Convert frm LH drive to RH drive

satigue

Any of u guys gone thru the hassle of converting frm LH to RH drive? The reason I am asking is because I intend to brg back a LH drive car from overseas. And rugi if I don't use up my AP. Wat about JPJ, Puspakom or even tax? Is it worth the trouble? Any advice/info is much appreciated from bros out there.
Cheers.

satigue, the vehicles that you plan to convert from LHD to RHD have a RHD version or it's only available in LHD?

Btw, many LHD cars on the road. Suggest to buy the toy hand grip for tolls and such. :D

Vspec, thanks for your reply. Yes, the model I intend to bring in hv RH drive models & also on our msian soils. I hv seen LH drives on our roads but what's the point..diff to drive la. haha....use toy hand grips....bugger:thefinger:

Any of u guys gone thru the hassle of converting frm LH to RH drive? The reason I am asking is because I intend to brg back a LH drive car from overseas. And rugi if I don't use up my AP. Wat about JPJ, Puspakom or even tax? Is it worth the trouble? Any advice/info is much appreciated from bros out there.
Cheers.

Say laa GTR 35 .... white colour ... don't beat around the bush and say LH drive car laaa .. :rofl::rofl::thefinger:

as far as i know, regardless of the car, it is best if u buy a RHD halfcut of the same model. for sure the the placement of accesories mount on the firewall such as clutch pump, brake pump, wiper motor, aircon pipes route, throttle linkage etc is different. the dashboard for sure different including the route of all the wirings. then u will have a spare set of mechanical parts including the engine, gearbox etc in case they fail...

since u mentioned this issue in skyline forums and u mentioned RHD conversion parts are available, then i'm pretty sure the correct skyline halfcut can be easily sourced locally.

or u can use the toy hand grips. save u a hell lot of cash n hassle hehehe...

as far as i know, regardless of the car, it is best if u buy a RHD halfcut of the same model. for sure the the placement of accesories mount on the firewall such as clutch pump, brake pump, wiper motor, aircon pipes route, throttle linkage etc is different. the dashboard for sure different including the route of all the wirings. then u will have a spare set of mechanical parts including the engine, gearbox etc in case they fail...

since u mentioned this issue in skyline forums and u mentioned RHD conversion parts are available, then i'm pretty sure the correct skyline halfcut can be easily sourced locally.

or u can use the toy hand grips. save u a hell lot of cash n hassle hehehe...
Thanks khoyos for yr reply. I asked in Skyline forum doesn't mean bringing in skyline ma....hehe. can be other car makes. Seems like it's possible but wonder how difficult to deal about the legality part. Don't thk anyone attempted this route before......

Say laa GTR 35 .... white colour ... don't beat around the bush and say LH drive car laaa .. :rofl::rofl::thefinger:
knn, dun flame me man......

Oooo....R35 is it? Hehehe :wavey:
V-Spec, I only wish I can afford one....

Thanks khoyos for yr reply. I asked in Skyline forum doesn't mean bringing in skyline ma....hehe. can be other car makes. Seems like it's possible but wonder how difficult to deal about the legality part. Don't thk anyone attempted this route before......
err, legality issues i'm not sure. cos a PROPER LHD to RHD conversion involves swapping the firewall! and that's where most chassis identification numbers are!

my mechanic did this once but that was on a putra race car, where legality issues does not arise at all...

My Brother Satigue...don't waste your time on this route. You might as well use that $$$ to upgrade your monster kaw kaw...

+1 on that. It is already a hassle and expensive to "bring" a car back to my, plus more money to convert to rhd. Seriously, it may be easier and cheaper to buy one in my.

I was looking around thinking of bringing one of my car home, but with shipping, 300% tax, etc. It cost almost the price of a new one.

If anyone knows a good way to bring a car back, let me know. :listen:

:rofl::rofl: U tell me one maa ... :rofl::thefinger:

---------- Post added at 02:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:55 PM ----------

Marry a Sultan's daughter? :rofl: Jk jk

Do you know one I can marry with? So, I will have to "convert" instead of my car :proud:

tax depend on your cc....

then got discount on tax price too.. 20% then 10%...

No need to bring LHD car lorr.... are u in middle east?
Conversion to RHD is absolute damn nightmare... can buy 2 of the same car.

Even in LHD country, you can still buy RHD car to bring back to Msia waaatttt.....even in Middle East, those guys buy gtrs and drive RHD.

No need to bring LHD car lorr.... are u in middle east?
Conversion to RHD is absolute damn nightmare... can buy 2 of the same car.

Even in LHD country, you can still buy RHD car to bring back to Msia waaatttt.....even in Middle East, those guys buy gtrs and drive RHD.
hi taiko gobiz,
hmm, seems mission imposible la. hv to abort the idea. i actually wanted to go your way of buying a RHD car & drive here but this government JPJ dun even allow to register any RHD vehicles. so i thk i just hv to save my money. or i can bring back a bike like Harley...no hassle of this. see how it goes la....
Thanks everyone for yr feedback.

hi taiko gobiz,
hmm, seems mission imposible la. hv to abort the idea. i actually wanted to go your way of buying a RHD car & drive here but this government JPJ dun even allow to register any RHD vehicles. so i thk i just hv to save my money. or i can bring back a bike like Harley...no hassle of this. see how it goes la....
Thanks everyone for yr feedback.

Bos I'm not taiko... :rofl:

Certain AP type will allow you to buy RHD car from elsewhere if you live in LHD country. So the car doesn't have to be registered in that LHD country.

But this you have to check with ministry of human resources....

Not MITI mer?

All AP of course MITI

But special AP ie. brain gain project, need to check with HR ministry... this is the only AP that will allow to buy RHD car from separate country if you come from LHD country