b16a AUTO or MANUAL?eg or ek?

westlum

hiya everyone......just wana get some opinion here........^_^9
my fren ask me want his b16a eg auto engine or not.......onli 3800(engine+installation)
how ah?any diff btw eg n ek engine?if i buy the engine..can i change to manual?how much 4 the gearbox?

Originally posted by westlum@Feb 25 2005, 20:33
hiya everyone......just wana get some opinion here........^_^9
my fren ask me want his b16a eg auto engine or not.......onli 3800(engine+installation)
how ah?any diff btw eg n ek engine?if i buy the engine..can i change to manual?how much 4 the gearbox?

in my opinion, better get b16a manual...hafcut for manual price around rm5~5.5K excluding installation...
b16a manual have 170hp
b16a auto only 155hp
ek hafcut is newer than eg....ek year 95~ but eg year 92~95....price also different..
change auto to manual will cost u around rm2~2.5K including ecu + labour...but u still use auto cam shaft wor....for yr info manual cam shaft dimension is different with auto cam shaft....manual one is more wilder...

just my 0.2 cent :D

Originally posted by drifterzzz@Feb 25 2005, 21:28
yup cause auto if the gearbox rosak sakit oooo

drifterzz...
no lah...at present, b16a manual gbox is more expensive than auto gbox la...

i always heard that manual cams are wilder than auto cams ... but i never found any fact about that.

can anyone point me to any source which says about it?

10q pojieg9^_^..........eg or ek better?izzit the same engine?the onli diff is the years rite?

Originally posted by soulfly@Feb 25 2005, 22:48
i always heard that manual cams are wilder than auto cams ... but i never found any fact about that.

can anyone point me to any source which says about it?

soufly, i also heard that from mechanic....not only one mechanic said but more than 5 mechanic said that....i already chk at web but no info la...

other question is why manual have 170hp but auto only 155hp...why?...is it lost hp due to auto transmission only or + lost due to part different at engine? what part?...ecu also have different management rite....

and how to identify manual head and auto transmission head....very difficult la...assume we found only head at hafcut shop....how? any part number?

anyone can share pls.....

Manual = Power
Auto =Easier to Hanky Panky in Car..

conclusion: depends on ur needs..ahhahaaaa
:D :D

i've got fren who used b16a a/t n converted it to m/t.....rite now he's got a lot of prob....after 1 n another prob come.....manyak pening.now i think he's invested more than half cut price alredi......i dun know it's due to installation work or wat but maybe he send to lau ya mechanic one......it's better to buy half cut ler bro .....

i think auto and manual both have the same engine spec, different with the ecu setting only. if they make different part for auto and manual... that will increase the manufacturing cost already.

i guess... nobody ever really bother to measure and compare the head setup for auto and manual :P

btw... buying an auto halfcut and converting it to manual is a waste of time. believe me.... i've done it. in the end, the total cost will be equal or more of a manual halfcut.

Originally posted by soulfly@Feb 27 2005, 00:32
i think auto and manual both have the same engine spec, different with the ecu setting only. if they make different part for auto and manual... that will increase the manufacturing cost already.

i guess... nobody ever really bother to measure and compare the head setup for auto and manual :P

btw... buying an auto halfcut and converting it to manual is a waste of time. believe me.... i've done it. in the end, the total cost will be equal or more of a manual halfcut.
i agree wif u :D

Originally posted by soulfly@Feb 27 2005, 00:32

I think so like that....eermmm....but why aaarr some people said cam shaft not same....no body here can confirm actual fact.....ecu & gear ratio confirm different...
if small v & big v got a lot of different i agree la....nevermine la janji vtec :D

Originally posted by botak8200@Feb 27 2005, 00:18
i've got fren who used b16a a/t n converted it to m/t.....rite now he's got a lot of prob....after 1 n another prob come.....manyak pening.now i think he's invested more than half cut price alredi......i dun know it's due to installation work or wat but maybe he send to lau ya mechanic one......it's better to buy half cut ler bro .....

botak....

what problem happen arrr to yr friend's car...is it related to wiring or gearing or fuel management (ecu)?....is it really2 related to last time trans conversion?...
any information?.....then we can study.... :o

hi..just to share wit u guys

mine is b16A auto...now the car at the w/shop
doing the conversion...todays evening only siap..
dunno suksess or not...

Poji,
the cost to do the conversion is more than 2.5K...
before the comp. box i already spent almost 3K..
it makes me headache...so better go for manual...

and summore to find M/T gearbox with LSD so damn susah...
i found one at sri rampai....after pusing all the halkat...

so, westlum...u better think about it...

agree with gunn79

there are some small vtec gearbox around... but big vtec manual SiR gearbox is damn hard to find. most hydraulic gearbox out there are type R one... which is damn expensive.

as for the computer box, u can use the automatic one... but u need to do the re-chip. if not... vtec cannot bukak one.

yeah..u rite soulfly...
but re-chip also will cost u RM350....
do u know any place?
maybe i can go and do mine....no need to look for comp.box...

Originally posted by gunn79@Mar 1 2005, 11:02
yeah..u rite soulfly...
do u know any place?
hahaha...
i know da place....putera racing..cost u RM350..
at pandan block 5...miahahahha...

wei...ptg mcm mana? mau sama2 gi ka ambik kete?

Originally posted by Cimpeng+Mar 1 2005, 11:32 -->
QUOTE (Cimpeng @ Mar 1 2005, 11:32 )
--QuoteBegin-gunn79
@Mar 1 2005, 11:02
yeah..u rite soulfly...
do u know any place?

hahaha...

wei...ptg mcm mana? mau sama2 gi ka ambik kete? [/b][/quote]
Itu aku pun tau....any other place or not?

Jumpe ko kat sri rampai kul 6...aku g ngan budakbiru....

Originally posted by gunn79+Mar 1 2005, 11:36 -->
QUOTE (gunn79 @ Mar 1 2005, 11:36 )
Originally posted by Cimpeng@Mar 1 2005, 11:32
--QuoteBegin-gunn79
@Mar 1 2005, 11:02
yeah..u rite soulfly...
do u know any place?

hahaha...

wei...ptg mcm mana? mau sama2 gi ka ambik kete?

Itu aku pun tau....any other place or not?

Jumpe ko kat sri rampai kul 6...aku g ngan budakbiru.... [/b][/quote]
ader RM450..
tune for ur fuel, luncher, 3rd and 4th gear meloncat also...
want ha? ehehehehe...