Car side mirror angle

richardtan

Dear Sifus, :wavey:

I have always been wondering why do drivers set / adjust the side mirror to an angle towards the side of the car door/body rather than away from it? I mean , why do driver like to set the mirror to an acute angle? What is the purpose?

To me, having the side mirror at a less acute angle helps to cover wider rear view angle which reduces most of the blindspots. But conventional wisdom cannot be without logic?! So, why do people set mirror at that angle?:banghead:

Pls enlighten.

Would very much appreciate it .
Sincerely:driver:
Richard

One of the reasons for adjusting the mirrors to an angle towards the side of the car door/body instead of wider angle is So that the driver easier to see his car rear wheel (good for reversing side parking).

Dear Sifus, :wavey:

I have always been wondering why do drivers set / adjust the side mirror to an angle towards the side of the car door/body rather than away from it? I mean , why do driver like to set the mirror to an acute angle? What is the purpose?

To me, having the side mirror at a less acute angle helps to cover wider rear view angle which reduces most of the blindspots. But conventional wisdom cannot be without logic?! So, why do people set mirror at that angle?:banghead:

Pls enlighten.

Would very much appreciate it .
Sincerely:driver:
Richard

The angles depends on the type of driving condition, traffic condition, and the familiarity of driver, the car dimension, the car's physique, speed, seating position, driver's vision, driver's position, etc.
there are so many variables, and of course too many drivers preferences to consider....

Therefore, there is no 1 mirror that can cater for all purpose. Use all the mirrors effectively and you'll be fine. Car manufacturers can only cater for general uses of these mirrors, therefore incorporated they some degree of adjustability of these mirrors.

Mirrors aside, many traffic incidents(read "accident") are not caused by mirrors, but through negligence, carelessness, wrecklessnees, and other human errors....