Evo Ix

Golfer,

I guess i'm coming from different school of thought on this matter. I'm planning to keep it stock standard indefinitely for the next year or so. Right now just getting used to the car's handling and power. Quite a big adjustment for me.

wow, looks like the numbers of evo 9s on the road r really picking up!!! betcha, the guys owning previous evos will trade in their cars for e9s. :)

by the way, whats th efinance interest u guys....zinzan,golfer etc. paying anyway?

2.3? 2.6 %?

Mmm. I think you are on the right track. I'm a bit more impatient though. I agree that the car is superb to drive in its original setting. I would recommend however atleast a turbo timer to allow the engine to cool down. Very convenient if you are in a hurry and don't have time to sit in the car to wait. My 2 cents worth.

green - no idea what it is in m'sia. over in macau its something like 8% i think. My E9 costs HKD380k, which converts to slightly less than RM190k. Cheaper compared to M'sia. However, I am paying abt HKD7/litre for petrol (I think even more), which is abt RM3.50/litre!! Can u imagine paying that for fuel????

rm3.5/litre!!!!!

walau....Golfer, i take it you r from macau. okay, tot u r from kl, malaysia.

okay, converted to RM190k, ur car is WAY cheaper. because we have a heavy import duty of almost 200 ~ 300%, our imported cars here r more expensive.

Brand new evos should be about rm270k here. 2nd hands r cheaper here, evo 7 ~ rm170k, evo 8 ~ 200 to 210k.

fuel here is rm 1.52/litre.. cheaper lor. ur macau fuel is expensive man.

I guess fuel is a price to pay for our cars performances :) but hey, evos r a joy to drive...ha ha

by the way, did u get ur evo from an official mitsubishi dealer? they will give u 5 years warranty like in singapore.

I think thats a very good deal.

unfortunately for us in malaysia...the local mitsubishi does not sell any evos so we all have to go thru grey importers.

golfer,

brand new cars loans from our local banks r from 2.3 to 2.6% for a 7 or 9 yr loan.

for 2nd hand cars, from 3%??? ~ .5 % for 7/9 yr loan.

for ur info....

green - i am actually a malaysian but left m'sia in 1989 to study in aust. thereafter, work brought me to macau.

my E9 is also a parallel import. the mitsu dealer in macau does sell the E9, but at much higher price. a car agent friend of mine helped me bring the car in from japan, that is why the darn manuals are in japanese.

wei, cool lah u.

any plans to bring the evo 9 back to malaysia in the future?

Golfer,

Ooh ur based in Macau. 3.50/litre is alot. Last week i did my best mileage 380km. Usually it hovers between 330km to 350km. i'm planning to put it the timer after 10K km service. To be honest i'm not much a car modding person. I'm planning to do minimal mods.

Hi everyone in this thread, am new here!!! Hope to share more value experiences from everyone through this thread... Myself driving an E9 too... :)

green + Zinzan,
Yo buddies, meet u guys here now... hahaha... How's everything lately? green, how's ur E7? Arrived liao? Zinzan what mileage ur E9 now?

green, as for de S203 (320hp) u mentioned earlier in this thread, is asking for RM330k but finally sold for RM310k!!! So i guess de sale gal tht entertained u made a mistake!!! I know it cos i did ask for de pricing... thought of buying it for my dad cum Bozz. Hehehe... :D But end up buying a STi version 8 yr 2003 unreg. for abt RM200k!!! Wil b getting de car this wk i suppose...

As for comparison, E9 is much more powerful than de STi. De way de turbo kick in, is faster n stronger... But STi is more comfortable for riding... Wil share more once de car is out!!! :D But i guess it wil b TOTALLY different story when coming head to head with S203... Heard tht for this limited edition Impreza, Subaru really dump in lots of effort n new technologies in order to make it a world beater!!! So for all Evo owners... beware of this monster!!! Hehehe... but as a Evo nut, i'll fight till de end!!! :D

don't know when I will go back to M'sia therefore, don't know if i will ever get a chance to drive the thing in the highways in m'sia. but if i do, i will bring the car back.

ZZ - so, modding not your thing. well, as mentioned, the car is a pleasure to drive in its ori setting.

the modding scene in Macau is influenced by HK but at a fraction of what HKers do to their cars. HK's Type-R club organises track-days at the Zhuhai International Circuit and those who partcipates are really into mods. There are some really fast evos, sti, gtr, minis in the gang.

stormvolution9 - nice to have a new participant in the thread. sounds like you've got a great variety of cars -evo,sti, anymore?

hope to hear abt your exp. are u into mods? what abt u green?

Golfer said:
stormvolution9 - nice to have a new participant in the thread. sounds like you've got a great variety of cars -evo,sti, anymore?

hope to hear abt your exp. are u into mods? what abt u green?

Hi there, nice to know u too!!! hehehe... actually now looking for R34... Viewed 2 R34 liao... but both been sold... Now waiting for de next batch to come in n test drive it... jus looking with no decision made yet... Sound crazy? Yeah.. i think so too... B4 i bought this E9, my dad always said Jap car no good n no safety (keep criticising)... but after i bought de car liao n he drove on it... wow!!! 360 degree changed of mind n now he is crazier than me in Jap performance cars... tht's y buy de STi for him... my dad is a BMW man... I think i'll stop him from R34... for de time being... :D

As for Macau trend of car mod... Mmm... i know a thing or 2 abt it... cos i read quite a lot of HK car mod mag... so do know what happen over there... hehehe... Yes u r rite, in HK there r lots of heavy modded cars which went to de Track day oganised by Tyre-R Club... Fun to read n understand how de HK ppl mod their cars... So did u join them or plan to join them? hehehe... :D

Hope to share more experiece in Evo from u... cheers!!!

S9 - (hope u don't mind that I shortened your nick) WOW!! An EVO, STI and a R34 in the pipeline... sounds damn interesting!!! Keep us posted on ure shopping spree pls. Helps that your dad is also into JDMs.

HKers are really into mods, esp the ones that bring their cars to the track. I have some intentions to bring the car to the track but will need to get some lessons on track driving first. don't know if i will get time out from work and family life. U see, I have 2 young boys who are a handful!!! Plus the fact that I am a golf fanatic and also into RC.

Have u done anything to your E9? I have some gauges, turbo timer, turbo timer and a HKS BOV coming in. Cosmetic stuff but nevertheless, necessary for performance mods. Have you done anything to the turbo boost? Btw, do you know what the OEM boost level is?

Golfer,

Hey buddy, no worry to add. me as S9... hehehe... i hv de nick cos am driving a Mitsu Storm pick up for my everyday use... not sure u hv it in Macau or not..

Ok, as for de E9 stock boost is 1.38 bar n for E8 is 1.31 bar... If u r looking to boost up, i hope u reconsider or do more research 1st b4 u decided on anything... cos lately i search through de lancerregister forum... there r few ppl owning E9 GT spec with Magnesium turbine hving big problem when boosting up to 1.4-1.6 bar.... Whereas our is GSR spec... so far so good... Pls feel free to visit de below forum...

http://www.lancerregister.com/showthread.php?threadid=83361

If u r to boost up ur car... few things u need to pay extra attention to... 1. Fuel Pump 2. Fuel Regulator 3. Injectors 4. Fuel Rail. Its all depends on how high boost u r targeting... so u hv to upgrade de above mentioned items in order to protect ur engine...

Yeah... i like modding... but at de moment my car stil damn stock besides a turbo timer... cos over here in Msia, lots of busta*d likes to break car side mirror n steal all kind of gadgets u hv... very common over here... so stil considering what n where to install... but nevertheless am looking ard, planning n calculating how to up grade de performance of de car... hehehe... :D Hey 1 thingy i wanna to ask u, is there any 'jerkiness' when u shift from 1st gear into 2nd during sprint-off?

Thanks for the info.
I am not planning to increase boost just yet.
I want to drive the car until I am bored with the OEM boost and the way the car behaves. My intention is to first do handling mods, suspension, swaybars. The the brakes and then only performance. Even with performance, I will start with exhaust, air intake etc before i touch the boost level. Thanks for the advice, I will take note when time comes.
My E9 only has only done 300kms. Still running the car in, although I've had it for 3 weeks now. So, I can't tell you whether there is ant jerkiness as I have not reved hard on the car. So far, on normal driving, I do not experience any jerkiness. I will remember this point and let you know when I am able to rev above 3500.

Golfer,

Wow, it seems tht u hv a proper plan in how to upgrade ur E9... Mmm... tht's de best way to mod de car, starting from handling, improve chasis strenght, upgrade brake system then only performance... How u plan upgrade de brake system? AP 6 pots? It cost a bomb over here in Msia for de AP 6 potter!!! Nearly RM20k for de set... :eek:

I guess it is very costly to tune an Evo (or others JDM cars) in HK n Macau... Am i right? n as u mentioned b4, de fuel cost is double of ours over here in Msia... wow... really not easy to maintain a car over there... eventhough de car price r much cheaper than in Msia... :D

Storm,

Your everywhere lar brader, eheheheh so far my mileage is bout 3.5K how bout urs. Wah liao eh i tot Law was gempak, u lagi gempak, STi oso got R34 oso looking. Wow that's a fleet of cars.... man.

Golfer,

Not that i'm not into modding cars, i'm just starting to learn for Sifus like you and storm. I do not have alot of experience in modding. As you said the car in it's original setting is already awesome. So i'm not really in a rush.

Green,

So ur counting down until the day you get ur hands on the car.

Zinzan,

Hey fren, how u doing? Hehehe... wanna make fren so hv to go everywhere lor... :D My mileage is 4.6k... so far so good!! As for de R34... mayb not this yr lar... dunno yet... nothing decided yet... hehehe... wait til i tested de car 1st... But my heart always with Evo!!! Cheers!!!

Storm, walau.....R34, Sti ...evo??? heard that the Stis not bad as well man. good choice.

cool lah u brader hahhahaha.

anyway, guys, my e7 is finally in town!!! tho still the port waiting to clear up.

keeping my legs n fingers crossed now :)

golfer, nolah, am not planning to mod it yet. 280hp for me is enough now lor. maybe a year later?

by the way guys, heard tt theres a official Local Mitsubishi Motors here in msia now!!

the newspapers have the news about it. joint venture between mitsu japan n EON.

heard tt the normal lancer (maybe 1.6 like in sg) n the storm is in. colt n grandis is in too.

maybe they will market evo in the future? 3-5 yr warranty they r giving. not a bad deal man. the cars r CBU now, but i guess they will be assembled in msia later...but not the evo i hope!!!!

its in the newspapers star business section today