Engine check lights on,vtec not working

Shoken7

hi everyone, having serious problem with my engine right now
wonder if anyone know whats the problem

i didnt had the time to go to workshop to check on weekdays
during sunday all the workshop that knows how to check vtec engine are closed..sigh

symptoms are
Engine check light is on
Speedo meeter not working
Vtec not working too! T_T

someone told me that it might be the throttle body is not working,
some said solenoid valve spoiled, or the computer rosak

anyone had this problem before?
most mechanic ask me to get it repaired at Honda service centre
driving very gently now..afraid my car will breakdown..
i am using b18c btw...

your vtec is not working because your speedometer is broken. vtec needs minimum of 20~30km/h to engage if i'm not mistaken. if your speedo is not moving, vtec will not engage.

i think your speed sensor kong already. there's a method how to check ecu error code...some wire need to be shorted. maybe you could try find the method on the net. from the code you'll know what is faulty.

what code is thrown from the CEL??

check the code firstlah bro, only then will know whats the problem

cool info....vtec won't open if speedo not working..??true is it..?

if ur b18c is using obdII like mine, just short the diagnostic plug at the ecu and u can check for the codes on ur dashboard...u'll have to count how many times the check engine light blinks, slow blinks are the front numbers while the fast blink are the back numbers....
arent the short blinks representing single codes (1-9)

and long blinks the ten ten ten numbers?

owh

its the same

my bad :D

Broken speed sensor. Engine check light comes on when it senses any damaged sensors. Guarantee u thats the problem!

Yeah, you might have the same problem like my car.. My speedometer sometimes working sometimes not and when it's not, the engine check light comes on and vtec doesn't work.. Another thing is when engine check light comes on, the fuel seems to run extremely rich because the fuel meter goes down much faster than usual...

the moral of the story:just expedite replace any faulty sensor that`s will cousing check engine permanent on...

Yeah, you might have the same problem like my car.. My speedometer sometimes working sometimes not and when it's not, the engine check light comes on and vtec doesn't work.. Another thing is when engine check light comes on, the fuel seems to run extremely rich because the fuel meter goes down much faster than usual..."

sounds like oxygen sensor fault. Get that checked. Happened to me. My car back fired flames everywhere... was cool though :P

ya i got it fixed already
it costs me rm160 (new in box) should be around 50-80 from kedai potong

the repair man told me that you will need to have the correct speed, rpm and water temp for vtec to work

my engine is having very high FC too
my lamda sensor kong d (the one at the exhaust)
it detects how much air that is going out and tells the engine how much fuel needed

when lamda sensor is not working, fc will be high at low speed and low rpm..

the guy suggested that i just install a VAFC it will give the same effect
Lamda sensor will be around rm600 : SSSSS
VAFC 500 including dyno and installation
im getting a vafc for my car next week..waiting for salary to come in..haha

the lamda sensor is borsh or honda?
borsh will be cheaper than honda original...
both are same thing~

Shoken7, which workshop do you go to get your car fixed ? Might be interested to send my car there too and maybe install the vafc too cause my lamda sensor also dead liao.. thanks

lamda sensor??? o2 sensor kottt,... near the cat converter,...
btw,... vtec open not only based on those three things mentioned,... got more,... i think 7 items to fulfill,...

correct me if i'm wrong,...

vafc rm500??? new???
make sure u dun get a look-alike,...

woa 7 things to fulfill the vtec operation...i only know one ...if temperature low below certain temperature it can't function...tis is basically to protect the system like vtec,mivec,vvti,valvatronic...
but wat is the other 6?? any sifu here know ??

This one is stock P30 ECU (other ECU, I didn't test so much, so dunno)
If chipped, depending on the program, it can be very different for some of the needed requirements like speed and coolant temp.

a) any check codes will result in limp mode. No VTEC.

b) Solenoid not getting enough voltage/mampos/(not there, B20B stock block, lol). No VTEC. (or using VTEC killer cams/roller cams :P)

c) Oil pressure not enough / or too low. Vtec solenoid opens, and no pressure present to lock the middle lobe in place. No VTEC.

d) Speed below 40kmh (or about there) that's why when you free rev, vtec doesn't turn on. That's also why when speed sensor kantoi = No Vtec.

e) Coolant temp not hot enough. Stock ECU needs the coolant to be hot enough before it allows VTEC to engage. Coolant temp too low, like 40 degs will not allow vtec to turn on. (that temp is like the first few minutes you start your engine in the morning. Too cool = no vtec.

That's five I can think off.. what's the other 2?

Hondata has a MAP reference for VTEC operation, but dunno if the stock ECU got or not.

nice info for non-vtec players like us...:D
but interested in 'em...

Write your reply...