go read the oil manufacture fact books b4 u question this....
Motul fully syc is using Double Ester as additive, dun u know that b4 u buy it in 1st place..??or u tot the Motul oil is fully made/contain 100% Double Ester ar..??:Not_Impressed:
if the manufacturer making Fully Teflon, PTFE & Ester oil, do u think that u will to buy or u can afford it by rm30 per milliliter(ML)...???
no of fence when i answer this....:_:
Actually I did read up on oil manufacturing, and how base oils can be modified to have different properties in terms of viscosity, and additive cannot be thick as they are EXPENSIVE, like you say.. and there are GOOD additives, and there are BAD additives.
Which begs the question.. why don't they put 1% of it in the first place and say..
"Oh got XXXX additives inside!"
The point is, when you add the price on the price of an engine oil, you have to admit.. they
aren't cheap.
Now, no offence to you either, but it was an honest question, and you've got to really wonder how much you're paying for protection that you can't really see.
Motul formulates their oil as a package, and hence they have the balls to claim that it works.
Additives can claim the same, but if anything happens, they can always blame it on poor base engine oils that you use.
Overall.. It's a cost versus time factor..
If the additives makes your engine runs longer by 5 years, but you pay something like rm100 extra for them per month (assuming your engine is like mine, that racks up something like 5000kms worth of mileage per month).. it would come to a cost of 6000, which is roughly a lot more than what I would have spent for a rebore + new rings.
Think about it..
Of course, additives are big business, and they work, really... but there are some dubious stuff out there so as the latins would say it.. Caveat Emptor!
Yeah, tufoil is a good brand, and it works.
Some other brand that I've never even heard off claims a lot more amazing claims..
100% zero wear... WTF? ROFL!
Anyone interested in how engine protection works should understand the function of the oil scrapper ring which is usually the bottom-most ring on the piston.
Then please let me know here what function that ring does, and why 100% wear-resistance cannot be achieved, and why there will always be wear on the engine, like it or not.
A hint, there are 3 functions of piston rings I know of, and there might be more I don't know.. but should be an interesting read for those that want to know what engine oil does, and how does it affect power.
Well, we're here to learn, and I learned a lot of new things here as well when I'm here.
Cheerio!