D.I.Y Aircond Compressor Replacement

EFN

For the last 5 days I have been driving around without Aircond and Power Steering, simply because my 13 years old AE101 Silvertop Aircond Compressor has died on me and the belt almost split into 2.

I sent my car to an aircond shop for repair, they quoted me RM650 at least to have everything back as how it is (Used Compressor replacement & Aircond Servicing). Even half of the price is still too much for me so I decided to fix this problem on my own.

So I begin with calling our fren EG9 to see if he have any spare AC, nope sold out already. Then called AE80TypeD....nope he said his AC last time was a bit insane (sometimes on sometimes off as it pleased). Then I went to my regular chop-shop, and you know what? the tauke gave me an AE111 Blacktop AC for RM100 only! including the belt hahahahaha - just my luck.

Next I jacked up my car and set about replacing the AC. I was not an easy thing to do so now I understand why the charges for complete AC job can fetch RM650.

I was forced to take out my right wheel to access the AC and PS area from the side. The AC is mounted by a 12" bolts (4 of them) and it was a bit tricky to remove due to tight angles. After "wrestling" with several other element of the AC finally I got my damaged AC out. What do you know, AE101 AC pulley is much smaller than AE111's, good thing I brought the replacement AC together with the belt. the other difference that I saw was that the AC tube socket was a bit different in size. Blacktop AC tube hole was bigger by 1mm. Duh how do I solve this problem now.....after tinkering fo a few minutes I got an idea which seemed to be working. Remove the bigger O Ring from AE111 tube remains and put them on my AE101 sockets, and then wrap them up tightly with plumbing tape until they plugs in to AE111 AC nice and fit - and then bolt them down - problem solved. hahahaha.

Again, wrestle around with bolts and hoses to get the AE111 AC attached. Then when done drive to the nearest AC shop for gas refill (once you opened up an AC the gases will be drained out). Pay RM20 for gas refill and WALLA!!! my car is now back operating like sweet hahahaha

Total overhead = RM120, LOTSA Sweat, Patience & Oily Dirt.

And uhhh, seems that with AE111 Blacktop AC, the revs are even faster now.

Oh man.... happening!

I'll try DIY doing it next time mine breaks down.... hehehe..

btw, where are you located to do the fuel regulator mod? am interested.

EFN,
Mine using AE92 compressor so i think next time kong oredi i look for u la.. ahahahaahahahahaha.. fren, i think u can registered one company called Erwandy DIY Workshop Sdn Bhd or EFN DIY Workshop Enterprise.. ahahahahaaha! :) :D

Regards,
Mike

Originally posted by TRD16v@Jan 22 2005, 07:48
EFN,
Mine using AE92 compressor so i think next time kong oredi i look for u la.. ahahahaahahahahaha.. fren, i think u can registered one company called Erwandy DIY Workshop Sdn Bhd or EFN DIY Workshop Enterprise.. ahahahahaaha! :) :D

Regards,
Mike
Alooo good morning my good fren. I already have a name for it, EFcustoms laaa.

hahahhaa

Originally posted by dagger@Jan 22 2005, 04:51
Oh man.... happening!

I'll try DIY doing it next time mine breaks down.... hehehe..

btw, where are you located to do the fuel regulator mod? am interested.
Interested in the A-FPR, shure-shure. Just gimme a call and we can discuss this further. I am paying some exhaust dudes in Wangsa Maju to use their workshop.

good DIY Erwandy ;) ...save money oso
my 20V oso 2 times change alternator...all DIY
but dont have any experience open AC compressor like U...
got one question 4 U lah sifu,
why my aircond compressor cut off after 2000 rpm?
it will cut off after 2000rpm and if u put a pressure gauge
to check the AC pressure then rev till 2000,then pressure will drop!!
go to air cond shop but they cannot fix it,they said maybe wiring problem..
FYI,my silvertop running with original EE90 dashboard/aircond controller/
AC blower.I'm only transplant engine but not not with dashboard/original
AE101 AC controller.
Hope any sifu can give me any idea,or need to rewiring AC?
pls advice.............

Wandy, next time no need to take out wheel, turn the steering to the right side then kaw tim already... :)

Originally posted by MySecaSx@Jan 22 2005, 08:00
good DIY Erwandy ;) ...save money oso
my 20V oso 2 times change alternator...all DIY
but dont have any experience open AC compressor like U...
got one question 4 U lah sifu,
why my aircond compressor cut off after 2000 rpm?
it will cut off after 2000rpm and if u put a pressure gauge
to check the AC pressure then rev till 2000,then pressure will drop!!
go to air cond shop but they cannot fix it,they said maybe wiring problem..
FYI,my silvertop running with original EE90 dashboard/aircond controller/
AC blower.I'm only transplant engine but not not with dashboard/original
AE101 AC controller.
Hope any sifu can give me any idea,or need to rewiring AC?
pls advice.............
Me not sifu, just another thrifty Toyota enthusiat like all of you hahahahah.

Since you are running hybrid Aircond setup, it is quite possible that AE101 AC Compressor is not compatible with the dashboard console & components of EE90. You see, EE90 uses the traditional AC setup while AE101 Silvetop has already use the more advanced AC setup (which includes Auto Climatic Control).

or it could be just a bad case of AC dying...duh - time to get you hands dirty hahahaha

Originally posted by 4agze@Jan 22 2005, 08:09
Wandy, next time no need to take out wheel, turn the steering to the right side then kaw tim already... :)
WAH this good one woooo.....me so jurassic kenot even think of it hahahahaha. hell!, I should have turn the wheel instead of opening it HAHAHAHAHA

Originally posted by EFN@Jan 22 2005, 03:10
For the last 5 days I have been driving around without Aircond and Power Steering, simply because my 13 years old AE101 Silvertop Aircond Compressor has died on me and the belt almost split into 2.
air cond compress problem will lead to loss of power steering izzit?

dear EFN,
i know my Putra compressor not so good, got aeroplane sound sometimes. last night while doing some reverse parking up a slope noticed like no power steering could it be the compressor kong liao?

canken2,
yaeh...possible if your AC compressor died/jammed/stuck your engine will
lost power,and your p/steering effected.
my experience last time,AC tensioner bearing jammed....and belt oso
snap,luckily not far from my house...
imagine if happen on h/way....
Erwandy,
maybe i need to check with wiring specialist first,or
if they cannot maybe i need to find AE101 dash,console,blower..etc..
then fix it...duh!! lots of job....

Originally posted by MySecaSx@Jan 22 2005, 08:51
canken2,
yaeh...possible if your AC compressor died/jammed/stuck your engine will
lost power,and your p/steering effected.
my experience last time,AC tensioner bearing jammed....and belt oso
snap,luckily not far from my house...
imagine if happen on h/way....
Erwandy,
maybe i need to check with wiring specialist first,or
if they cannot maybe i need to find AE101 dash,console,blower..etc..
then fix it...duh!! lots of job....
thanks MySecaSx today got to check aair cond compressor pulak :(

in a 20V, the a/c compressor and power steering pump run on 1 belt, so what happens to one component will affect the other mah. usually a/c pulley jam the whole thing will be heavy lor. if the belt snaps of u take it out, nothin will be running the power steer pump.