Alternator Problem ?

AD_EG

sifussss

recently i just removed my whole engine and got it rebuilt.

after it was complete....when i drove off i noticed my lights was dim and air con blower is low on idle and when accelerate/rev the blower speed goes back to normal.

we removed the negative cable on the battery, with the air con on, double signal on, headlamps on the car died.

so we replaced the alternator, and again the same thing happened. then after that, the car battery died, car couldn't start. so we replaced the battery did the same test.

what we noticed was. when we turn on the air con and hazard lights ... and remove the negative from battery, car does not die. but when we on the headlights, engine dies immediately. Is this an alternator problem? or is this normal?

the thing is , my lights are still dim, and bright when i accelerate. it was not like this before the rebuild. before the rebuild the lights were super bright, and the aircon blower does not fluctuate on idle or rev.

please please share your thoughts, need to get this done asap. thanks.

AD.. sound like some grounding problem... reconfirm all grounding.... not put back or not fully tighten....

aper khabar brother E-tech.

how many grounding points are there? or any in particular i should check. thanks bro.

PS: your cars coming down this saturday pasir gudang?

i am no sifu , but I came across the same problem about 2 months ago. I replaced my batt and everything was good , but of course that was before I got suckered into changing my alternator, then leaving my car there at the workshop to be sent for wiring check.

Happen to me before,
sometimes crazy & sometimes OK....even burned both headlamps once...
Changed alternator 3 times (recond ones), its typical of recond ones to go crazy...depends on luck
3rd time changed only problem solved..

if change take off negative engine dun die...alternator should be ok...but if turn on headlamp then die...maybe wiring got problem? cos 12V bulbs even if + - upside down will still turn on...but not sure if wil trip the electrics. sounds like wiring problem. try sending got wiremen? they can test each wire loom n make sure no wrong connection wat.

whoah bro, ur project is completed? great!

anyway i just like to re-emphasize on e-tech's statement on grounding. it is the cause for alot of voltage fluctuations. i just had a minor temp gauge up/down due to my headlamps on/off - caused by grounding..

Use a multimeter or battery tester to check the battery condition as well as alternator charging output. Usually alternator should put out around 13.5 volts. If both are okay, you might have to check the grounding and wirings.