E-MANAGE PROBLEMS!!!! (4G63)

• Thread starter airtreking
  • Start date
  • Replies 53
  • Views 9K
A

airtreking

To all you poor ppl :P

I have numberous feedback from professional tuners from England, U.S and Singapore about the problems with e-manage and the evo 4G63 and they all have the same conclusion. I quote from automotorsports, this is the link:

http://www.automotosports.com/EVO_stage_1.asp

"E-Manage is an inexpensive programmable fuel management system that allows you to properly tune your factory fuel system, without having to change the entire factory ECU system to an expensive "stand-alone" unit. The e-Manage system is a universal "piggy-back" type unit, which taps into most factory ECU wiring and it still utilizes the existing sensors. Basic functions will allow the user to slightly alter factory injector duty-cycle(± 20% at 5 preset RPM points), by intercepting and altering airflow or MAP sensor signals, but are only accessible though the use of our PC-Windows based "e-Manage Support Tool" communication software."

BUT!!!!!!: :angry:

"WARNING: After countless hours of dyno tuning it has been found that the additional timing harness for the greddy E-Manage is incompatible with the Evolution VIII ignition coils and may cause them to burn up, though you can still rely upon the E-Manage for advanced fuel tuning capabilities."

So dont let e-manage take control of the ignition....

Johan

I dont actually have one man... :) but i know that many others have..haha...just trying to help out.... this information may not be new... i dunno... you can find some really cheap e-manage out there though....

Johan

I heard tat E-manage is not ideal for tuning Forced induction engines because the maps are based on RPM.

It is more suitable for N/A engines.

Turbo engines have varying manifold pressure against engine speed against Thottle position.

The pressure sensors tat E-manage offer are merely for the AIC function.

aiyah, i thought u have.. maybe can get cheap cheap ma..

joseph: its not that "not meant for turbo cars" its more like the tuners can tune it or not..

Originally posted by Joeker@Jan 19 2004, 03:42 PM
I heard tat E-manage is not ideal for tuning Forced induction engines because the maps are based on RPM.

It is more suitable for N/A engines.

Turbo engines have varying manifold pressure against engine speed against Thottle position.

The pressure sensors tat E-manage offer are merely for the AIC function.
yeah thats true ..

For AirFlow Map: Throttle Position x RPM

For Ignition Timing Map: Pressure Sensor or Absolute/Relative Pressure x RPM

Thats good info, :) whats does motec, haltech, f-con v pro and autotronic use then? indeed turbo cars have got to do alot with pressure....

Johan

WC,

E-manage relies on RPM x Throttle Position. Similar fundamental as S-AFC.

Thats Ok if your car is N/A because at any given RPM or throttle position, the manifold pressure is vacumn, i.e. negative pressure.

But for turbocharged cars, its a completely different story. As you may well know, (contrary to popular belief) the boost doesn't "kick-in" at certain RPM. It depends on how much exhuast gas is generated by the amount of load the engine is subjected to.

For example, a Turbocharged car might be cruising 130km/h, 4,000 RPM @ 30% Throttle position, the boost meter will show negative pressure.

But on the other hand, if I were driving 80km/h and decide to stab at the throttle all of a sudden, I could be doing 130km/h, 4,000 RPM @ 30% Throtle position with Boost ( Positive Pressure).

Now if I were to riched the fuel at 4,000 RPM, it would run too rich if I was not at boost at 4,000 RPM. but if I lean out the mixture at 4,000RPM, then I might face detonation or pinging if I run at boost at 4,000RPM.

Thats the problem wif RPM based tuning for turbocharged cars.

Agreed with Joeker. btw, good info.

I'm currently running e-manage on my engine. It provide me all the map that I need to tune my engine (fuel/iginition). All I can say, better than S-AFC.

Originally posted by airtreking@Jan 19 2004, 07:10 AM
To all you poor ppl :P

I have numberous feedback from professional tuners from England, U.S and Singapore about the problems with e-manage and the evo 4G63 and they all have the same conclusion. I quote from automotorsports, this is the link:

http://www.automotosports.com/EVO_stage_1.asp

"E-Manage is an inexpensive programmable fuel management system that allows you to properly tune your factory fuel system, without having to change the entire factory ECU system to an expensive "stand-alone" unit. The e-Manage system is a universal "piggy-back" type unit, which taps into most factory ECU wiring and it still utilizes the existing sensors. Basic functions will allow the user to slightly alter factory injector duty-cycle(± 20% at 5 preset RPM points), by intercepting and altering airflow or MAP sensor signals, but are only accessible though the use of our PC-Windows based "e-Manage Support Tool" communication software."

BUT!!!!!!: :angry:

"WARNING: After countless hours of dyno tuning it has been found that the additional timing harness for the greddy E-Manage is incompatible with the Evolution VIII ignition coils and may cause them to burn up, though you can still rely upon the E-Manage for advanced fuel tuning capabilities."

So dont let e-manage take control of the ignition....

Johan
I think this issue have been retified by Greddy itself
they are selling the adapter purposely for E8 use,

Check it out

http://www.mohdparts.com/emanage/tmp/options/adapters/adapters.html

uhmm, doesnt it work the way like AFC? like u say rite? i find it ok with my AFC. no problem at all. anyway. nuff said. whoever who has emanage and think its crap. i want to buy it. rm300... anytime. full set.

since its lousy ma, mai sell it cheap lor...

i dont think at 140, 4000rpm 30% throttle both +ve n -ve pressure can happen, most of the time i need floor it max to get max boost. but anyway, its hard to step at 30% rite? most of the time i notice its either 10% or less ... or to be 100%-80%.. hardly can adjust my throttle to 30%..

dont know.., yet to try that the pressure can be up n down. i have no complains yets. satisfied with my AFC at the moment. but emanage will be nicer :)

geez...no wonder ur car so fast la eclipse....

"Eclipse car fast Baiii...." :D

no la my car got AFC only. no aftermarket ECU, programmable.. hopefully someone can throw their eDamage to me for a cheap price ma.. since its lousy to tune turbo cars...

my cAR SLOWER than BAI

oi wai chung u get emanage for rm 300 then u sell me ur afc for rm 100 la okayyyy :D

microtech is good for NA and turbo engines.
with Joshua. T to tune it for you, its guaranteed to improve performance..