Do I need to replace my civic engine after 350,000 km?

ayie_JFK

Aug 18, 2006

Need your opinion because I don't know much about engine though I've been driving my ej7 vtec for almost 1 year and it has clocked 350,000km (I acquired it at 180,000km) due to the fact that I drive JB-KL weekly for almost 1 year.

My question is: -

Is it true that it is recommendable to OVERHAUL OR REPLACE the engine after 200,000km/300,000km because one of my friend was advised by his mechanic to get a new engine to replace his 240,000km ek4 engine based on the reason that it will have a lot of problem after 240,000km?

So far I don't have any problem with my engine. It runs smoothly with regular service using a semi-synthetic oil change every 7000km. Works fine at 150-160kmh on highway and better fuel consumption compared to my friends newer campro for gen-2 and waja respectively.

Thanks!​

kRiminaLz

Docklands/SAlam
i dont think u need to change the engine..
try to do a compression check 1st, if everything is inplace, dat shud be ok..
but if ur mechanic detect some faulty or whatever, then,
u might need to overhauled it.. some things needs to b change due to wear n tear..

but u've sd dat, ur engine is still smooth n fuel consumption r still ok rite? so y worry?

amran

Dec 11, 2004
wait until got problem, only then decide to change or not. now everything still runs smooth so no need to worry lor.

selvahraj

Jul 2, 2004
well bro u need to check whether the engine consumes black oil or not.Check out d eksos smoke.?if its to black then somthing must be wrong...if notur engine is still in good condition...

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
If still working fine.. use it..

After all.. if it breaks down.. all the more reason to change to a BIGGER engine.. ROFL!

Stormrider

Sep 22, 2005
TRG
just dont waste ur money........
wait until the problems comes then change ur engine

darkemperor

Jan 4, 2006
belive me deeeep down inside u there is something whispering u to go n get a DOHC VTEC.....kekekeke

me to had the same question in mind when my old engine clocked 280k km...and it was doing very well as yours....finally cudnt tahan anymore n get my dream engine.....

no heart feeling yahhhh.....my 2 cents...:X-:

ayie_JFK

Aug 18, 2006
Thanks 4 ur opinions guys! Thats true lah what all of u said. DOHC VTEC? hahaha! (try 2 save RM lah..)

WhiteSpoonCivic

Tree Hugger
Aug 25, 2005
if it's not broken, don't fix it

udengfahlawi

Dec 3, 2004
putrajaya
if u change the engine now while it's still ok, mayb u cud get a few bucks selling off the old engine, since it is still working....but them some wud ask why u change engine since the one now still ok? ...dilemma.....dilemma....what if u drivin' one nite then the engine die in the middle of nowhere?...scarry thoughts?...hehehe....

...just maintain the engine now...but do maintain some good amount of money in the account in case the worse thing happen...gud luck....

ayie_JFK

Aug 18, 2006
wah..scared already. never mind lah..see how it goes n have 2 be prepared as well.