing belts breaks for 4G91 engine you dont even have to overhaoul your engine...how far is this statement true?

yes.....if u know it oledi broken....dun start it...if u start.....gone....

if u din start after d engine die.....then juz replace it...setlled

1. I enjoy the engineering aspect of Car engine modding. Purposely took up Part-time Auto engineering course just to learn more about engine and cars.

2. Get to meet more friends who share similar passion.

3. By biggest regret is that I did not meet and mix around with the right people and friends when I started to modify cars back in early nineties. If I did, I would'nt have wasted so much money on lame ass gadgets and Rice Beng bodykits.

Most regret ah....Eh when bolted turbo already that time fel very shiok..
tekan tekan....boost boost.....Psssst Psssst then Kaboom Kaboom...blow my Unser's engine.
But after that....changed engine still back to Boost boost....Tekan tekan....Psst Pssst...Damn shiok....Now the car is still fine...

Never regreted when I mod my 206..very happy with it...My lovely and sexy Lou Po Zai...

regret buy HKS boost meter las two week....coz suppose wanna buy sard or apexi el but cannot find...but now can find but so bad...i oledi bought hks....but hks oso not bad.....loves it too

frcgrey said:
hi to all,
i think this topic is suitable in this CAR TALK forum.
i'd like to know you guys are you never regret or proud after your modification?
or you're damn regret after modification??
tell us your experience and your advice...
i think we will learn a lot from your experience.
other than that,you guys also can give some advice to all drivers in here...
i hope you guys will enjoy in this topic.
CHEERS....! :D

Based on my own experience on 'Mod' on a few cars, I think that :

Firstly, I think that one should consider budget (preferly your own $), purpose, the issue of it's appropriate to his/her lifestlye or not.

Then one should do enough research before buying any parts / mod(s) such as it's durability(quality),serviability,warranty, other people's experience and performance.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For example :

BUDGET : If you only have RM1,000. You should think about budget / the money spend. Just in case you need money for other things in life (e.g. savings) or when you want to buy other / many parts at once.

PURPOSE : If the mod is for looks , then just say you go and lowered your car but make sure it doesn't create problem in the long run; such as some cars that 'potong' their spring then it may be causing the bottom of the car,skirting or arch to scrap against the tyre / floor. Then you might consider to buying a very good suspension kit in this sense.

APPROPRIATE : If a person just want to use the car for daily use and to fetch family/ppl around and so then in my personal opinion, maybe one can considered not to lowered the car too much, don't need to 'boost' 2 high due to fuel consumption and all or even getting a 4-door car.

Etc :
Other element include : durability(quality),serviability (some product can't be serviced ) ,warranty, other people's experience and performance wise.

TX.
Just my 2 cents. Ya.

my regret is when i bought a 'so called' 1st batch ecu for my sgti when i 1st got my car...
then after install a few days...only i realised there is no diff...i think? cos both oso MMC ecu...
not that i regret...just felt that i become another idiot...till now i oso donno whether it makes a diff...my gut feeling is that it does not....
but it doesnt matter...consider a lesson...
the happier side...well i feel proud everytime i bring my 'son' along to everywhere...sometimes i can even stand in front of my porch...stare at it...so handsome...or just wipe here wope there a bit...jus love my son so much.... :D

Anyway I regret to MODD because it:

1) was my parents money. Back then I was naive, spoilt and unappreciative. With my own money the satisfaction and value is much more (10x times ) fulfilling.

2) is almost RM 25 K spent. (total - for my civic, wira and my current car). I should've kept the money for other things(s) in life such as my 'needs' / 'rainy days'. (which I'm doing now).

I was proud of:

1) the nice looks, performance at point and etc.

2) the experience,fulfillment and satisfaction from 'modding' air-filter (HKS to Simota), Exhaust (Apexi to Rimus), 'mod' on seats / interior, repaint, suspension kit (s) to bodykit. Experiencing 'Sparco','Hotbits' to 'Koni'.

.... Now I love my car inside-out, much more appreciative as money is hard to earned and values in life is clear, plus I take much more responsibility on my car now since I'm independent in a way now.

TX.
Just my 2 cents. Again.

regreted to buy cheap skate things ended until buyin branded stuff back
Always choose the appropriate item but not depend how cheap or expensive it is

once u started mod one thing
there will be other things need to be mod to compensate...

it just like a neverending story.. :(
just keeps on diggin n diggin deeply into your wallet..

like they all said, it really depends on individual.

you have different priorities when modding for shows or just plain modding. You never actually regret a show car, only experiencing a lot of frustration and anger. :D

but plain modding, or modding for modding's sake, is the one that might go horribly wrong. You just add stuffs as you go along, never actually having an overall theme; or not one that's clearly defined and you'll stick to.

my car still has some time to get to MK1, so I can't really relate to this 1st hand. what I can say is that I'm quite frustrated and angry about the delays and botch jobs. :D

what i think is simple, modified to what i really need then will never regret. car is my partner..never give my partner lose face this is my concept.

so far no proud feeling... :) coz everybody also can get what i mod to my car...

regret or proud..?

one things for sure: kena block by jpj/polis that time all regret like hell..

da only regret i had was taking off my yellow bilstein shocks :( :( :(

no more lowered, back to stock shocks n springs... ugly n handling suffer a bit! though no more scrape parking ramps liao n dun hav to slow down on speed humps.... just whack only ;)