Well i guess i've spoke too soon.

Ecclestone calls on Singapore to bid for F1
Officials interested in opening dialogue

28/03/06 09:54​
vide.gif

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica]
[/FONT]
Singapore could be the next country to host a Grand Prix, according to reports in southeast Asia.

Daily newspaper Today rejuvenated speculation that the island, situated south of Malaysia, could stage a Monaco-like race in 2008.

The publication quoted Bernie Ecclestone as saying that he would 'positively try to make (a Singapore GP) happen'. Ecclestone had previously ruled out the race because the calendar was already full.

But 75-year-old Ecclestone, after successfully writing a 20-race clause into the 2008 regulations, now says: “My advice is that if somebody in Singapore is interested and wants to be the promoter - they should contact me and we can start talking about what we can do. Maybe we can squeeze one more (race) in Asia.”

Responding to Ecclestone’s comments, Singapore sports council boss Oon Jin Teik said hosting F1 is 'expensive' but would 'bring good returns'.

He also added: “I have not met Mr Ecclestone but would be interested to have a chat with him.”

Again? They were talking about this a 2 years ago. In the end NATO.

singapore realised that they made poor judgement (oppose to malaysia) to bid & stage an F1 leg then.

Ecclestone talks $$$$

let see if singapore pulls the kiasu card or opens wallet. BUt 2 legs so close proximity isnt good. will hurt someone or another.

luckily we have petrona$ :wink:

" Ecclestone talks $$$$"

no doubt he wants to expand his business to the asia market as wide as possible...