i think the words "expensive" and "cost alot of money" is slightly different, but this is we wanna really compare on words.
i think it depends on ppl's expectations. some ppl, they dun earn alot, maybe, average 2k a month. if they not really into ICE, then maybe an amp which cost about 1.5k then they consider it to be expensive. but if he really like ICE, and really want really good sound, even if the amp is lets say 5k, he will really save for it, or use easy-payment scheme, or wat not. that time, even if the amp is selling 7k, but he got a good offer is 5k, then he will say "its cheap!!" :)
myself, i am a newbie, and not at the level to buy 5k amp, recently i oso survey a few installers to get quote for installing some of my old equipment into my car. then there is one piece of "thing", which i need, and i find that different installer quote different price for it. one installer even dare to quote nearly double the price compared to another installer.
to me, i just smile and keep quiet, and go somewhere else. Maybe the installer wanna sotong me, but as a customer, if i feel that its not reasonable, then i can just go somewhere else, no one force me to buy from that installer. So, it is also up to the customer to do his homework and research, survey around first, and get the best value for ur money.
best value is not necessarily the cheapest price. it is about getting the most value out of ur money..it also is the quality of the workmanship, the time they take to do things, their experience, and teh stuff they use. some workmanship, is what ppl call as "professional fees", since this is a human service. you are paying for the person's time, overhead cost etc.
in those hair salon, they have different price for "junior cut", "senior cut", "vip cut" etc etc, some ppl cut hair few thousand oso got...hehe... oso is cut hair ma....siao hor?