Evo Ix

Guys,

Need to ask your opinion. have u tried on 3rd or 4th gear, high revving and then let go the accelerator, there's quite a big jerk as well. Do u guys experience this? Is that normal.

ZZ - I presume you are talking abt the "jerk" when you change from 3rd to 4th when you let the cluth free. I believe its normal. As I mentioned before, the jerk is caused by the clutch gripping on the flywheel. It sounds like a "thud" whne the clutch grips. That is why I asked the question whether anyone has the experience on clutch slipping, how long before the ori clutch needs tobe replaced.

Golfer,

Not the jerk when ur shifting up through the gears, but when accelarating hard prob about above 5k rpm (ur in the same gear) when step u off the accelerator slightly there is quite noticeable jerk.

The jerk that you talked about i've noticed that, i just tot it was normal for evo

Sorry my previous post may be misleading, when I say "let the clutch free", I meant when you release the foot off the clutch. sorry for the confusion.

ZZ + Golfer,

Yeah... de clutch is very grippy as Evo is a high performance car! As for de issue tht ZZ mentioned, for me i think its normal... when u r in any gear, n u jus let go the accelerator @ high rev am sure u wil feel de jerkiness... This is due to Evo all time 4WD or AWD system, in which it 'hold up' de car... Am sure u wil not hv this kind of problem with any 2WD car... Sorry if my explaination is a bit blur... hehehe... no good in explaining in words... :D

P/s. I realised when come to gearbox / gear shift, STi is smoother than Evo... :(

ZZ - OK, sorry, thought you were talking 'bout the jerk when gear shifting. When you release the accelerator, the gear will be spun at the speed in line with the rpm that you are asking it to spin and hence determine the speed of the car. This jerk affect is merely the result of the car being slowed down when you release the accelarator. As mentioned by S9 - this effect is futher emphasised by the AWD system. It is the sudden change in momentum that causes a jerk like affect. The "jerk" is stronger the faster you travel because the momentum is greater. This also happens to FWD or RWD cars but not in as much force than a AWD vehicle.

I believe this "jerk" is a normal "jerk" and not something you should be terribly concerned about.

Thanks guys, that makes sense, clears up a lot of things. I tot it was something related to the turbo.

EE9 - Nicely done buddy! What gauges have you got there? Noticed you have an Apexi turbo timer - good choice! Is that a HKS intake? Can make up your BOV, is it a turbosmart? Like your ARC manifold heat shield! Well done - nice mods.

Hey, no wonder you are running at higher boost. Noticed there are abt a dozen wires running out of the box holding your filter. What is this box and what are the wires connected to? I presume to the ECU? You have an aftermarket ECU? What are the wires for? Did you need to re-tune anything?

Golfer,
My ecu all original . Did not change everything, i also dont know what that wires for, it comes stock,I'm using Trust Airnyx intake, greddy type RS bov. and using Defi BF Amber series gauges.I din retune my car or anything, just installed all those stuff. I just reset the ecu only.CAn you shoot a photo of your engine also??maybe i can compare the wiring? sorry for dirty engine because i haven't wash it :D

EE9 + Golfer,

Yo buddies, my guess is de 'black box' behind de air filter is de Air Flow meter!!! As for those wires it should connect de Air Flow meter to de ECU. It is to send signal to de ECU of de amount of air intake to de engine!!! Correct me if am wrong!!! ;) De air flow meter normally is 1 of de thingy tht easily 'rosak'. De ori E9 did come with air flow meter too... Unless using F-Con V Pro ECU, then only u can do without it by replacing it with a presure sensor...

S9,
I think the air flow meter is same as those u found in satria GTi blablabla. All the same. hehehe.

Storm,

Ya lar brader the pic was too big. I have just reduced it will post it. Can u notify me bout the sunday meet, some of the meoc members are really interested in joining.

ZinZan,

Hey, abt de 07/08 gathering, its definately on... Now v got FTO club members, MEOC, MLOC n mayb Mivec club r coming too... V r arranging de best time to meet up... n oso now de biggest problem of all is to get a place tht is big enough for abt 25 - 30 cars to meet up... hehehe... :D Big parking space or somewhere suitable... Do u hv any good suggestion? Preferbly @ Subang/PJ sides as most ppl r from there... Wil try to update u soonest when i do hv de info... Yeah... frens r welcome too!!! ;) So its gonna b big!!