Aircond Diagnostic

ic3johan

Feb 7, 2004
is there any such machine or tool?
im tired of geting various opinion from aircond shop on my problem

my problem is only in afternoon or hot day, when idling air cond not cold at all
sometime when at kl trafic jam hot air blow out btw mine is kelisa

other than that ok.. even idling long time on nite or cool day no prob

anyone can help?

kent75

Jul 18, 2005
Cheras, KL
It could be alot of reason that causes such problem. 1st is ur air cond filter sumbat ald which is look like a bullet located in the engine bay near the power steering pump. 2nd maybe is ur external coil(condenser) also sumbat, then the cooling power is weak, so if u never move ur car to let the air crash into the condenser n radiator, hot air will gather around there, n u'll get hot air only. 3rdly, ur compressor also can cause to this problem.

I can understand ur feeling while driving a "hell car" in the afternoon. Coz i've been like that b4. 3 cars of mine has ald spent RM4k for just the air cond repair n service. But u can alwayz check with the air cond expert b4 u do it. However, usually the parts that u need to replace or service, probably all same from the air cond shop.

Just my opinion ^^

kevinn7

Feb 28, 2005
Send it to Hinly... Cheap and bloody good workmanship... Not forgetting friendly workers too

ettm_14

Jul 30, 2006
bro maybe you can check your air con belongs to which brand?if Denso then I will really recommend you to proceed to their centre in glen marie. they provide good solution for air con problems. My bro ran into some prob with his brand new Myvi-they solve the problem within a day. Exactly the same problem as yours

but of course yours must be a Denso lar...if not just follow which brand and try to get hold of the service centre.

camshaft

Nov 3, 2006
got the same problem before..mine is civic ek...the air cond fan is not runnin so it blew air only...on traffic jam when in afternoon....it's damn hot....go check ur air cond fan is working or not...

thunderbird

Jul 17, 2006
My car has a different situation.

When on the aircond, and will hear the "psshhh" sound, not sure

the compressor kicks in or the fan turn on. and the car will jerk and chocking.

Any expert?

NSkyline

Jul 2, 2005
Subang Jaya
how to go to hinly wey??? not sure la...civic centre where???

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
most likely is aircon radiator fan.

just check by on aircond, open the bonet, and see the aircon fan (located normally beside the radiator fan). is it turning at all? just FYI, radiator fan is the one that turn on and off on and off. while aircon fan should be turning on always when u on the aircon.

ABV9750

Feb 13, 2005
my opinion,
usually small car having this problem.even worst at KL jammed area noon time...

you have no choice unless follow this step:-
ask aircond specialist to check:-

1. a/c gas sufficient quantity. top up if necessary
2. compressor condition.normally for defect comp. there's a sound.
3. check condensor fan. normally its Ok unless it not running
4. service cooling units. check for any oil inside.if you found oil, means your comp. is koyak.
5. check also your blower.

this fundamental need to be done as your first step.

if still not enough cool, then you need to go another option:-
modified!!!.
for small car, you can't replace the comp. to a bigger one. what you can do is:-
1. look for a very high speed condensor fan motor...try get as many vane for the propeller.
(VR4 radiator fan has 2 action stp.you can tap the 2 action as your a/c blower.)
now you're running with 2 fan motor...cool isn't it...
2. replace your std condensor with bigger size BUT small vent (e.g perdana etc)
3. replace blower fan to high speed. mostly from toyota car.
4. relook at option cooling unit.

after done the mode, you need to install a custome thermostat to control the cool gas from frozen inside your cooling units...make sure your comp. will ON/OFF rapidly to avoid freeze.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
if still not enough cool, then you need to go another option:-
modified!!!.
for small car, you can't replace the comp. to a bigger one. what you can do is:-
1. look for a very high speed condensor fan motor...try get as many vane for the propeller.
(VR4 radiator fan has 2 action stp.you can tap the 2 action as your a/c blower.)
now you're running with 2 fan motor...cool isn't it...
2. replace your std condensor with bigger size BUT small vent (e.g perdana etc)
3. replace blower fan to high speed. mostly from toyota car.
4. relook at option cooling unit.
err.. if chg to higher speed, wont it consume more current? thus, dont forget to chg the fuse to bigger value. in all this mods, u have to be careful, as u are stepping over the reliability limit of the wiring, fuses, and battery consumption.
it might lead to disaster after a while....

rather than doing all that (mods by using higher speed fan, bigger condensor, etc), why not invest in good tinting instead? hehe.

ABV9750

Feb 13, 2005
yap..!! another good. but bear in mind the heat still can transfer from your roof and other steel parts...hehehe..
the high speed motor is used by another car..that would be reliable for that model..i assume it would be the same power consumption.may be higher fuse rating would be required.

anyway, need to llook at the situation...why the a/c not cool enough!!!
normally the a/c specialist know better and can suggest. BUT they are all looking for your money..becareful..hehehe

Jun 2, 2006
my opinion,
usually small car having this problem.even worst at KL jammed area noon time...

you have no choice unless follow this step:-
ask aircond specialist to check:-

1. a/c gas sufficient quantity. top up if necessary
2. compressor condition.normally for defect comp. there's a sound.
3. check condensor fan. normally its Ok unless it not running
4. service cooling units. check for any oil inside.if you found oil, means your comp. is koyak.
5. check also your blower.
i wanna ask...bout the 4th 1...izzit hav to press the valve which the gas are filling in to check whether there is oil inside? if there really oil n the compressor is confirm jammed or certified dead i would say..do i need to change the whole set of air-con system? coz i heard that the debris from the compressor will go into the whole system which spoilt all the part(condenser, cooling coil etc) even after u change to a new compressor n the compressor will jam again. need some help here @@

g88

Jan 28, 2004
bro maybe you can check your air con belongs to which brand?if Denso then I will really recommend you to proceed to their centre in glen marie. they provide good solution for air con problems. My bro ran into some prob with his brand new Myvi-they solve the problem within a day. Exactly the same problem as yours

but of course yours must be a Denso lar...if not just follow which brand and try to get hold of the service centre.
yes, i totally agree with you..previously my bro's Wira also like that...send there and change a new compressor with one year warranty...full service all about Rm650 only i think...

tomorrow i will send my old junk getting 20 years car there :D...compressor clutch slip...check oredi...change new compressor clutch, dryer , full service all around Rm500. Reason being is my compressor made in Japan one..part also make in Japan... need order summore :rolleyes:

Summore they give like warranty after service/repair...

big_rattled

Mar 11, 2006
my car had this same problem...i drove a wira aeroback...checked at sunway..the foreman said the compressor heat up badly......high pressure...since i think its still ok...so i'm not changing the comp...after a couple month...the compressor make some rattling sound...so i've bring the car back, the foreman remove the comp..then he found that the comp bearing was damaged...later on he found that the magnet on the compressor was burned badly..the bearing was the side effect from the burn magnet...later on he just changed the magnet n the bearing..now it fixed..

Yesterday at around 5pm,my wife recieved a call from someone that she has found my wife's hand bag and ask my wife whether "you kena rompak ke"?after that my wife went straight to her car and found out that the passenger side window glass has been smashed.The f**ker managed to take her hand bag inside the car and back boot.After found out nothing valueable inside the hand bag,they just threw away the bag few meters away from the car.
actually it really suprised me cause the incident...