Astina A pillar solution?

MajPayne

Guys I have an Idea!

Almost all astina owners, know this feeling when your a pillar cover breaks (made from plastic) and its tough to find replacements for them, even if you find they're often not in perfect condition unless you fork out a sum for brand spanking new ones from japan....

I have an idea, works in my mind but need help sorting it out.
maybe someone can help, I intend in fabricating a metal a pillar cover, wadya think?... I can draw it out autocad if youd like to see it, but i don't know about the metal types, shaping , cutting and welding the clips on...tried several metal shops, but they only do the easy cut, not much for chaping and the rest... so. I need some help.

Cheers.

I know where to get fibreglass ones if you're interested. Simple solutions for complicated problems.

hahahaha lol (hic)....

thanks man...i knew theres a brighter light at the end if you travel with friends...
great, where can i score some let me know yah...

(only afrain it could be a shourt term solution, still need to research possibilities)

Cheers.

Daryl,
where to get the fibreglass one?
seem to have the same problem as this Derrick fellow here...

yup me too dude, i wanna get one set for my astina ;)

fibdre would be ok! my right side gone, left side cracked.

brand new selling up to rm200 here in pontian.

my right side cracked...
story goes like dis : monkey go and patah it... haha. This happened in front of my very eyes... Loadz of strength that monkey got to break it...

at least you can blame the animal,
me the windshield installer leh, damn... sumore install my windshield,
got hole wan at the rubber now have to re-install the windshield Damn, damn damn,...

You can get them from Theva Bawah Pokok...
SS19 subang jaya under the big tree, down the road from the shell station.

mine was a funny one . after that regret .

broken twice.
1st time , after install alarm, so want to test the vibratrion sensor level.
adjusted to the most sensitive level. gave a knock on the A pillar, alarm did not goes off, but heard a crack sound, say a crack on the paint. haha there goes the first one.

2nd time, after tranplanted b8 about 3 years agos. so went and try the car on highway. heard some sound when the boost kick in, so thought something wrong with engine. So want to test properly, full throttle - the thing flew off at 160km/h.

hopefully no 3rd time.

MazdaB8GTX said:
mine was a funny one . after that regret .

broken twice.
1st time , after install alarm, so want to test the vibratrion sensor level.
adjusted to the most sensitive level. gave a knock on the A pillar, alarm did not goes off, but heard a crack sound, say a crack on the paint. haha there goes the first one.

2nd time, after tranplanted b8 about 3 years agos. so went and try the car on highway. heard some sound when the boost kick in, so thought something wrong with engine. So want to test properly, full throttle - the thing flew off at 160km/h.

hopefully no 3rd time.

hahaha, feel for you man, the ending kinda same la, after the installed the windshield, it phrew off damn....gud one though.

hi, mine loss both.......mechanic kasi pecah after paint my car.....damn it...btw where is this theva bawah pokok location n any pics and price???

MajPayne said:
Guys I have an Idea!

Almost all astina owners, know this feeling when your a pillar cover breaks (made from plastic) and its tough to find replacements for them, even if you find they're often not in perfect condition unless you fork out a sum for brand spanking new ones from japan....

I have an idea, works in my mind but need help sorting it out.
maybe someone can help, I intend in fabricating a metal a pillar cover, wadya think?... I can draw it out autocad if youd like to see it, but i don't know about the metal types, shaping , cutting and welding the clips on...tried several metal shops, but they only do the easy cut, not much for chaping and the rest... so. I need some help.

Cheers.

Hey man, yeah you can go to Theva to duplicate the pillar. If you're the DIY type of person, you can repair it by fiberglassing over the pillar. You need to drill some holes and use an old t-shirt for the resin to grasp unto as fiberglass won't bond on plastic. Other things you can do is to send it to an upholstery shop. What they'll do is they will put a foam pad and use fabric/leather/PVC or whatever material to cover it.

Hope this helps :cyclops:

BTW I had a welder fixed the hole on my PU bumper by using a thin metal sheet so if you need his contact, I can pass it to you. He can do almost any custom job that deals with welding and metal stuff.

Yep, spoke to phreak on fri, he checked theva out, said its gonna cost round hundred sumthin,... Thats great and all and i'll definately have it changed, but i'm still lookin out for a long term fix though, don't want to end up tip toeing around my pillar covers and worrying when it'll crack again.

Thanks everblur, pm me his no. might want to check it out with him too

MajPayne, a long term fix would be to properly install the replacement fibreglass covers with enough silicone adhesive. If you really, really, really want to, you can bolt the fibreglass pieces directly to the car body a-la satria GTi wheel arches. I don't recommend this because then you're introducing a water leak in your a-pillars. Not good.

Yep got it thanks everblur,

Battousai, advice well heeded, I don't think the satria solution is a sound
one, agree with you DEFINATELY NOT! a good idea, it causes weak structual points.
However I may take this opportunity to improve on my aesthetics (astina).
There may be room for improvements in the design aspect for the area (hmm....)
Seeing as once mounted i'll probably paint over it. may even think of
modding a built in door visor of somekind.... I wonder.

This is a lil off topic... does anyone know how to repair PU bodykits? As in what is good for filling the holes and bonding PU material? I can only think of silicone and bondo but I'm sure there's other solutions?