engine torque damper

• Thread starter achor
  • Start date
  • Replies 21
  • Views 3K
A

achor

guys, wanna ask about this thing. some people say it's too hard that it can tear the chasis. is it true?
iknow that it implies less free play on the engine. less torque on the mounting. supposedly this = the mounting won't be easily teared.
but is it hard for every day driving? is it hard until can koyak the chasis?

i don't think it's THAT hard... The chasis "tearing"? i'm sure it DOES allow free play to a certain extent.... Anybody with more experience?

You can set the damping, more or less, depending on your need. Powerful engine = need harder settings, or you can visibly see the engine rocking in it's mounts when you reverse or go forward in first gear.

It's a compromise from using stiffer engine mounts, and you can have more than one settings. stiff engine mounts = vibrating car, which you'll get if you set the engine torque damper too stiff.

confirm can set the damping rate is it? i am thinking of getting the J's racing engine damper from chris. not sure if the damping rate can be adjusted or not. heared a lot of rumors. but not really sure. so if anybody has experience of using one who can share his/her experience is better. at least i know wat to expect if i installed it on my car.

last time went for hard driving going uphill n downhil, my mounting tore. probably due to much engine vibration.

but if compare with PU engine mounting, which is harder? i think, if i use the PU mountings, can feel a lot of vibration from the engine even from inside the car.

confirm can set the damping rate is it? i am thinking of getting the J's racing engine damper from chris. not sure if the damping rate can be adjusted or not. heared a lot of rumors. but not really sure. so if anybody has experience of using one who can share his/her experience is better. at least i know wat to expect if i installed it on my car.

last time went for hard driving going uphill n downhil, my mounting tore. probably due to much engine vibration.
Sure it's not because the mounting is worn out/hardened ah?
but if compare with PU engine mounting, which is harder? i think, if i use the PU mountings, can feel a lot of vibration from the engine even from inside the car.
Actually I wanted to buy PU engine mount inserts oso in anticipation of a bigger cc engine down the road, but got whacked by my mech friend who says... if you want your balls to vibrate, go ahead... :P

Not sure about J's racing, but most engine torque dampers are adjustable. I forgot already when a previous guy bought a J's racing damper and showed me.. I think adjustable, but not sure.. so.....

Ask chris to make surelah.. call his office or pm him using his 'chris2000' zth nick if you're not in a hurry.

the mounting has harded is probably the case. because i never changed them for almost 2 years now. minus when the car was in japan. i guess the life span is good enough rite? mounting can tahan for 2 years.

yeah, i think i need to go to chris's shop again. this time while he's around. just to confirm rite. but about the PU engine mounting, yeah, it vibrates a lot! no plan to do that as i'm driving my car everyday. plus, going through the jams of kl. duh!

eh its coz ur engine too power lar bro.....tat day u whacking kow kow....

i dun think it's adjustable.

there's 2 type of rubber inserts for the arospeed brand of engine damper.
the damping cannot be adjusted but the length can be adjusted a bit.

i can feel the difference. but a bit only. haha......
n cannot really feel vibration inside car....

mmm... with this engine damper, can u see the engine move a lot or not? i mean when u rev it. i mean i can see the engine move a bit even when i crank it. if we drive our cars hard, sure there'll be a lot of movement on the engine. i mean engine torque damper are supposed to hold the engine firm when we drive rite? so, when the engine doesn't move a lot, the power transmission should be better. so, my question now, does the engine damper surve it's propose? would love to have ur comment on this =)

The J's one is oil, instead of the usual PU/rubber bush version, and usually oil ones are adjustable.

j's racing 1 i think is not adjustable 1 cause i went *1racing the one selling there is not adjustable... (for jazz) not sure for others but the look exactly the same..

achor,

for ur info,
i like it very much. it served it's pupose well.

but of course if u beef up all ur engine mounting is better than just a engine damper. if only u can stand the vibration from pu mountings, IF only it vibrates la of course.

conclusion. i like the engine damper......haha......maybe different ppl different opinion, but i liked it.

ps. i dun see my engine moves......haha

achor,

for ur info,
i like it very much. it served it's pupose well.

but of course if u beef up all ur engine mounting is better than just a engine damper. if only u can stand the vibration from pu mountings, IF only it vibrates la of course.

conclusion. i like the engine damper......haha......maybe different ppl different opinion, but i liked it.

ps. i dun see my engine moves......haha

thanx dude. for ur comment. just wanted to hear someone who's using it to comment. just wanna know if it's too hard. thanx bro.

for j's racing engine torque damper, i think it's not adjustable type too. yeah, i saw the 1 for jazz in N1. but it's supposed to be different for dc2. but don't know if dc2 one is the same as for B-series.

my car model dunno got or not leh

but then i dun whack like u wor....hehehe

Hi ya.. Just come in this thread only..

The J's ETD for DC2 just sold.. Have to wait next order.. If you want please PM to reserve them.