engine oil treatment

camshaft

just want some of your feedback...anyone ever use an engine oil treatment for their honda like X-1R or Tufoil? or the fuel injector cleaner? the advertisement claim it to be good for ur engine...i'm bout to do my next car service around this week & plan to add some of those things...so can anyone share ur experience on this?

I've never use these oil treatment things...i just make sure i change the oils before the 5k mark. I have heard stories... (stories only lar dunno whether true or not) that the frequent usage of these oil treatments will hurt the piston rings etc etc....

anyone care to set the record straight ?

using oil treatment is better than none...
for those who never ever using the treatment b4, or not believe the advert talks...its normal that not adding the oil treatment...coz of they not even know wat is really oil treatment is.....normal sync or mineral engine oil oso adding some oil treatment things into the oil to make sure the engine oil is good for performance, decrease the wear & tear & long lasting. due to the price of treatment things is very expensive, so, most of the manufacturer just adding about 5% to 15% treatment things into their engine oil....
just got figure out having an extra Vitamin pills will helps or not...even tho u didn't have it, its no harms to u too.....

no of fence, but its true...

i never tried engine treament or flush. that smart shop advertisment X1R really made me no confidence in this kind of product already. but i still heard tufoil is good, any tried before?

For the price you pay for semi synth, and oil treatment, might as well go for the best engine oil there is.. Motul 300V (I think I got the number right, but not sure).

If the oil treatments are so effective, I wonder why is it that they do not manufacture oils that INCLUDE the additives in the first place?

One would think that they'd make a roaring business in selling wear resistant engine oils. :P

Just my 2cents.

Tufoil is kinda good, dude...just goto their website..:_:

i never tried engine treament or flush. that smart shop advertisment X1R really made me no confidence in this kind of product already. but i still heard tufoil is good, any tried before?

If the oil treatments are so effective, I wonder why is it that they do not manufacture oils that INCLUDE the additives in the first place?

go read the oil manufacture fact books b4 u question this....

Motul fully syc is using Double Ester as additive, dun u know that b4 u buy it in 1st place..??or u tot the Motul oil is fully made/contain 100% Double Ester ar..??:Not_Impressed:

if the manufacturer making Fully Teflon, PTFE & Ester oil, do u think that u will to buy or u can afford it by rm1.00 per milliliter(ML)...???

no of fence when i answer this....:_:

go read the oil manufacture fact books b4 u question this....

Motul fully syc is using Double Ester as additive, dun u know that b4 u buy it in 1st place..??or u tot the Motul oil is fully made/contain 100% Double Ester ar..??:Not_Impressed:

if the manufacturer making Fully Teflon, PTFE & Ester oil, do u think that u will to buy or u can afford it by rm30 per milliliter(ML)...???

no of fence when i answer this....:_:

Actually I did read up on oil manufacturing, and how base oils can be modified to have different properties in terms of viscosity, and additive cannot be thick as they are EXPENSIVE, like you say.. and there are GOOD additives, and there are BAD additives.

Which begs the question.. why don't they put 1% of it in the first place and say..

"Oh got XXXX additives inside!"

The point is, when you add the price on the price of an engine oil, you have to admit.. they aren't cheap.

Now, no offence to you either, but it was an honest question, and you've got to really wonder how much you're paying for protection that you can't really see.

Motul formulates their oil as a package, and hence they have the balls to claim that it works.

Additives can claim the same, but if anything happens, they can always blame it on poor base engine oils that you use.

Overall.. It's a cost versus time factor..

If the additives makes your engine runs longer by 5 years, but you pay something like rm100 extra for them per month (assuming your engine is like mine, that racks up something like 5000kms worth of mileage per month).. it would come to a cost of 6000, which is roughly a lot more than what I would have spent for a rebore + new rings.

Think about it..

Of course, additives are big business, and they work, really... but there are some dubious stuff out there so as the latins would say it.. Caveat Emptor!

Yeah, tufoil is a good brand, and it works.

Some other brand that I've never even heard off claims a lot more amazing claims..
100% zero wear... WTF? ROFL!

Anyone interested in how engine protection works should understand the function of the oil scrapper ring which is usually the bottom-most ring on the piston.

Then please let me know here what function that ring does, and why 100% wear-resistance cannot be achieved, and why there will always be wear on the engine, like it or not.

A hint, there are 3 functions of piston rings I know of, and there might be more I don't know.. but should be an interesting read for those that want to know what engine oil does, and how does it affect power.

Well, we're here to learn, and I learned a lot of new things here as well when I'm here.

Cheerio!

Actually I did read up on oil manufacturing, and how base oils can be modified to have different properties in terms of viscosity, and additive cannot be thick as they are EXPENSIVE, like you say.. and there are GOOD additives, and there are BAD additives.

Which begs the question.. why don't they put 1% of it in the first place and say..

"Oh got XXXX additives inside!"

The point is, when you add the price on the price of an engine oil, you have to admit.. they aren't cheap.

Now, no offence to you either, but it was an honest question, and you've got to really wonder how much you're paying for protection that you can't really see.

Motul formulates their oil as a package, and hence they have the balls to claim that it works.

Additives can claim the same, but if anything happens, they can always blame it on poor base engine oils that you use.

Overall.. It's a cost versus time factor..

If the additives makes your engine runs longer by 5 years, but you pay something like rm100 extra for them per month (assuming your engine is like mine, that racks up something like 5000kms worth of mileage per month).. it would come to a cost of 6000, which is roughly a lot more than what I would have spent for a rebore + new rings.

Think about it..

Of course, additives are big business, and they work, really... but there are some dubious stuff out there so as the latins would say it.. Caveat Emptor!

Yeah, tufoil is a good brand, and it works.

Some other brand that I've never even heard off claims a lot more amazing claims..
100% zero wear... WTF? ROFL!

Anyone interested in how engine protection works should understand the function of the oil scrapper ring which is usually the bottom-most ring on the piston.

Then please let me know here what function that ring does, and why 100% wear-resistance cannot be achieved, and why there will always be wear on the engine, like it or not.

A hint, there are 3 functions of piston rings I know of, and there might be more I don't know.. but should be an interesting read for those that want to know what engine oil does, and how does it affect power.

Well, we're here to learn, and I learned a lot of new things here as well when I'm here.

Cheerio!

moral of the story, if u really know wats is inside the oil, the additive, how they work out, & where they buy the oil base & who supply to them, ...how they produce it, mod it blend it....& full contain inside the oil, u'll know.

even u buy the Motul, Motul claim that they got Double Ester inside...so, is the The Motul 300V is Fully Double Ester?????

U dun even knows the Ring & the sleeve & piston....aiseh....

1 more things, if they really put 1%, they still claim they got XXXX inside. becoz of that 1% is oredi enuf for 4L of engine oil...so, do u know that..??

still, i dun think that Motul is the best,,,.....the wear & tear is worst than Redline....& i dun think that u paid for Motul, so u can see......

i got a full Engine Oils & Oil Additives back-up(a group of professional Engineer from a few world famous Base Oil & Manufacturer & Oil Additive company) , so... i dun give a shit of all the u just reply to me...hahahahahaha....

aiseh...wat a mess.....:Not_Impressed:

btw, i dun even think of that u come here to learn things, every time i saw ur reply is oso Full of "Some Says Like Professional Talking", just let me think that u just wanna show-off.....

no cheers for u......mlm got 1 for u...:_:

U dun even knows the Ring & the sleeve & piston....aiseh....
Hmm... really ah?
What is the ring, the sleeves and pistons? enlighten me..
The oil scraper ring is present on even single ring pistons setup. I think since hattech-v knows where one of the engines that I've shown here was built, he would also have seen how a mugen single ring piston looks like.. and how it actually has 2 rings, one the oil ring, and the other the compression ring.

Instead of trying to talk about how the oil scraper rings on pistons work, you shoot me with not knowing what I'm talking about.

It seems you are looking to start a flame war I want no part of. Guess who's being hostile here?

1 more things, if they really put 1%, they still claim they got XXXX inside. becoz of that 1% is oredi enuf for 4L of engine oil...so, do u know that..??
M.A.R.K.E.T.I.N.G. is always 100% true... (O_o)

still, i dun think that Motul is the best,,,.....the wear & tear is worst than Redline....& i dun think that u paid for Motul, so u can see......
Hmmm.. how long do you think before you see wear on a daily driven stock engine? Hmm.. I have used motul, or do you want me to show a picture of my car next to a box of motul oils, or you want to see a receipt of purchase? Both can be furnished at your leisure, as some of the zth members who know me personally know that I can do this pretty easily.. :P

i got a full Engine Oils & Oil Additives back-up(a group of professional Engineer from a few world famous Base Oil & Manufacturer & Oil Additive company) , so... i dun give a shit of all the u just reply to me...hahahahahaha....

aiseh...wat a mess.....:Not_Impressed:

btw, i dun even think of that u come here to learn things, every time i saw ur reply is oso Full of "Some Says Like Professional Talking", just let me think that u just wanna show-off.....

no cheers for u......mlm got 1 for u...:_:
Okaylah.. consider you winler.. no loss for me admitting that I was just posting a honest question.

After all, your reply just made me lose interest in replying further than this. If you have backing from a group of professional Engineer from a few world famous Base Oil & Manufacturer & Oil Additive company, that means everyone here can ask you questions about oil additives and how they work lah!

That's plenty good, as I'm still in the dark on how base oils are converted to multigrade oils, and how one method is not as good as another, and the difference between brands, methods of testing, and many more. What is double ester? what is magnetic attraction that some additives claim? Why is more not better?

See? I don't admit to know it all, but you do, so pardon me for asking more questions.. like I said.. I am here to learn.. teach me lah! don't shoot me! (>.
Wahlau!

ok ok ok....

moral of the story :

He Who Holds Da Dough Can Decide For His Own

yam seeeenggg

Hahaha.. Agree with this one!!

It's the owner's money, and owner's car.. owner's choice la!

Good one crower!

Me, I'm just asking questions, if I get proven wrong, means my idea wrong lah! :P

for me, i dun care what engine oil can give to my engine...
just change it when it reach the time interval...
but motul for me is the best...
anyone looking for motul oil, avantech got selling it... hehe...