Evo Ix

S9,
As u said E9 suspension is very stiff right?? if i would changed to Tein Super street, will it be softer? Me also beh tahan liao, bring gf she also say very harsh ride. Might consider tein becos cheaper ma.. hehe

Notiguy - E7 has got much better variety of bodykit parts and etc. Plus, I personally think the E7 looks better with its boxy front as compared to the 8s and 9s. Sourcing for aftermarket bodykits (fronts) is quite a task for the 9. I initially intended to change the front bodykit of my E9 to the c-west or the gialla bodykit but the supplier came back saying it would not fit the 9, darn!

Thanks for the insight of 18s compared to 17s. Now we know the power loss isn't that significant if you use lighter rims but heavier tyres. The price jump of tyres from 17s to 18s is quite significant. Nevertheless, I think everyone agrees that it looks much better on the CT9A and in fact on any similar size sedans. With a lowered spring, the 18s will fit the arches like hand in a glove and it looks even better...mmmm .... Dr Jekyl is starting to take over now. Better stop. Btw, are you using the standard suspension set or have you changed them?

Well, all I can say is that "Evo" means something and its definately not "standard"... hahahaa...

EE9 - my headunit is a 9815. An old question I was suppose to get back on.

S9 - Wow, quite surprising that the scooby has so much turbo lag. Are you sure it is using a standard turbo. At 4400 rev, the standard turbo should have kicked in. There are cetain things i like abt the scooby, esp the sound of the boxer engine. The growl is quite intimadating to the uninitiated. Is yours an STi model? I would have thought the E9, using the VIII MR Bilstein suspension would be pretty similar to the STis. If yours is the WRX version, then it should be normal. I thought the standard Sti has a whp of approx 280, which is similar to the IX. IX has slightly more (2 or 3) but should not be much more. So, quite surprising. Now we know.

Sorry, what is FC ? (ignorant)

Running in performance brake pads are quite normal. So, don't be too concerned. A friend of mine installed a set of front 4-pot APs on his Euro R and during run-in period, the car almost always feels like being halted when you step on the brakes. Now, its fine. Even with new cars, the brake pads needs some time to run-in. I felt the same with the standard IX brake pads.

Notiguy - same question from S9 - Does the wheels touch the fender using 18s? As the Evos have very small turning circle, i don't think this should be a problem right? Could be an issue if the car is lowered too much though.???

EE9,

Brader, my fren is using Tein Super Street on his E4 at the moment, will ask him for more information abt de ride... Hehehe... taking gf(s) sure she (they) will complain abt de harsh ride... but a performance car like Evo should b like tht ler... :biggrin: Besides asking my fren, wil ask ard frens what suspension is good n comfortable for city drive but doesnt compromise much during high speed n cornering... But for me de suspension wil b de last thing in my mind to change... hehehe...

Golfer,

Yalor... zth hving problem to log in lately... FC = fuel consumption n CF bonnet = Carbon fibre bonnet!!! :wink:

Mine is a STi version 8... No more boxer sound... As de turbine been upgraded to a twin scroll 1 from Subaru for this version 8 in order to provide better responses... Sigh! E9 Bilstein suspension is consider stiff as compare to STi's... Hv u try on any E8 b4? Mmm... E8 ride is more 'friendly' than E8 MR n E9... But i prefer it de Bilstein way... hehehe... As for de kick in for STi... yeah no joke... @ 4k rpm only u will feel de pull... I guess its pretty normal cos i tried on ori. E4, E6 n E7 b4... they all feel abt de same....

S9,
Bro, If u gonna change rim but not changed to coilovers, ur car would likely looks like monster le, huge gap between the fender and the tire, i guess i would prefer lower the car first b4 changing the rims.hahaha

EE9,

U hv to jaga a bit when u lower down ur baby ler... cos underneat de E9 there r lots of different sensors... jus make sure go through speed bumps need to slow down n better dun b a hero lar! hahaha... For my case, i really hv to see how 1st... Must get a plan out on how n where to start lor... hahaha... :tongue:

doing the suspension and getting bigger rims would have to go hand in hand. check with tire/rim specialist.

S9 , Golfer,
huh?? really ah?? lots of sensors meh? then i have to reconsider lo. I really have to plan where to start my mod first. see how first liao lo. hehe.

EE9 - Evo's ride is meant to be quite harsh, unless you stick to the standard oris. So, when your gf is in the car and complains, you have to give her the spin abt Evos. I don't think anyone who owns an Evo would be complacent with the standard specs, surely something will appeal, whether its for looks or performance. Personally, I like the performance bit and I'd rather spend more on performance parts. Having said, my first mods (to be) are more for the looks, BUT, there is a reason for it (on the theory that all mods should take into account future mods) Take it easy on mods unless your budget is quite sizeable. As anyone who is into mods would be able to verify, these performance or non-performance parts for that matter can be quite costly. My opinion on mods:

1. Always start with the handling of the car. A fast car is does not mean that it is safe car, unless you plan to only travel fast on a straight road. A fast and powerful car will need to be complimented by a car that can turn well, with minimal body roll to avoid under/oversteer. In this regard, struts, braces, anti-roll bars etc should be considered. A fast car also needs to be able to stop fast, so brakes are important.

2. Once you are satisfied with the handling, I'd start with exhaust system. Go for a full exhaust upgrade if you can afford it. Manifold pipe, down pipe, decat, cat-back, the works. Otherwise, the cat-back by itself should give you noticeable power increase.

3. Next would be the engine, air-intake and transmission parts - such as cams, pistons, valves, flywheel etc. This will also usually means that you will need to consider the ECU as with the change of exhaust (previously done), cam and air-intake, your fuel/air ratio will need to be reset.

4. Then perhaps the radiator, intercooler, pipings etc.

5. Turbo upgrade - which can go hand in hand with intercooler. Upgrading turbo will usually means that the cooling ability of the car needs to be upgraded. Changing turbo will also open up various little tweaks here and there, fuel rail, pumps etc.

Anyway, this is my 2 cents. I think everyone has their own opinions/style.

Stormvolution 9 said:
NoTiGuY,

De explaination is damn helpful liao... Yeah u r rite, de 18" tyres cost a bomb... Sigh! How many sets of tyres hv u change, buddy? Hehehe... While doing cornering, wil de tyres 'kenal' de arches? And very obviously... 18" rim on an Evo really look cool n nice... no doubt abt tht!

Have not changed any sets yet... Done bout 2k clicks on the tyres... I have confirmation that 18" with tyres would brush against the inner plastic piece, but then again, so far, i've not experience it even with hard drives (well, considering my type of hard drive.. :) ) The only compromise i really felt would be the ride comfort, but then again, its a rally bred car, what do you expect.... a Mercedes ride? Get a life! :)

Golfer said:
Notiguy - E7 has got much better variety of bodykit parts and etc. Plus, I personally think the E7 looks better with its boxy front as compared to the 8s and 9s. Sourcing for aftermarket bodykits (fronts) is quite a task for the 9. I initially intended to change the front bodykit of my E9 to the c-west or the gialla bodykit but the supplier came back saying it would not fit the 9, darn!

Thanks for the insight of 18s compared to 17s. Now we know the power loss isn't that significant if you use lighter rims but heavier tyres. The price jump of tyres from 17s to 18s is quite significant. Nevertheless, I think everyone agrees that it looks much better on the CT9A and in fact on any similar size sedans. With a lowered spring, the 18s will fit the arches like hand in a glove and it looks even better...mmmm .... Dr Jekyl is starting to take over now. Better stop. Btw, are you using the standard suspension set or have you changed them?

Well, all I can say is that "Evo" means something and its definately not "standard"... hahahaa.....

Golfer,

well, as for now, yes, the vii has more variety in terms of looks. I myself prefer the squarish look of it (thats why i got myself a vii). To me, the design blends all round (or to be honest, i dont have enough 'dough' for a VIII/MR nor IX). I am not too much a fan of the VIII as I think that the front facia doesnt blends well with the front portion look, not forgetting to mention, the big logo!. Nevertheless, one could make it look good... :) (Just saying all this to make myself feel better... ho ho ho.... )

IX looks rather nice, my dislike would be the two small little round thingie at the front bumper and also the side view of the rear bumper... it doesnt have the edge and curve which the body has... but then, the mivec head would cover all my dislikes... kekeke....

C-West, Gialla cant fit? Why is that so? We share the same frontal facia, same fenders, same bonnet (VIII, MR & IX), same headlights, same body shape and chasis.... why not? Nevertheless, If i were you, I'd get the Ralliart front lip for the IX front bumper, DAMD cf side diffuser and if the DAMD rear diffuser fits, voila.... nice!

Suspensions? Swapped it a month ago.... Was using the ori's with Tein S-Tech springs and the ride then was softer and i lost the grip of the car (purely for looks only). Stick with your Bilsteins... those are quite good... Would you believe if i were to tell you that my ride is slightly more comfortable compared to my ori's?

S9,

so envious of you.. you have both the 4wd! arrrghh.... you should get 17" Buddy Club P1 with A048 for track use, 18" Advan RS with Advan Neova AD07 for street use and 19" CE28N with Michelin Pilot Sports II for exhibition.... :)

I am getting a 7 that comes with some after market suspension, I seeing a pair of pillow ball mounting on the front saying " service by Kansai" purple color, is this a HKS set ? front strut bars r is the standard issue, the back is having cusco strut bar, and has any one heard of "rogue" exhaust ? I am seeing this on the back box with some jap wordings, its a full exhaust system :)

by the way, just wondering wat sort of boost controller you guys r having ? together with boost meter ? I was thinking of having a AVCR apexi but dropped the idea since it would be too small to see, better get a analog boost meter easier to see.

DDgreystar - Purple pillow ball mount ? - Looks like a Hypermax II but should not have "Service by Kansai". The only "service by kansai" or HKS Kansai Service as it should be that I know of, has blue pillow ball mount, black springs (although this may be changed) and gold colour shocks.

Never heard of rogue exhaust though.

I've been told that HKS boost controller is user friendly.

Notiguy - I am also quite surprise when I got the email from Gialla Japan that the Gialla doesn't fit. I am not entirely cure of the C-West, but, most of the magazine I read does not say that it is for the IX.

I will work on the body works, depending on whether Dr. Jekyl takes over (Jekyl and Hyde) and my budget ofcource. Mmm.. how much lower is your car currently sitting compared to the ori setting?

I have the same thoughts abt the front of the VIII, but with the DAMD front, it takes away the logo issue. I've seen one over here and it looks really good.

NoTiGuY,

Hey brader, dun say envy ler... de STi is belong to my dad cum bozz lar... He likes performance cars oso... Starting to upgrade his toy liao.... Aiyooooooo.... i think he wanna challenge me ler... hahaha... Actually v r looking ard for GTR34, nothing firm yet... Jus wanna to test drive it n get more info abt de car... So u hv any comment on tht car? Actually seen 3 units liao, but all oredi sold... de pricing stil stand quite firm... eventhough its a yr 2000 n 2001 recon. car.... still asking ard rm290k - 315k depends on condition... Few yrs back... when de car is new hor... its selling rm300k+ oso...

DDgreystar, congrat. tht u finally get ur E7... stil remember tht u were asking ard for it few wks back... So u r now driving it liao? Mmm... U should come out n join us for de Sept. Evo event!!! As for ur exhuast with some Jap words... izzit chinese words or u r damn sure its Jap words? Cos me suspecting it is de Kakimotor Sport exhuast!!! Do let me know if u r interested in de Sept event! Cheers!!! :tee:

Golfer + EE9, v r having a Sept Evo event again... this time convoying down South! For more details : http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=42180&highlight=mloc
And in Oct. there wil b BBQ somewhere at beach side... date yet to b confirmed... Letting u guys know earlier, so tht u guys can look into ur schedule n make urself free to travel over join us for de event!!! :wink:

Hello all... I'm new here. Been a member for a few months already but this is my first time posting... I should be getting my EVO IX next week... first of all i want u all to know that i'm damn stupid about cars, i hope u guys can guide me in using the car once i get it... once i get that car i will post in here to let u all know..

Hello wufpek welcome to this thread.

EE, Golfer & Storm,

Need to ask if you guys experience this. When starting up in morning or when the engine is cold, i always have to start it up twice. I have never experienced with my other cars. Just wondering if you guys experience the same thing.

Golfer,

I see Mr hyde has already taken over you.... hehehehe. Just do it man.

Storm,

Dont think i can join for the JB trip, it looks like it's gonna be blast. Have fun i will try to make it for the BBQ

wufpek,

Hey fren, welcome welcome to this thread! Yeessssss..... V hv a new buddy here now!!! :dancing2: Hahaha.... This is de place where all enthusiast share their feeling, opinion n experiences in their be-loved car!!! Hehehe...

ZinZan, Yo brader, it sound strange for me too... Hv to start de car twice when de engine is cold?!! Mmmm... Never been through it been ler fren... But everytime i start my car... i'll let de engine run for AT LEAST 30sec - 1 min b4 i move de car... This is to heat up de car n oso to fully lubricate de piston b4 driving... U means ur car engine wil die off itself when u started it de 1st time?

As for de JB trip... no worry ler fren!! hehehe... No big deal! :rock:

Storm,

It does'nt die. When i turn the ignition i have to do it twice. The first time is never succesful to start the engine. I do warm up engine too.