Compression

guys, anyone tried this before?

b16b block + b18cr stroker (conrod & crank) + b16b piston...

is it safe or maybe recomended to use the b18cr p73 piston for this setup?

hattech-v said:
guys, anyone tried this before?

b16b block + b18cr stroker (conrod & crank) + b16b piston...

is it safe or maybe recomended to use the b18cr p73 piston for this setup?

You should check the B18C rod + stroke length.. if it's equal to B16B, then probably you can use the B16B pistons. Or else at TDC, your pistons might be slightly above/below the deck... bye bye head / lose compression.

length for B18C is rod is 138mm and stroke is 87.2mm (specs from honda tuning magazine)

I dunno the measurements for B16B, but let's pretend to use B16A for the said project.

B16A rod is 134.4mm and stroke is 77.4mm. Add the two together, and you have
211.8mm, so if you use B18CR rods and crank, you have 225.2mm.. which will put the original B16A piston 13.4mm over the top of the deck at TDC. So you either find a piston that has the wrist pin 13.4mm above the stock position with the same dome design (for valve clearance) I don't think this type of piston can even be made (ahem, I could be wrong!), so it's obvious that the deck is not tall enough for this setup.

Of course, I know that the B16B has a taller block, so kinda depends on those measurements above.

Usually people using strokers use pistons that have higher/lower wrist pins than stock, since the rod + stroke length would influence the position of the piston. Or sometimes, they reduce the rod length/stroke length.. (which is why crower provides 'made to order' conrod and cranks)

shiroitenshi said:
You should check the B18C rod + stroke length.. if it's equal to B16B, then probably you can use the B16B pistons. Or else at TDC, your pistons might be slightly above/below the deck... bye bye head / lose compression.

length for B18C is rod is 138mm and stroke is 87.2mm (specs from honda tuning magazine)

I dunno the measurements for B16B, but let's pretend to use B16A for the said project.

B16A rod is 134.4mm and stroke is 77.4mm. Add the two together, and you have
211.8mm, so if you use B18CR rods and crank, you have 225.2mm.. which will put the original B16A piston 13.4mm over the top of the deck at TDC. So you either find a piston that has the wrist pin 13.4mm above the stock position with the same dome design (for valve clearance) I don't think this type of piston can even be made (ahem, I could be wrong!), so it's obvious that the deck is not tall enough for this setup.

Of course, I know that the B16B has a taller block, so kinda depends on those measurements above.

Usually people using strokers use pistons that have higher/lower wrist pins than stock, since the rod + stroke length would influence the position of the piston. Or sometimes, they reduce the rod length/stroke length.. (which is why crower provides 'made to order' conrod and cranks)

agree with u...
b16a + 1.8 stroker = cannot
b16a + ctr piston = can, but the piston will slightly above the deck
b16b + 1.8 stroker + p73 itr piston = can without any problem
b16b + 1.8 stroker + pct piston = i think can.. hehe... but lazy to read this article...
maybe someone can read it (21 pages) n summarize it here... hehe
refer here...
http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=717928&page=1

btw, where u get those rod length spec?

hattech-v said:
agree with u...
b16a + 1.8 stroker = cannot
b16a + ctr piston = can, but the piston will slightly above the deck
b16b + 1.8 stroker + p73 itr piston = can without any problem
b16b + 1.8 stroker + pct piston = i think can.. hehe... but lazy to read this article...
maybe someone can read it (21 pages) n summarize it here... hehe
refer here...
http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=717928&page=1

btw, where u get those rod length spec?

By accident.. I have an old issue on honda tuning magazine on my table talking about rod/stroke ratio (toilet reading... ROFL!!), and you popped this question.. real coincidence! I wouldn't have bothered to check if it wasn't next to me.

Oh.. And I did have this discussion with my mechanic/friend already... they told me cannot (B18c innards in a B16A), and they blew me numbers.. I didn't remember it then, nor now.. so have to look at magazine loh!

I also downloaded workshop manuals for EG/EK and the B16A supplement... so still studying them lah (on weekends)

hattech-v said:
i searched over the net but cudnt find any info on it... sigh..

Since you obviously have access to a shop that stocks those parts... why not take a vernier caliper and measure them.

Bro, mind sharing with me those manuals? In English izzit? Complete, thorough manuals or just certain parts?

shiroitenshi said:
I also downloaded workshop manuals for EG/EK and the B16A supplement... so still studying them lah (on weekends)

ace79 said:
Bro, mind sharing with me those manuals? In English izzit? Complete, thorough manuals or just certain parts?

Complete, english through manuals.. since they're US, just flip over.

What I mean is... The wiring for their right passenger side is the same colour as our left passenger side. It applies for other wiring that has right and left as well.

Here's the website I got it from

Have fun! They're huge!
http://hondatech.info/

B16 manual is another supplement, downloaded seperately.

Type R B16B has no english manual, since it's JDM only, which means the manual is in japanese, if you can find one.

B18C, you can get the manual for the USDM integra R, although certain specs (as far as I know) are different from the JDM one in terms of cams, and certain other features that I can't simply recall this late at night.

Thanks for the link bro!

shiroitenshi said:
Complete, english through manuals.. since they're US, just flip over.

What I mean is... The wiring for their right passenger side is the same colour as our left passenger side. It applies for other wiring that has right and left as well.

Here's the website I got it from

Have fun! They're huge!
http://hondatech.info/

B16 manual is another supplement, downloaded seperately.

Type R B16B has no english manual, since it's JDM only, which means the manual is in japanese, if you can find one.

B18C, you can get the manual for the USDM integra R, although certain specs (as far as I know) are different from the JDM one in terms of cams, and certain other features that I can't simply recall this late at night.