Evo Tyres & Allignment Talks

Yes , agree wit S9 . Try Advan AD07 .. no regret..

S9 , I have tried during our convoy recently , very nice and grippy..

what is the right toe setting for an evo ?anyboddy can share the parameters ?
about the setting suspensions system...what is the correct ways to set it up ?

bernardyeo,

Yes, all Evos and for that matter all 4WD vehicles will have a centre diff.

The problem with using different tyre brands or even models on the front and rear axle is that they will have different wear rates; the variance is subtle but you can be sure that your differential will know it.

This doesn't mean that the diff will surely die, but it introduces unnecessary strain on it for no apparent gain. If you're using different compounds on different axles to adjust the vehicle's balance, then fair enough.

Soundstream

Stock alignment settings depends on which Evo, as they tend to change this on a car by car basis. Generally, you'll have more negative camber (-1.5) at the front and slightly less at the back (-1.0) with zero toe front and rear. This is a simple setup that will give you decent cornering grip with decent tyre wear.

If you want better turn-in, add a couple mm of toe out in front, though this will cause the nose to wander at high speeds and will also increase tyre wear.

For the rear, leave it at 0 toe, unless your AYC is kicking the rear end out under power, in which case you should toe-in the rear to reduce the severity of the AYC's intervention.

Alignment is quite specific to how you want to drive, so it's better to find out how changes in alignment affect the car's dynamics and then develop a setup that complements your style rather than just going stock. A tailored setup and a stock setup will cost you the same, so may as well get something that is better for you.

As for suspension, are you running adjustable coilovers or standard suspension? Adjustment, again, depends on what you want to do with the car and what you want the car to stop doing.

Also, it's not advisable to adjust the suspension unless you're 100% certain it's the problem. 9 out of 10 times, handling issues are usually down to driving style.

i used pilot sport before. very nice!! now using t1r.. feel abit softer n always heard the tyre sound when come to cornering but this doesnt mean its not gripping la, just got to get use to it. if got budget i would prefer pilot sport..

btw, anyone try before hankook RS2?

i used pilot sport before. very nice!! now using t1r.. feel abit softer n always heard the tyre sound when come to cornering but this doesnt mean its not gripping la, just got to get use to it. if got budget i would prefer pilot sport..

btw, anyone try before hankook RS2?
ya, pilot sport is a good street tyre. Might be trying the Hankook RS2 after next track day (two weeks), heard good reviews but no one tried yet

oonbc, how much pilot sports now ?

Just a word of cautious to all on AD07, it is really not up to expectation in wet. I've used 2 sets of AD07. No doubt is superb in dry and cornering due to it's sidewall. Dun compare with semi slicks la.

Now am trying Toyo T1-R 18" as a result of good F&F Tokyo Drift marketing phyco..haha. The sidewall cannot compare at all with AD07. As oonbc said, corner always screech all the way.

The last convoy to Genting, my car screeeech all the way. Zzz..

One of the best tyre all rounder I tried till today is GS-D3 Eagle F1. But then, is Germany made..the one sold today is mostly Thailand made without silica compound and is cheaper too.

the last time (before CNY) i checked the pilot sport is around 1k per tyre but for 18" la!!! stil bloody expensive compare to t1r :(

ben, how much is the GS-D3?

I Got Use Toyo T1-r And Ad07 Before,the Toyo Is Good In Cornering But The Tread Very Fast,around 6 Month Need To Change Tyre Aledi....
Ad07 Good In Dry Road,but Not Very Well In Wet.....the Tyre Price So Expensive...
Now My Evo8 Using Falken Fk452 235/45r17 And Bmw 5 Series E60 Front 245/40r18 St115,rear 275/35r18 Fk452....
I Try My Bmw At Hiway 240,when Rain The Tyre Very Suck Also..
So Far,this Tyre Are Very Good In Dry N Wet.....
And The Price Not Very Expensive.....

Just found this on Lancer Register:

http://www.lancerregister.com/attachment.php?postid=1407022

Just found this on Lancer Register:

http://www.lancerregister.com/attachment.php?postid=1407022

Yeap. I agreed with that also. As told by mechanic earlier, Different tyre threads % (or brand) would cause the 4WD did inaccurate reading. Later will cause the 4WD kong faster, especially the AYC/ACD.