Engine won't start

art806

Dec 15, 2004
Guys,
My car wouldn't start today. Bunyi klik, lampu warning kat
dashboard semua padam, spark melompat within the +ve clamps (between the
gap where we tighten the nuts) with a bit of smoke. Check the battery
terminal, fuses and everything seemed ok. It happened after I installed a
power amp. I took out the live wire for the amp from the +ve battery terminal and
the engine would start.. Just now I tried to start again, same thing
happened, a click and all warning lights went off. The +ve clamp of the battery felt warm although the engine is cool and not running. Is that a sign of short circuit?
I don't think the audio installer messed around with the wiring apart from joining the live wire for the amp directly to the +ve battery terminal. What could be the problem? BTW the battery is only 4 months old.... Thanks for any help.....

starwing

May 15, 2004
Sounds like you have a short circuit problem because you noted that everything is fine after you take out the power for the amps.

et5828

Sep 13, 2004
last time i couldnt start my car due to some dead fuse happen in my fuse box...replace it liao ok...got also many prob related to startin engine...spark plug,battery,wiring...good luck

Supachip

Apr 9, 2004
puucuung
I think the "click" noise is coming form the starter motor, on my opinion, u should check on ur starter motor.

art806

Dec 15, 2004
Somebody suggested this;

There should be a fault in your electrical system.
> Usually a "click" sound without engine starting could
> be your starter motor not working. First of all you
> need to isolate the cause of this problem.
>
> When you turn the key, does the battery light come on?
> Or any lights on your dashboard? For new cars with
> ECU, don't turn the key all the way yet, turn on the
> elctrical system only (halfway) and let it run the ECU
> self test. You should see a few LEDs on your dashboard
> turning on, some blinking then going off. After the
> self test there should be 2 lights left only, your
> handbrake light and your battery light.
>
> Before we mess more with the car, I'd take the amp out
> and get it checked first. It may be faulty and cause a
> short circuit. Is the fuse to the amp okay? I mean the
> external fuse, which should be installed close to the
> battery.

The fuses (amp, radio, starter motor, ignition) are all ok, relay, I haven't checked cos don't know how to do it. This morning the car started again but I'm waiting to see if the +ve terminal will remain warm long after the engine has cool down. I still feel the power amp has something to do with it...

art806

Dec 15, 2004
After about 4 hours, the car is ok now. The engine will start but whenever I connect the power amp fuse and switched the radio on, the rpm is erratic, running between 400-800. Guess the amp is at fault then. Do you think I should do an electrical test to see if any relays are affected?

Soundproof rubber stick for car door!!

* Wish to have a quiet cabin for comfortable driving experience? Soundproof rubber might be the best choice for you! It can effectively reduce the wind noise, you feel like 80KMph while you speed at 110 KMph ! It also improve your car audio system quality and at the same time make your door closing sound become more solid.

Tips for DIY :

1. Clean the part you would like to stick with detergent and dry it before install. (Refer to the...