Dastek Unichip

Another thing is the full throttle gear shifts, has anybody with Unichip tried it yet?

mr handsome doesnt mean that u rev higher u get more torque campro max torque is at 4000rpm so any revving above 4000rpm results in no torque the torque band starts at 3000rpm to 4000rpm so no point revving high unless u usin system like vtec or vvti u torque will increase as ur rev goes higher so the best control this destek can do is improve the AF ratio,ignition control in other words a better management for ur engine u can fool around with the settings and see what happens.

hmmmm, but lets say i wanna get the best output is to rev till 6.5 la kan?? i mean for max hp...

max hp also depends on your power curve.

go for dyno, and check at which point your power curve maxes out, before it dips.

As the campro is basically an engine with economical head, there's really no point in revving beyond that point.

max torque and max hp is 2 diff things if ur torque band ends at 4000rpm u wont feel any mo pickup ur engine is just revving higher but ur transmission is doing the job of increasing everybit of torque that is left in the engine at higher revs.In terms of using variable valve timing ur torque keeps going up even at higher revs like at 6500rpm so u still get power at high revs and when at low revs the torque is also still high so good acceleration and good top end performance u get best of both worlds g2 has very poor low end torque so very weak pick up when ur rev hits 3000rpm u feel the sudden surge of power increasing till u hit 4000-5000 rpm u still feel the power rising but when at 6500rpm u wont feel the power anymore dat means u have exceeded ur torque band.

they said they can try to remove the speed limit coz they are not too sure wether it can work on a gta or not =(

vegabond what does full throttle gear shift means is it shifting gear without depress the clutch

I don't really get it. Do we have to depress the clutch when shifting gears?

actually i have seen that shifting technique b4 but not 2 sure how to perform it my frens uncle did it to his old ford escort bt that car is fully modified,he said that at a certain rev u can shift up ur gear without depress ur clutch and this technique differs to according to car design and power haven tried it scared i will screw up my gen2 transmission.

m1adam.. just a short question... currently u r running on dastek piggy-back ...is it with racing-cam or just oem cam??

mr pottsum my g2 is fresh from proton yard not yet modded nothin done still usin standard rims no piggy on my back jst made some adjustments on my standard ecu dats all still can hit 200km/h its a manual im looking for some piggyback systems but haven came across dat suits my needs da AFC Neo is quite impressive.

gtiwtks, just a quick question... do you still using oem cam with the piggy back or have u change to racing cam combo with the piggy-back??

There is no point raising a standard engine rev limiter,you are not getting more power instead the engine life will be shorter is keep revving above the std rev limit.The campro valve train is only design to safely operate at max 7000rpm.Revving above that is useless as the torque and power curve have dropped.It might be good for personal pleasure.It is best to change the intake/exhaust systems first before touching the ecu.Second is the camshaft,then get the ecu to be tuned with the mods done.

Full throttle shift is shifting without lifting the foot off the throttle pedal,but still need to press the clutch though,Unless using dogbox.

Unichip is same like e-manage,it's a piggyback system.

well the thing is i have already upgrade my cam+extrator+exhaust so rite now im just surveying what are available for siemens equip gti... to complement my mods.. kindda interested with the dastek piggy back since one of sgti here haf already done it... does anyone here able to fit emanage on to their siemens equip sgti??

SAFC has very limited tuning options compared to the Unichip.
For exacmple, it's not possible for the SAFC to control ignigtion timing.
Also, there is significantly less mapping points for the SAFC.

Potssum,
I am using oem cam but with adjustable cam pulleys.
Before unichip, i can always see me rpm needle going up and down.
You can try to call up a few emanage tuner and see what they said.
Since you already do ur cam as well is cheaper compare to me if i add in cam coz need to pay extra 250 for retune. LOL.

ic... mine also has already fit with campulley... but just on the exhaust side... i think car that has already fitted with racing cam should also be fitted with adjustable cam pulley to fine tune the cam timing...

how much it cost u to install the piggy-back and also the tuning?? performance wise.. how does its performs compare to standard??? lastly... hehehe how bout the fuel consumption??

Postssum,

Cost me 2.2k for the unichip. Actually you can settle down with verison Q for 2k. The 2k involved installation, tuning, and 2 dyno result whereby before and after unichip. Mine add another 200 bugs because i want to utilise throttle position to temporally cut off the a/c while hard revving. The best part i can turn if off as i want to. So have to use version Q+ and some customization wiring.

Result wise i am quite satisfied. Nowadays keep on kena gf nagging becaause driving fast. But in fact i just drive with the normal throttle position only. LOL. F/C dun know la. Not yet habis my minyak.

The car feel so light. The car feel like without all the amps, woofer
sound proof and etc.

Much more willing to go. From 3k rpm to reach 6 rpm is easily reach and
effortless.

Now i got the feeling the brake tak makan.

Give me a shock when i try to cut que first day driving from home as i
over shoot coz didn't expect the momentum and speed. lol.

You can see the chart as follow:-

Hp on Engine
http://www.geocities.com/candyman_tks/hp_engine.jpg

Hp on Wheel
http://www.geocities.com/candyman_tks/hp_wheel.jpg

Torque on Engine
http://www.geocities.com/candyman_tks/torque_engine.jpg

Torque on wheel
http://www.geocities.com/candyman_tks/torque_wheel.jpg

wa.. impressive results u get there... other then piggy back what are the mods that u haf done to your car?? exhaust system?? extractor?? erm just curios why is it your car start loosing horse power after 6500rpm??