Evo Tyres & Allignment Talks

aja

Just to gather some infos here lah..

1. Anyone know the best kedai do allignment for our 4WD?
2. The best 235/45/17 tyres or size?.

Tq

there is one shop in Sunway Mas that does quite a good job!!! few of our members tried as well... my self also been there.. good job there!!!

by the way "sunway mas" is not in SUNWAY!!!!! it's near Bandar Utama and tropicana!!

if u coming from Sprint (Bangsar past Eastin on your left) to BU, going up the Sony/KBU overhead bridge; instead of turning right to BU, make a left and go all the towards the end and the road will curve to right. Once you at the traffic light (which takes damn long) you are already in Sunway Mas.

But i don't know which shop u guys are talking about :)

aja,

for tyres, depends what you are after; my preference:
all rounder - Yokohama AD07
better aqua planning but less on dry - Toyo T1R
very good on dry but poor on wet - Toyo 888
i heard about others like Falken RT615 and etc but yet to try. Been on AD07 twice.

Me currently still using the ST115 Fulcan Azenis. Very Best on wet but big suck on dry highspeeding. The tyres seems like 'lost control' during 217kmh -220kmh speed...floating like hell.

Might outsource for Yoko lah. BTW, did anyone here running on Yokohama C-Drive?. Me been using with my Accord Euro..so far superb in wet and high speeding driving.

it is near skyzone.........few members have been going there...pretty efficient :D

tyre wise..hmm if u like highspeed on dry better go on something dat relatively handles both.....

ad07 sux on wet....anything more than 100 is scary ( had 3 sets of it b4 )
t1r is a gud tyre on wet n dry....but cornering wise......a bit lose out as compared to ad07 ( has harder side wall )
heard the latest potenza re050 is very chunn !! :D almost all rounder :D pricing wise dunno le

oops.......hehehe then maybe falken rt615 or toyo r888....very chun tyres........:D keke

my self for daily normal driving ..the toyo t1-r is very reliable!! hehehe but not for performance or track use.

My conclusion is Azenis ST115 is really a sucks tyres on highspeeding la.

Happened again to me last few days during trip to Kedah. ishh..

If you're car is starting to 'float' while it's going in a straight line, the problem is not your tyres, so if your conclusion that

Azenis ST115 is really a sucks tyres on highspeeding la.

was derived by the car starting to wander at high speeds on a straight road, then your problem is more likely:
- worn suspension components
- improperly set-up suspension system
- or, most likely, incorrect toe settings for your front wheel alignment.

Toe-out allows for nice turn-in, but makes for a wandering front end. Get your alignment checked and you could still see some good use from your Falkens.

Hi everyone, I just bought an Evo6. The car dealer's advertisment said "New Tyres" but I just discovered only the front 2 are new Bridgestone Potenza GIII. The rear tyres are Potenza 90V but are already cracking. My mechanic told me it's time to change and he recommends Toyo T1-R (RM456 per tyre).

Is it alright to have different brands and models of tyres from the front?

wat size 225/45 or 235/45 ?

well usually u try to have 1 set same tyres all 4......diff tyres diff thread..can be a bit dangerous.......but well some ppl just love it :D

Different brand/age/size tyres on front and rear axles can potentially wear out your centre differential prematurely as it will always be trying to regulate different axle speeds.

Change all four at one go or at least get new Potenza GIII for the rear as well, though you should measure the front tyre tread depth to make sure it is close to new.

I'm using 225/45. Thanks Cannonfodder and DDgreystar. I called up a Bridgestone supplier and she told me some of her customers also use different tyres from the front and recommended me Potenza RE-001.

Does an Evo 6 have centre differential? I always thought it only has AYC. Thinking back on what Cannonfodder said, why then would my mechanic recommend Toyo? Maybe he meant I should change all tyres? Yikes!

Yeah my front Bridgestone Potenza GIII are new.

Hi everyone, I just bought an Evo6. The car dealer's advertisment said "New Tyres" but I just discovered only the front 2 are new Bridgestone Potenza GIII. The rear tyres are Potenza 90V but are already cracking. My mechanic told me it's time to change and he recommends Toyo T1-R (RM456 per tyre).

Is it alright to have different brands and models of tyres from the front?
i m using brigdestone SO-1 front and Falken FK452 rear. As long as its the same size FnR.

bernardyeo & IG,

Hi, welcome to MLOC forum!!! :_:

Tried G III on my Scooby b4... But took it out after jus 2 wks... During high speed cornering, i felt tht de rear sway outwards... Suspecting de side wall isnt strong enough!!! Then changed all 4 to Advan AD07, no such problem anymore!!! Nice n grippy on dry!!! No regret... But pricey too... :_: