Damper Mountings

piggy_ivan

To all AE80 LE sifus,

My LE front mountings rosak edi. wanna change new 1s but i realise mine has 4 lugs unlike the normal LE which has 3.
would like 2 know if my car has been modded b4 or its like dat. i've aso asked some spareparts shop bout it n they don't sell toyota mountings w 4 lugs. :blink:
PLS HELP ME!!! THANKS...

Eh i have always known toyota to have 3. Yours is 4? Maybe moded. But have to see if other Le owners have the same thing.

yea... i was shocked aso. but i checked n there r no other holes.
looks ori 2 me. somehow everybody who saw it said its modded edi.
some even say imported version. very confusing...

4 is the original configuration from toyota. most local spare parts store sell the 3 lug version. one of our resident master sifus, GT20V has recently acquired 4 lugs mounts like the original, but unless im mistaken, they are not OEM merchandise.

there will be no problems from using 3 or 4 lug damper mounts. buy the one that u can accept most or which is the most suitable for ur budget.

take care to note the position of the mounts as u re install them. The LE mounting hole on the chassis is not perfectly round as in newer models, it is oblong. this means u can direct the absorber to 2 positions; close to the front or to the back. this is possible with both 3/4 lugs mounts.

in the front position, ur absorbers will have 0 or negative caster, and will result in lighter steering and quick response.

in the rear position, ur absorbers will lean towards the back of the car, which gives u positive caster. this setup will cause ur steering wheel to feel a BIT (just a little bit) "heavier" to turn, but u will notice that the tires are more willing to correct (straighten) themselves once u let go.

both ur mounts should be pointing at the same direction (front/back) unless ur chassis has had damage, and if u measure at a tire shop turns out its the best way to correct and match caster for both sides, then u could arrange it in whichever manner (1 front, 1 back) necessary

or u could just do something with ur chassis to correct it :P

dat means i can use the oem 1s laa...
cool... no need 2 find the one w 4 lugs.
thanks 4 the advice.
nice LE dude.

juz got my mountings done.
finally found the parts. phew...
the price is RM130 4 the front pair.
was it worth it?

thats about the right price. 65 per side. dont worry, u bought it already. just use them. if anybody comes along and brags how they can get it cheaper, tiao them y never recommend sooner, and then make friends with them. make sure the next time u need to buy this stuff. call them up for help ;) :lol:

wahh... another useful tip.
thanks... i'll keep dat in mind.
was wondering... AE101 supercharger can fit LE?

Malaysia boleh. yes it can. find a credible, capable and experienced mechanic and viola! ur wish is my command (for $$$)

:lol:

Write your reply...