conti owners

apexc

anyone here driving using any japanese made electronics gagdets....

examples...RSM...speed meter....AFC....Haltek piggy bag...or any piggy bag...

Planning to install Unitek Dastek piggy back for my AFM-> MAF conversion...well no marnet no talk. Check Tom's AFM->MAF conversion page

as i know.....those elec. gagdets...need alot of sensors n my little car doesn't has those sensors....

example...oxygen sensor....ECU built-in MAP sensor....no speed signal to ECU only cable to speedometer.....

so alfeoturbo does your alfa i assume has those sensor that i mention..?

in your alfa featured in the traffic mag....?

aaaaaaa....bazet......what's the address for toms....

Originally posted by apexc@Dec 6 2004, 23:26
as i know.....those elec. gagdets...need alot of sensors n my little car doesn't has those sensors....

example...oxygen sensor....ECU built-in MAP sensor....no speed signal to ECU only cable to speedometer.....

so alfeoturbo does your alfa i assume has those sensor that i mention..?

in your alfa featured in the traffic mag....?

aaaaaaa....bazet......what's the address for toms....
normally if u buy electronic gadgets, they come along with their own sensors. for example if u buy HKS water temp meter, they will provide u the sensor as well. so u dun need to worry.

okie..as for my car, my car has the oxygen sensor, but when i use haltech, this sensor is no longer i use since it is spoil. so my tuner ignore the function call 'close loop function'

as for the ecu, my original ecu is not running on map sensor, mine is air flow sensor but again, i have replace it to haltech map sensor which is not built in on the haltech.

yes, that is my alfa featured in traffic mags
anyway, if u need more advice, i can always bring u to the right person to do it.

alfeoturbo.. I also read the article in that traffic mag about your car.. not many alfa cars in m'sia are modded to that level... how much you have spend to make it a beast runner? And can a normal 8V engine mod with supercharger or turbo...? Is your mech can tune/mod other conti car specificly a citroen?

kenxantia, as a matter of fact, 8V can also be turbolized. my future 155 is either gonna get turbolized or gonna transplant monstrous engine from 164's 3ltr V6 12V. go to Exodus, as alfeo to bring you to see Albert. he can probably turbolize every car in this side of the world hehe.

Originally posted by kenxantia@Dec 7 2004, 09:03
alfeoturbo.. I also read the article in that traffic mag about your car.. not many alfa cars in m'sia are modded to that level... how much you have spend to make it a beast runner? And can a normal 8V engine mod with supercharger or turbo...? Is your mech can tune/mod other conti car specificly a citroen?
bro,

the amount of money i spent is pretty much since i bought everything brand new.
raughly i have spent about 20k include those rims and other accessories.

any engine can be turbocharged or supercharged. but in m'sia i would prefer turbocharged..since supercharged is not so common.

okie...basicly i go to two different mechanic. EXODUS motorsport did all the engine modification while GT AUTO do all the tuning things.
the reason i did not let exodus tune because they don't tune haltech. anyway...either one of this workshop is good. i can refer u to them if u want too.

Originally posted by subsonique@Dec 7 2004, 10:04
kenxantia, as a matter of fact, 8V can also be turbolized. my future 155 is either gonna get turbolized or gonna transplant monstrous engine from 164's 3ltr V6 12V. go to Exodus, as alfeo to bring you to see Albert. he can probably turbolize every car in this side of the world hehe.
woi sub,

u go for 3.0 one lar. put in 3.0 then turbocharged it!
u know there is a 164/ 168 with 3.0 turbocharged?
that car is fitted with haltech ecu too....

haha a 3lttr and turbocharged? gila la wei. the 3ltr V6 12V is already 195hp la. turbolizing it would send it flying high la haha. but if the 3ltr project is a no go, then the 8V might experience some lateral Gs hehe. hey bro, the 186 turbo is it silver in color? but first things first, if i were to settle a 2ltr engine and swap in 3ltr engine, got jalan to JPJ approve or not? hehe.

waa.. that is another long way to go if transplant to a bigger & better engine....

Anyway....2ltr o 3ltr engine required JPJ of course ...but as far as i know... they only allow a 30% increase in capacity... that will be a 50% increase... so not sure lah...but if you have big cable at RTD..everything is possible..... :D ...

subsonique...
what you mean by "the 8V might experience some lateral Gs ".....??

hehe simply meaning, turbolizing the 155 2ltr 8V engine la. hey bro, which Citroen do you drive la? you looking for after market parts for your Citroen? if you do, why not surf www.x-tune.com and check those things out. they do carry stuff for French cars hehe. my friend just put in ASD Tuning bodykit for his C3 hehe. gorgeous. if you want those stuff, do tell me about it.

OIC... I already quote x-tune for musketier body kit for my xantia... but need to wait until my xantia "betul2 power".. then that is sure my next plan... no point adding a body kit but the car can be overtaken by a standard/modded kancil ... :D :D ...

anyway sub... if you know the price..please PM me.....

p/s photo of my car are in ZTH photo garage...my car link

ken, you definitely can increase the performance of your car. but not that extensive la. like open pod filters, they do have the French made Green cotton air filter or BMC Carbon Fiber filter hehe. not that much you can do other than turbolizing your Cit bro. like performance cams and pulleys, you got to import them. not too sure where to get it here, but X-Tune may be able to help.

to bro alfeoturbo........when i get the money.....i'll definitely call u personal.....

dunno when do i have that money.....RM1800.....right.....?

for those alfas....i know one place that can do this......even to Fiats'.....

i asked.....but he say never try before.....scared problems occurs

but a place where european tuner in Sri Damansara......package.....RM9k for turbolized........guranteed....30hp to 40hp.....all customized....but only one year warranty......

did u all install RSM without speedometer sensor to ECU....very keen to install one...happen to have it from fren very cheap.....

Originally posted by apexc@Dec 7 2004, 17:54
to bro alfeoturbo........when i get the money.....i'll definitely call u personal.....

dunno when do i have that money.....RM1800.....right.....?

for those alfas....i know one place that can do this......even to Fiats'.....

i asked.....but he say never try before.....scared problems occurs

but a place where european tuner in Sri Damansara......package.....RM9k for turbolized........guranteed....30hp to 40hp.....all customized....but only one year warranty......

did u all install RSM without speedometer sensor to ECU....very keen to install one...happen to have it from fren very cheap.....
bro...message me when you are ready.

huh? what item is 1800?

i believe not everyone dare to mod alfa or fiat car, but for me i think modding alfa or fiat car is the same. the difference is u cannot be too greedy to have highboost as those japanese car since we do not have much performance parts.

9k to turbolize conti car..hmm okie the price sounds good but u must find out what are the things they give u. for example...what type of steel do they use for turbomanifold and intercooler piping? do they provide u a ecu or what ever to control the fuel and ignition timing?

regarding about the RSM, well i actually wanted to fix and my mechanic says they can do it without any problem, but i got no money now kekeke. anyway i will check for u see if possible to install RSM without a speedometer sensor to the ecu.
will tell u in the next reply

by the way..what car are u driving there?

ok....driving citroen 1.9i with only 8v in it......so what is your max boost ...care to share...

u got PM....better discuss there.....all your secret recipe....hehehehe

max boost....last time with TD05 is 1 BAR
more then that...u can see the headgasket pecah

and now im using the smaller turbine...0.8 bar and this turbine tends to lose breath at high rpm
dynoed and get 200 on wheel boosting at 0.8
while my standard is only 95 onwheel/129 on flywheel(according to manual book)

i just copy this from another web page......

Just wanna know whether you guys will be interested in a turbo kit designed for ZX 2.0 8V. This kit will be designed by Wilson and myself for the ZX users who want more power out of the car. This will be a stage 1 kit and will increase your horsepower in the region of 50-60 bhp. We have worked out the math and whole kit roughly cost about RM 8990.00 whick includes parts, labour and dyno read out as your car in stock standard form and after the installtion of the turbo kit.

For more details about the stage 1 kit, kindly contact Mr. Wilson at 012-3546030 for more info on what he going to do with your car.

Yes there will be a warranty on the turbocharged engine by us....before
we even start with the modification process, the engine will checked and
examined if the engine is in sound order....if not then we will propose
to replace the faulty engine components (e.g your engine main bearings
are worned out and need to be replaced).....

Once all problems have been identified and resolved then we can start
work on turbocharging your engine....like i said earlier this is a stage
1 turbo kit and listed below are the modifications that need to be
done...

1. Replace exisiting ECU chip with performance chip
2. Fabricate a new exhaust manifold
3. Reduce compression ratio
4. Use suitable turbo for the engine
5. Modify intake system
6. Modify exhaust system
7. Full car tune up
8. Before and after dyno results

The boost of this system will be limited to only 8psi for reliabilty of
the engine....

Just like to highlight a few things to you....

1. The standard camshaft will just do fine with a turbocharged engine. So no need to replace the camshaft

2. Cam pulley can be left standard

3. Valve springs and seats needs to be changed if your using a 272 cam. So in this case can leave it standard.

4. Head gaskets will be custom made ones and the head will be o-ringed to strengthen the head gasket.

5. Bottom end can be left untouched provided your main bearings and thrust bearings are in good condition.

6. The performance chip will be adequate to supply the necessary fuel required by the engine. If this not the case, a rising rate fuel regulator needs to be installed.

7. The basic turbo kit which is stage 1 is not inclusive of an intercooler as we are only going to run the engine at 8 psi boost. Anything more than 10 psi requires an intercooler.

8. Oil cooler will be an option also.

9. We are going to use the standard pistons but going to add on a spacer plate to effectively reduce the compression ratio. If you want to opt out for forged pistons also can but that will cost a whole lot more than RM 8990.00

Any other technical questions that you might have, you guys can refer to my partner Wilson for more enlightment. He is an automotive engineer by profession and he will be able to answer all the questions that you guys have for him.